Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 436 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13051 of 13069 Old 08-20-2015, 10:05 PM
Newbie
 
onepointsix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,
just a short feedback so far.


The IP64.30.224.206 seems to be the key for solving this problem. Unfortunately my good old router doesn’t have the option to block an IP.


So I tried using the static routing function, to route the IP 64.30.224.206 to an unused IP of my internal network range.


For now it seems to work fine in the first tests, but I will test it over the Weekend on its reliability.


Thank you jdsmoothie for that advice.
Olli

Last edited by onepointsix; 08-20-2015 at 10:08 PM.
onepointsix is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13052 of 13069 Old 08-22-2015, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,677
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Hi, i have 3 "un-used" channels on my 8077.
I do not have enough space for a decent center channel, i do have space for 2 small surround speakers, the Magnat Needle Sat.


Nominal (RMS) Output Power:45 Watt
Overload protection circuitry
2 speakers, Nominal Impedance:4/8 Ohm
Sensitivity:88 dB/Watt
Speaker Type:2-way - passive
Max Output Power:70 Watt
Crossover Frequency:3700Hz
Magnetic Shield:Yes
Frequency Response:75 - 30000 Hz
Driver Details:Speaker :
1 x mid/woofer driver - 2.5" - cellulose
1 x tweeter driver - 0.5" - Polycarbonate
Speakers 4/8 Ohm - wired


I can use 2 of them on the left and right of the TV middle stand, and each can have one channel to drive them


Will or can this work for a "center channel" ?
CBdicX is offline  
post #13053 of 13069 Old 08-24-2015, 12:26 AM
Newbie
 
onepointsix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Germany
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
So after doing testing last weekend I can say it works fine, when using the static routing function of the router, in case you’re not able to block a single IP.


So again thanks for help.


Olli
onepointsix is offline  
post #13054 of 13069 Old 08-24-2015, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I have a new issue:

I am using the zone 4 feature to connect the Apple TV to a TV in the master bedroom. Because it is in a different room, I have to use two apps to control everything. The marantz app works great, every time... the Apple TV remote app is AWFUL. It crashes half the time, and other times, it simpy wont 'wake up' the apple TV. There's nothing you can do except go to the other room and either use the remote, or power cycle the Apple TV (because of course you'd have to power cycle it, how hard is it to put a few buttons on the device itself for basic functions).

Anyway, I was looking into the HDMI CEC feature but the manual says if I use the Zone 4 feature, and set the output monitor as the Zone 4 monitor, then If I turn on a device in the Main Zone, it will turn on the Zone 4 monitor. I don't want that. Honestly, all I want is to turn on the Marantz with an app and somehow trigger the Apple TV to turn on when the Marantz is on and set to the media player input. Is this even possible?
Ou8thisSN is online now  
post #13055 of 13069 Old 08-27-2015, 10:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,677
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Seems this thread is dead, just like the 8801
CBdicX is offline  
post #13056 of 13069 Old 08-28-2015, 06:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBdicX View Post
Hi, i have 3 "un-used" channels on my 8077.
I do not have enough space for a decent center channel, i do have space for 2 small surround speakers, the Magnat Needle Sat.


Nominal (RMS) Output Power:45 Watt
Overload protection circuitry
2 speakers, Nominal Impedance:4/8 Ohm
Sensitivity:88 dB/Watt
Speaker Type:2-way - passive
Max Output Power:70 Watt
Crossover Frequency:3700Hz
Magnetic Shield:Yes
Frequency Response:75 - 30000 Hz
Driver Details:Speaker :
1 x mid/woofer driver - 2.5" - cellulose
1 x tweeter driver - 0.5" - Polycarbonate
Speakers 4/8 Ohm - wired


I can use 2 of them on the left and right of the TV middle stand, and each can have one channel to drive them


Will or can this work for a "center channel" ?
What are your main L/R speakers?
laserjock II is offline  
post #13057 of 13069 Old 08-28-2015, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,677
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
What are your main L/R speakers?
Hi, thanks for your reply :-)
I went for the new Klipsch RP-440C and for surround the Klipsch RP-240S.
Front will stay Magnat Quantum 1009.
CBdicX is offline  
post #13058 of 13069 Old 08-28-2015, 08:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBdicX View Post
Hi, thanks for your reply :-)
I went for the new Klipsch RP-440C and for surround the Klipsch RP-240S.
Front will stay Magnat Quantum 1009.
Any center with limited size is going to have a hard time keeping up with your Magnats.

You might be better off with a phantom center.

That Klipsch might work but you normally need something similar to your mains to keep from being "distracting" on pans of sound.

Golden Ear has some fairly short centers that might work depending on your available placement.

Good luck.
laserjock II is offline  
post #13059 of 13069 Old 08-28-2015, 08:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,551
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3246 Post(s)
Liked: 1779
Quote:
Originally Posted by laserjock II View Post
Any center with limited size is going to have a hard time keeping up with your Magnats.

You might be better off with a phantom center.

That Klipsch might work but you normally need something similar to your mains to keep from being "distracting" on pans of sound.

Golden Ear has some fairly short centers that might work depending on your available placement.

Good luck.
I respectfully disagree. The Klipsch center seems perfectly adequate. And in my experience, unless you are the only listener sitting in the MLP, a phantom center is rarely as enjoyable as having an actual center channel speaker, especially for cinema. You can always change to stereo mode for music listening, depending on your preference.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13060 of 13069 Old 08-28-2015, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
CBdicX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hello from Holland !
Posts: 1,677
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 491 Post(s)
Liked: 80
Well, i have it running and sounds great, no specific sound change to my ears, even i did not run Audyssey yet.
Until now it seems to work with the Magnats.
Hope in the near future i will change to Atmos (need the 8802 or 3) and use the Klipsch Atmos front speakers, but thats the future........ ;-)
For now this is ok !
CBdicX is offline  
post #13061 of 13069 Old 08-28-2015, 09:13 AM
Advanced Member
 
laserjock II's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Texas Coast
Posts: 913
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 276 Post(s)
Liked: 109
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBdicX View Post
Well, i have it running and sounds great, no specific sound change to my ears, even i did not run Audyssey yet.
Until now it seems to work with the Magnats.
Hope in the near future i will change to Atmos (need the 8802 or 3) and use the Klipsch Atmos front speakers, but thats the future........ ;-)
For now this is ok !
And that's all that matters.
laserjock II is offline  
post #13062 of 13069 Old Yesterday, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
kiwi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 849
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 12
CrazyRiderR1 Wrote,
Quote:
" The majority of my HiRes music is on a hard drive in FLAC format. I've got a question for the forum. What would be better, hook the hard drive directly to the AV8801 and play it from there or should I look into a different source unit for the best audio fidelity and ease of use? Also, how easy is a hard drive to navigate with the 8801's software?"
I don't wish to burst your bubble before the ite even arrives but... I upgraded from the Av-8003 to the 8801 specifically for this feature of being able to playback multiple audio formats something the 8003 could not do. What I did not realize however is that the 8801 will play back multiple audio formats yes but without album art. I cannot get the 8801 to display metadata for any audio format and I have tried two different 8801's. I purchased mine in November 2014 and still kick Marantz tech every so often but I have actually given up on ever seeing album art through the 8801.

As for how is the software on the 8801 it is the same as the 8003 and it is clunky and slow to use and navigate through. With the addition of Tidal music service now available on my Oppo it is the input of choice as it plays back CD quality sound is very user friendly and will categorize and display album art. It is unfortunate for sure but this works well for me and maybe for you as well.

I dealt with Marantz on this issue for well over 7 months and their "help" is only if you have nothing better to do with your time, believe me.
kiwi2000 is offline  
post #13063 of 13069 Old Yesterday, 10:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,766
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 288 Post(s)
Liked: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwi2000 View Post
CrazyRiderR1 Wrote,
As for how is the software on the 8801 it is the same as the 8003 and it is clunky and slow to use and navigate through.
I have yet to see a prepro with a satisfactory file playback GUI.

Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is online now  
post #13064 of 13069 Old Yesterday, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 153 Post(s)
Liked: 23
If I hook up my iPhone to the 8801 via a USB cable and switch it to the correct input, is the 8801 able to bypass the DAC on my phone and use its own, much better DACs on the files, or are the phone's own DACs unavoidable? I have all of my music on a NAS in lossless, but because the GUI of all AV components is clunky in navigating music, I prefer to just stream the music to my phone and then send it to the AVR, but is something getting lost in the translation?
Ou8thisSN is online now  
post #13065 of 13069 Old Today, 12:31 PM
Senior Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Guys-

I had a quick question, sorry of it has been covered in the 436 pages of the thread...cant seem to find...

I have a large dedicated theater (30 ft long) so I have 2 rows of seats with 2 rows of SIDE surrounds, plus 2 rear channels.

9.2 setup (Non-ATMOS)

My question is if I play a 5.1 or 7.1 channel blu-ray disc or ISO image, is there a processing mode in the AV8801 that will output on all 6 surround channels?

thanks Vince
vince32837 is offline  
post #13066 of 13069 Old Today, 12:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,551
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3246 Post(s)
Liked: 1779
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince32837 View Post
Guys-

I had a quick question, sorry of it has been covered in the 436 pages of the thread...cant seem to find...

I have a large dedicated theater (30 ft long) so I have 2 rows of seats with 2 rows of SIDE surrounds, plus 2 rear channels.

9.2 setup (Non-ATMOS)

My question is if I play a 5.1 or 7.1 channel blu-ray disc or ISO image, is there a processing mode in the AV8801 that will output on all 6 surround channels?

thanks Vince
Do your two side surround speaker pairs receive the same signal, I.e. Are you wiring them in parallel from the same speaker terminals? If yes, then you should be receiving a signal on both side surrounds as well as the surround backs in PLIIx mode.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13067 of 13069 Old Today, 01:09 PM
Senior Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Do your two side surround speaker pairs receive the same signal, I.e. Are you wiring them in parallel from the same speaker terminals? If yes, then you should be receiving a signal on both side surrounds as well as the surround backs in PLIIx mode.

I have not bought the pre-pro or speakers yet...I did not want to mess with parallel resistance issue....wanted one speaker wire pair per channel coming from the 8801 to one speaker 1:1....

Vince
vince32837 is offline  
post #13068 of 13069 Old Today, 01:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 10,551
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3246 Post(s)
Liked: 1779
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince32837 View Post
I have not bought the pre-pro or speakers yet...I did not want to mess with parallel resistance issue....wanted one speaker wire pair per channel coming from the 8801 to one speaker 1:1....

Vince
The 8801 does not have a provision for two pairs of side surrounds.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13069 of 13069 Old Today, 03:08 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
GlenC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Los Angeles - Downey, CA
Posts: 2,560
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My guess is you would not use di-pole side surrounds and would use a Y connector for the L/R side surround amp inputs.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk

Glen Carter<br />
Home Theater Calibration<br />
GlenC is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread - Av8801 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off