Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 441 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 267Likes
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2015, 01:18 PM
Member
 
YellowC4S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got new unit. Set up Audyssey but can't get more sub volume unless I turn up actual sub.

Panasonic TCP-65VT25, Denon AVP-A1HDCI (on the fritz and looking to replace), Denon POA-A1HDCI, B&W 802D, B&W HTM2D, B&W DS8, JL Audio Fathom F113, Oppo BDP-83SE
Bedrom: Panasonic TCP-58VT25, Denon AVR-5308, B&W LM1, Sunfire HT12, Oppo BDP-83SE
Guestroom: Panasonic TCP-42, Denon AVR-1911, B&W LM1, B&W ASW8, Oppo BDP-83
YellowC4S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-09-2015, 01:52 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 58,121
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7445 Post(s)
Liked: 3414
Quote:
Originally Posted by YellowC4S View Post
Got new unit. Set up Audyssey but can't get more sub volume unless I turn up actual sub.
You can raise the subwoofer level using Manual Setup - Test Tones - Subwoofer.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Sony, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 11-09-2015, 05:40 PM
Member
 
YellowC4S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You can raise the subwoofer level using Manual Setup - Test Tones - Subwoofer.
doesn't do anything

Panasonic TCP-65VT25, Denon AVP-A1HDCI (on the fritz and looking to replace), Denon POA-A1HDCI, B&W 802D, B&W HTM2D, B&W DS8, JL Audio Fathom F113, Oppo BDP-83SE
Bedrom: Panasonic TCP-58VT25, Denon AVR-5308, B&W LM1, Sunfire HT12, Oppo BDP-83SE
Guestroom: Panasonic TCP-42, Denon AVR-1911, B&W LM1, B&W ASW8, Oppo BDP-83
YellowC4S is offline  
Old 11-09-2015, 06:04 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,629
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4033 Post(s)
Liked: 2241
Quote:
Originally Posted by YellowC4S View Post
doesn't do anything
If you are saying increasing the sub channel trim setting in the AVR doesn't raise the output of your sub, something is very wrong.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 11-11-2015, 11:39 AM
Member
 
LarryMagoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Brentwood, Northern California
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 79 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by YellowC4S View Post
Got new unit. Set up Audyssey but can't get more sub volume unless I turn up actual sub.
Hey Yellow,

Did you notice that when setting up Audyssey, it asks you first to turn your Sub's Volume level to about 50% before starting to run the program. This might make a difference.

Cheers,
Larry

Sony XBR75X850C | Marantz AV8801 | SunFire Cinema Grand 5-Chan. | 5.2 system w/ 5 Monitor Audio Gold 2 Velodyne HGS 12's | Oppo BDP 105 | Mini MAC for Streaming, View on the XBR | Harmony Ultimate Remote | Comcast Internet 90Mb's | 2 Dedicated 20 AMP circuits. | Apple TV4
LarryMagoo is offline  
Old 11-11-2015, 05:50 PM
Member
 
YellowC4S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the past 3 months I've had to replace my AVP-A1 due to center ch going out, Now within the last 3 days I've lost a channel on my POA-A1 and my Fathom F113 won't power on. Maybe I should do that bose thing.

Kevin

Panasonic TCP-65VT25, Denon AVP-A1HDCI (on the fritz and looking to replace), Denon POA-A1HDCI, B&W 802D, B&W HTM2D, B&W DS8, JL Audio Fathom F113, Oppo BDP-83SE
Bedrom: Panasonic TCP-58VT25, Denon AVR-5308, B&W LM1, Sunfire HT12, Oppo BDP-83SE
Guestroom: Panasonic TCP-42, Denon AVR-1911, B&W LM1, B&W ASW8, Oppo BDP-83
YellowC4S is offline  
Old 11-11-2015, 09:35 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,629
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4033 Post(s)
Liked: 2241
Quote:
Originally Posted by YellowC4S View Post
In the past 3 months I've had to replace my AVP-A1 due to center ch going out, Now within the last 3 days I've lost a channel on my POA-A1 and my Fathom F113 won't power on. Maybe I should do that bose thing.

Kevin
Earlier you reported an issue of not being able to raise the subwoofer channel level. Did you get that resolved?

Equipment failures are an opportunity to introduce newer and better technologies, unless it breaks your budget!
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 11-11-2015, 10:27 PM
Member
 
YellowC4S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Detroit
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem with the sub is that it won't power on. Luckily my B&W 802D's have a decent bottom end. Called JL Audio and for $250 they will completely refurbish my F113 along with a 2yr warranty. As for the amp, I had bridged 2 channels together for my surrounds so I just undid that.

Kevin
YellowC4S is offline  
Old 11-16-2015, 09:48 AM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You can raise the subwoofer level using Manual Setup - Test Tones - Subwoofer.

Why raise the SW level in the pre/pro and not at the sub itself? Trying to understand why....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
Old 11-16-2015, 11:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,629
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4033 Post(s)
Liked: 2241
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
Why raise the SW level in the pre/pro and not at the sub itself? Trying to understand why....


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Assuming that you use Audyssey calibration, if you change the subwoofer level, you may not like the change and want to return it to its original setting. The AVR subwoofer trim is a digital setting, so returning it to its original value is easy. A typical subwoofer gain control is an analog control, so if you change the gain and want to return to its original value, it is much more difficult. Of course, if your sub has a digital gain control, it probably doesn't make much difference.
romavictor likes this.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 11-16-2015, 04:26 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,629
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4033 Post(s)
Liked: 2241
DirecTV users: how is the volume on the Sonic music channels compared with the volume on broadcast TV channels? The former is PCM, the latter is DD5.1. I am noticing a 15dB difference when switching between the two, PCM being louder. I don't know of any way to control the level difference between PCM and DD5.1. Is there a way?
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 11-16-2015, 06:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 58,121
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7445 Post(s)
Liked: 3414
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
DirecTV users: how is the volume on the Sonic music channels compared with the volume on broadcast TV channels? The former is PCM, the latter is DD5.1. I am noticing a 15dB difference when switching between the two, PCM being louder. I don't know of any way to control the level difference between PCM and DD5.1. Is there a way?
On Denon AVRs you could set up two different Quick Selects with level differences for each one, however, the equivalent Smart Selects on Marantz models was only just introduced starting 2014, so no featured on the AV8801.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Sony, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 11-16-2015, 06:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,629
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4033 Post(s)
Liked: 2241
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
On Denon AVRs you could set up two different Quick Selects with level differences for each one, however, the equivalent Smart Selects on Marantz models was only just introduced starting 2014, so no featured on the AV8801.


As a long-time Denon owner, I really missed Quick Select when I transitioned to Marantz.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 11-17-2015, 02:30 AM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Hey what's the significance of a buzz vs a hiss coming out of your tweeters?
I hear buzz with RCA's and Hiss with XLR's


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
Old 11-17-2015, 07:08 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,629
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4033 Post(s)
Liked: 2241
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
Hey what's the significance of a buzz vs a hiss coming out of your tweeters?
I hear buzz with RCA's and Hiss with XLR's


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
As with any noise problem, the first step is to try and identify the source. I would start by disconnecting all source components (cable box, Blu-Ray player, etc.) to see if the noise goes away. If yes, then return the components one-by-one until the noise returns.

If that doesn't work, it gets more difficult. A buzz could be a ground loop. I am not sure that a ground loop would result in a hiss with balanced connections. But the real question is how loud is the noise--loud enough for you to hear at the MLP when the system should be quiet? I have a very feint hiss in the tweeters which is completely inaudible from more than six feet, so I don't obsess about it.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 11-17-2015, 07:40 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 58,121
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7445 Post(s)
Liked: 3414
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post


As a long-time Denon owner, I really missed Quick Select when I transitioned to Marantz.
Another option for you would be to also connect an optical/coax digital cable from the DTV box to another input on the AV8801 (eg. CD) and then set the CD Source Level setting to -12db (max setting).

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Sony, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 11-17-2015, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
romavictor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
As with any noise problem, the first step is to try and identify the source. I would start by disconnecting all source components (cable box, Blu-Ray player, etc.) to see if the noise goes away. If yes, then return the components one-by-one until the noise returns.



If that doesn't work, it gets more difficult. A buzz could be a ground loop. I am not sure that a ground loop would result in a hiss with balanced connections. But the real question is how loud is the noise--loud enough for you to hear at the MLP when the system should be quiet? I have a very feint hiss in the tweeters which is completely inaudible from more than six feet, so I don't obsess about it.

Jerry

I only hear it when I'm about 6 inches away....no biggie but was just wondering if there's any temporary solutions until I get the mc452. I'll try your methods to isolate the problem and let's say the cable box or Bluray player is the cause, what do I do than?

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
romavictor is offline  
Old 11-17-2015, 09:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,629
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4033 Post(s)
Liked: 2241
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
Jerry

I only hear it when I'm about 6 inches away....no biggie but was just wondering if there's any temporary solutions until I get the mc452. I'll try your methods to isolate the problem and let's say the cable box or Bluray player is the cause, what do I do than?

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Live with it or replace it.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 11-22-2015, 03:35 PM
Senior Member
 
jbjbjbjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Wesley Hills, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all. I just setup my new AV8801. Is there any way to set different levels for the sub on each input & have the preamp remember these settings. . I'd like to set a -2.0 for cable and a +2.0 for the blu-ray input. When I set using test tones it changes for all inputs. Same when I use the subwoofer level under audio settings. Am I missing something.
jbjbjbjb is offline  
Old 11-22-2015, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4,819
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1179 Post(s)
Liked: 1242
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbjbjbjb View Post
Hi all. I just setup my new AV8801. Is there any way to set different levels for the sub on each input & have the preamp remember these settings. . I'd like to set a -2.0 for cable and a +2.0 for the blu-ray input. When I set using test tones it changes for all inputs. Same when I use the subwoofer level under audio settings. Am I missing something.
It will remember each setting (including audyssey settings,Deq on off etc..) per input on its on
audiofan1 is offline  
Old 11-22-2015, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
jbjbjbjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Wesley Hills, NY
Posts: 206
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where will it remember, under audio settings/subwoofer level or test tones?
jbjbjbjb is offline  
Old 11-22-2015, 05:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,629
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4033 Post(s)
Liked: 2241
Quote:
Originally Posted by audiofan1 View Post
It will remember each setting (including audyssey settings,Deq on off etc..) per input on its on
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbjbjbjb View Post
Where will it remember, under audio settings/subwoofer level or test tones?
I would like to know as well. I set the sub level for +5 on one input, and when I cycled through the other inputs, it stayed at +5 for all inputs. I tried setting the sub level in the speaker/levels menu, but the results were the same.

With Denon processors we had Quick Select. I don't see the per-input settings memory on Marantz processors.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 11-23-2015, 04:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Audiguy3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fort Collins CO
Posts: 1,301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 81 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by romavictor View Post
Jerry

I only hear it when I'm about 6 inches away....no biggie but was just wondering if there's any temporary solutions until I get the mc452. I'll try your methods to isolate the problem and let's say the cable box or Bluray player is the cause, what do I do than?

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Please give us a update

Reggie
Family Room:70" Sharp Elite/Marantz AV8801/MM8077/GoldenEar:Triton Ones (superseding Triton 2s), SuperCenter XXL center channel, and SuperSat 60surrounds/Oppo BDP-105/Directv Genie HR34-700/ HP Notebook
Basement: 60" Sony SXRD KDS-60A2000/Marantz AV8003/Marantz MM8003/PSB Stratus Gold Front,Center,Left, Surrounds/ Directv H21-100
Audiguy3 is offline  
Old 11-23-2015, 10:10 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 58,121
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7445 Post(s)
Liked: 3414
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbjbjbjb View Post
Hi all. I just setup my new AV8801. Is there any way to set different levels for the sub on each input & have the preamp remember these settings. . I'd like to set a -2.0 for cable and a +2.0 for the blu-ray input. When I set using test tones it changes for all inputs. Same when I use the subwoofer level under audio settings. Am I missing something.
Sorry, but no, not possible on the AV8801. Test Tone settings are global. The newer models 2014/2015 (AV7702, AV7702MKII, and AV8802A) have a new "CH Level Adjust" setting which can independently set speaker/sub levels per input.
Audiguy3 likes this.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Sony, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 12-13-2015, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Guys-

I picked up a new sealed AV8801 unit. I fed my media player via HDMI to input 5(media player) input.
HDMI out (monitor 1) to small TV until my projector shows up. When I play a bluray, the sound from the left and right main channels is very low, have to put you ear 3" from speaker.

when I turn on static test tones, per speaker, they play at normal volume.
I moved the media player, to my family room setup, with the same hdmi cable and feeding a SR7008 Marantz receiver, left and right main channels played fine!

I moved to the av8801 DVD HDMI input same thing super low volume......

The AV8801 is connected to Crest CC5500 pro amps via XLR. Left and right channels to one amp,,and center channel to a 2nd amp.

I would think, since the speaker tones played normal, that proves the signal path from av8001 to crest amps to speaker wire to speakers is good.

could the hdmi board on a new sealed av8801 go out???

any thoughts?

thanks Vince
vince32837 is offline  
Old 12-13-2015, 05:54 PM
Senior Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 111 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Guys-

I picked up a new sealed AV8801 unit. I fed my media player via HDMI to input 5(media player) input.
HDMI out (monitor 1) to small TV until my projector shows up. When I play a bluray, the sound from the left and right main channels is very low, have to put you ear 3" from speaker.

when I turn on static test tones, per speaker, they play at normal volume.
I moved the media player, to my family room setup, with the same hdmi cable and feeding a SR7008 Marantz receiver, left and right main channels played fine!

I moved to the av8801 DVD HDMI input same thing super low volume......

The AV8801 is connected to Crest CC5500 pro amps via XLR. Left and right channels to one amp,,and center channel to a 2nd amp.

I would think, since the speaker tones played normal, that proves the signal path from av8001 to crest amps to speaker wire to speakers is good.

could the hdmi board on a new sealed av8801 go out???

any thoughts?

thanks Vince
vince32837 is offline  
Old 12-13-2015, 09:55 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 11,629
Mentioned: 64 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4033 Post(s)
Liked: 2241
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince32837 View Post
Guys-

I picked up a new sealed AV8801 unit. I fed my media player via HDMI to input 5(media player) input.
HDMI out (monitor 1) to small TV until my projector shows up. When I play a bluray, the sound from the left and right main channels is very low, have to put you ear 3" from speaker.

when I turn on static test tones, per speaker, they play at normal volume.
I moved the media player, to my family room setup, with the same hdmi cable and feeding a SR7008 Marantz receiver, left and right main channels played fine!

I moved to the av8801 DVD HDMI input same thing super low volume......

The AV8801 is connected to Crest CC5500 pro amps via XLR. Left and right channels to one amp,,and center channel to a 2nd amp.

I would think, since the speaker tones played normal, that proves the signal path from av8001 to crest amps to speaker wire to speakers is good.

could the hdmi board on a new sealed av8801 go out???

any thoughts?

thanks Vince
As with strange problems like this, reset the processor and try again.
AustinJerry is online now  
Old 12-14-2015, 12:30 AM
Member
 
JanJankovsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could 8801 passthrough 4k60P video signal?
JanJankovsky is offline  
Old 12-14-2015, 02:15 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 58,121
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7445 Post(s)
Liked: 3414
Quote:
Originally Posted by JanJankovsky View Post
Could 8801 passthrough 4k60P video signal?

No, as it is only HDMI 1.4a, however, it will pass 4k/30fps when not encrypted with HDCP 2.2. The newer HDMI 2.0 chip which can pass 4k/60fps was only first introduced on the 2014 D+M models. The newer AV8802A is both HDMI 2.0a (HDR) and HDCP 2.2.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Sony, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 12-14-2015, 02:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 58,121
Mentioned: 113 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7445 Post(s)
Liked: 3414
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince32837 View Post
Guys-

I picked up a new sealed AV8801 unit. I fed my media player via HDMI to input 5(media player) input.
HDMI out (monitor 1) to small TV until my projector shows up. When I play a bluray, the sound from the left and right main channels is very low, have to put you ear 3" from speaker.

when I turn on static test tones, per speaker, they play at normal volume.
I moved the media player, to my family room setup, with the same hdmi cable and feeding a SR7008 Marantz receiver, left and right main channels played fine!

I moved to the av8801 DVD HDMI input same thing super low volume......

The AV8801 is connected to Crest CC5500 pro amps via XLR. Left and right channels to one amp,,and center channel to a 2nd amp.

I would think, since the speaker tones played normal, that proves the signal path from av8001 to crest amps to speaker wire to speakers is good.

could the hdmi board on a new sealed av8801 go out???

any thoughts?

thanks Vince

What master volume level do you have selected? Is it at least 60? Have you run Audyssey to calibrate the speakers yet?

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
Authorized dealer: Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Sony, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off