Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 431 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12901 of 12921 Old 07-25-2015, 04:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for the info - and I'm glad I'm not going crazy...

fatmiko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12902 of 12921 Old 07-25-2015, 07:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread

Three quick questions (I tried to read the manual but it still doesn't work/ couldn't figure it out):

I want to use an Apple TV in the Theater room (Main Zone) and sometimes, independently use it in another bedroom (Zone 4). In zone 4, I want to be able to turn on the Unit using the iphone app, switch it to zone 4, with the Apple TV as the source, and send the video and sound to just that TV connected in the bedroom WITHOUT turning on the projector (main zone) or the monitor I have in the equipment closet (zone 2). Is this possible?

I am only ever going to have a 7.1 speaker set up in the theater room. is it possible to reassign two of the remaining XLR Pre-Outs to another zone? ie I want to use the marantz's DACs with in 2-channel setup in another room using XLR, not RCA connections. As far as I can tell, this isn't possible?

Finally, can I do a vertical picture shift without using the built-in scaler for anything else?

Last edited by Ou8thisSN; 07-26-2015 at 12:48 AM.
Ou8thisSN is online now  
post #12903 of 12921 Old 07-26-2015, 01:45 PM
Member
 
robert555's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
cables

Can I use xlr balanced interconnects for 5 speakers and a rca connection for the subwoofer on an 8801?
robert555 is online now  
post #12904 of 12921 Old 07-26-2015, 01:48 PM
Member
 
promike's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Taylor Mill, KY
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert555 View Post
Can I use xlr balanced interconnects for 5 speakers and a rca connection for the subwoofer on an 8801?
You sure can.

Speakers: Klipsch RF-7II(2), Klipsch RC-64II, Klipsch RS-62II(2), Velodyne HGS-15, HSU VTF-15H, Klipsch Cornwalls(2)
Prepro: Marantz AV8801
Amps: Emotiva XPA-5, Emotiva XPA-3(2)
OPPO BDP-103
JVC DLA-X3 (121" screen)
promike is offline  
post #12905 of 12921 Old 07-26-2015, 03:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,735
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by robert555 View Post
Can I use xlr balanced interconnects for 5 speakers and a rca connection for the subwoofer on an 8801?
I do. I even use XLRs for 5 speakers, RCAs for the two height channels and RCAs for the two subs. All good.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #12906 of 12921 Old Yesterday, 02:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,555
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4730 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ou8thisSN View Post
Three quick questions (I tried to read the manual but it still doesn't work/ couldn't figure it out):

I want to use an Apple TV in the Theater room (Main Zone) and sometimes, independently use it in another bedroom (Zone 4). In zone 4, I want to be able to turn on the Unit using the iphone app, switch it to zone 4, with the Apple TV as the source, and send the video and sound to just that TV connected in the bedroom WITHOUT turning on the projector (main zone) or the monitor I have in the equipment closet (zone 2). Is this possible?

I am only ever going to have a 7.1 speaker set up in the theater room. is it possible to reassign two of the remaining XLR Pre-Outs to another zone? ie I want to use the marantz's DACs with in 2-channel setup in another room using XLR, not RCA connections. As far as I can tell, this isn't possible?

Finally, can I do a vertical picture shift without using the built-in scaler for anything else?
1. Yes, it should be as that is the purpose of Zone 4.
2. Correct, reassigning of pre-outs is not possible unlike the Denon "flagship" AVR 4520CI of that same year which is able to reassign on board amps when external amps are being used.
3. Although the Picture Adjust settings can be changed without the i/p Scaler being enabled, there is no vertical picture shift setting.
Ou8thisSN likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12907 of 12921 Old Yesterday, 03:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lefthandluke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Dayton
Posts: 1,155
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 72 Post(s)
Liked: 129
just got my 8801 set up over the weekend...still learning and experimenting

i have two main subs, hooked to sub1 and sub2...i've recently acquired a mid-bass sub that has xlr only inputs.

it would be great if i could use the xlr of sub1 or sub2 but that cant be done since i'm using rca's of those outputs already...

so my question is could i use an unused xlr (heights or wides) since it's MID-BASS only? those do receive a full-range signal, yes...?

or am i better to just put a splitter on sub1 and use sub2 for the mid-bass...?

at the zenith of his nadir...
lefthandluke is offline  
post #12908 of 12921 Old Yesterday, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I currently have my subwoofer connected via RCA. XLR cables are expensive and I know it's the best connection possible but is it really worth it for a subwoofer, not a regular speaker?
Ou8thisSN is online now  
post #12909 of 12921 Old Yesterday, 07:54 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 23,191
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4822 Post(s)
Liked: 3529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ou8thisSN View Post
I currently have my subwoofer connected via RCA. XLR cables are expensive and I know it's the best connection possible but is it really worth it for a subwoofer, not a regular speaker?
It's important to understand that there are no sonic differences between XLR and RCA connectors.

XLR are better at noise rejection, so if you have long cable runs and the signal and mains cables run parallel to each other, then XLR can be a better choice. But only if you have any noise issues. If you don't, then the XLR cable won’t bring any benefits.

The XLR connector itself is favored by some as being mechanically superior, but decent RCA cables also make a good connection IME.

XLR output is 6dB higher than RCA and this can be a blessing, a curse, or neither, depending on the rest of your setup.

In short, there is no reason inherent in the differences between XLR and RCA as to why either should be more, or less, suitable for your subwoofer connection, so use whichever you feel most comfortable with.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #12910 of 12921 Old Yesterday, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
XLR are better at noise rejection, so if you have long cable runs and the signal and mains cables run parallel to each other, then XLR can be a better choice.
That's a very good explanation, thank you. One question, by 'mains cables' do you mean the actual speaker wire connecting the amp to the speaker?
Ou8thisSN is online now  
post #12911 of 12921 Old Yesterday, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
bweissman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: California
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ou8thisSN View Post
That's a very good explanation, thank you. One question, by 'mains cables' do you mean the actual speaker wire connecting the amp to the speaker?
No, "mains" means electric power. The reference is to preventing 60 Hz hum which can occur when power cables parallel signal cables.
kbarnes701 likes this.
bweissman is online now  
post #12912 of 12921 Old Yesterday, 08:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 23
When I was first configuring the unit, I got two "firmware update available" notices. I did not update the firmware but now I dont get anymore notices and says this: 3525-8853-5465 is my current firmware. Is this still the latest firmware?
Ou8thisSN is online now  
post #12913 of 12921 Old Yesterday, 08:37 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,176
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2930 Post(s)
Liked: 1567
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ou8thisSN View Post
When I was first configuring the unit, I got two "firmware update available" notices. I did not update the firmware but now I dont get anymore notices and says this: 3525-8853-5465 is my current firmware. Is this still the latest firmware?
Yes, that is the current version.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #12914 of 12921 Old Today, 01:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
kbarnes701's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Main Listening Positon
Posts: 23,191
Mentioned: 33 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4822 Post(s)
Liked: 3529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ou8thisSN View Post
That's a very good explanation, thank you. One question, by 'mains cables' do you mean the actual speaker wire connecting the amp to the speaker?
As bweissman has said, I mean power cables. If you run signal cables and power cables parallel with each other then the signal cabe can pick up interference, noise, hum etc from the power cable. XLR balanced cables are much more immune to this problem than RCA unbalanced cables. If it isn’t an issue for you, then it doesn't matter, but if you can’t avoid long interconnects and power lines next to them, XLR is a better choice. Most people in a domestic setting don't have this problem so RCA is fine.
kbarnes701 is offline  
post #12915 of 12921 Old Today, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,634
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 136 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by kbarnes701 View Post
As bweissman has said, I mean power cables. If you run signal cables and power cables parallel with each other then the signal cabe can pick up interference, noise, hum etc from the power cable. XLR balanced cables are much more immune to this problem than RCA unbalanced cables. If it isn’t an issue for you, then it doesn't matter, but if you can’t avoid long interconnects and power lines next to them, XLR is a better choice. Most people in a domestic setting don't have this problem so RCA is fine.
Well, before I got this unit, I was using a Denon 3803 receiver, which predates HDMI. I had two sources: a blu-ray player and a htpc. I used 7.1 analog outs from the blu-ray player into the Denon and I had to buy a HDMI to optical converter box to separate the audio from the video coming out of the computer. Everything worked fine, except there was a high pitched whine and buzz coming out of the front speakers. I did my best to try and put distance between signal and electrical wires but there isnt a lot of room in my a/v closet to get it completely separated. That was one of the reasons that motivated me to consider a change.
I have two, 2-channel power amps so I was able to use 3 XLR connections to connect the left front, right front and center channel to the Marantz. Now both noises are gone. I'm not sure if that is the result of the XLR, or not using the hdmi/optical converter box.
Ou8thisSN is online now  
post #12916 of 12921 Old Today, 12:39 PM
Senior Member
 
orcrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Anyway to assign speakers based on input source

I'm running my 8801 as a 9.2 system (no wide channels). I would like to selectively turn off my height speakers based on input source. For instance have them on when watching a Blu-ray but have the 8801 treat it as if there are no height speakers when listening to a music source.

Is there any way to do this aside from manually changing the speaker setup? If I do it manually is there any way to store two sets of Audyssey calibration based on the speaker configuration?
orcrone is online now  
post #12917 of 12921 Old Today, 12:46 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,176
Mentioned: 26 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2930 Post(s)
Liked: 1567
Quote:
Originally Posted by orcrone View Post
I'm running my 8801 as a 9.2 system (no wide channels). I would like to selectively turn off my height speakers based on input source. For instance have them on when watching a Blu-ray but have the 8801 treat it as if there are no height speakers when listening to a music source.

Is there any way to do this aside from manually changing the speaker setup? If I do it manually is there any way to store two sets of Audyssey calibration based on the speaker configuration?
You can store the playback method by source. For example, if you want your music source to always be stereo, but your Blu-Ray to always be Dolby Digital, just set those options and the 8801 will remember your preference.

There is, however, no way to store two Audyssey calibrations.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #12918 of 12921 Old Today, 12:54 PM
Senior Member
 
orcrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
You can store the playback method by source. For example, if you want your music source to always be stereo, but your Blu-Ray to always be Dolby Digital, just set those options and the 8801 will remember your preference.

There is, however, no way to store two Audyssey calibrations.
Thanks, but I don't think that's exactly what I'm looking for. I have to apologize because after rereading I see that my original post was not very clear. My 3 front speakers, 2 side surrounds and 2 rears are driven by a 7 channel amp. I have a 12 channel SpeakerCraft BB1265 multi-room amplifier. I bridge two pairs of channels to drive the height speakers. I don't think that they add much (if anything) to music and I hate running a separate amplifier for just those two speakers for music sources. So I was really wondering if there were anyway for the 8801 to think it is setup in a 7.x configuration rather than a 9.x configuration for music sources.
orcrone is online now  
post #12919 of 12921 Old Today, 01:42 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,735
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 264 Post(s)
Liked: 252
Quote:
Originally Posted by orcrone View Post
Thanks, but I don't think that's exactly what I'm looking for. I have to apologize because after rereading I see that my original post was not very clear. My 3 front speakers, 2 side surrounds and 2 rears are driven by a 7 channel amp. I have a 12 channel SpeakerCraft BB1265 multi-room amplifier. I bridge two pairs of channels to drive the height speakers. I don't think that they add much (if anything) to music and I hate running a separate amplifier for just those two speakers for music sources. So I was really wondering if there were anyway for the 8801 to think it is setup in a 7.x configuration rather than a 9.x configuration for music sources.
?? Turn off the other power amp??

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #12920 of 12921 Old Today, 01:44 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,555
Mentioned: 54 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4730 Post(s)
Liked: 2476
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
?? Turn off the other power amp??

Now that's what we call "thinking outside of the box."
Ou8thisSN likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006
Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective? Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #12921 of 12921 Old Today, 02:28 PM
Senior Member
 
orcrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 267
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kal Rubinson View Post
?? Turn off the other power amp??
I've considered that but wouldn't it affect the EQ as the EQ was performed with the speakers there? Turning off the amp works. I can easily do that automatically using the trigger output for the amp. But the AV8801 still thinks those speakers are there.
orcrone is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off