Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 442 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 275Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13231 of 13400 Old 12-14-2015, 03:25 AM
Member
 
JanJankovsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
No, as it is only HDMI 1.4a, however, it will pass 4k/30fps when not encrypted with HDCP 2.2. The newer HDMI 2.0 chip which can pass 4k/60fps was only first introduced on the 2014 D+M models. The newer AV8802A is both HDMI 2.0a (HDR) and HDCP 2.2.
and what about 8802 (not 8802A) does it support HDMI 2.0a (HDR) and HDCP 2.2?
JanJankovsky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13232 of 13400 Old 12-14-2015, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
As with strangeproblems like this, reset the processor and try again.



Will try reset..thanks


one dumb question though-


[when I do Microprocessor reset - Press/hold GAME+ SLEEP buttons on front panel while powering on the unit (release GAME + SLEEPafter 4-5 secs) ]


when do I let go of the power button same time or after I see flashing?



vince32837 is offline  
post #13233 of 13400 Old 12-14-2015, 06:23 AM
Senior Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
What master volume level do you have selected? Is it at least 60? Have you run Audyssey to calibrate the speakers yet?


JD- I thought since I heard static test tones across the 30 ft room for L/C/R channels. I was covered... The 2 crest amps pass their BIT show green light both channels both amps..their gain set at midpoint. I did not adjust any channels yet, all at 0 dB on AV8801.


scary thing is, that was the last authorized dealer av8801 in the USA...tried to save $$$ vs 8802...since I had such good luck with SR7008 receiver.


I assume I have an old AV8801 firmware....The official downloads page shows no new firmware???


hope unit is OK..we shall see..........


Vince

Last edited by vince32837; 12-14-2015 at 07:06 AM.
vince32837 is offline  
post #13234 of 13400 Old 12-14-2015, 05:57 PM
Senior Member
 
vince32837's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: orlando, FL
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 103
Processor reset fixed it..channels play at normal volumes..
Thank you,
Vince
WLGeter likes this.
vince32837 is offline  
post #13235 of 13400 Old 12-16-2015, 08:02 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: California, Bay Area
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
You can raise the subwoofer level using Manual Setup - Test Tones - Subwoofer.
Note you can also use the Audio/Subwoofer Level menu to adjust this -- no need to listen to 75db test tones
bartrinsic is offline  
post #13236 of 13400 Old 12-17-2015, 03:09 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,937
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by JanJankovsky View Post
and what about 8802 (not 8802A) does it support HDMI 2.0a (HDR) and HDCP 2.2?

No, rather the "A" refers to the HDCP 2.2/HDMI 2.0a(HDR) upgrade.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #13237 of 13400 Old 12-17-2015, 03:14 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,937
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by vince32837 View Post


Will try reset..thanks


one dumb question though-


[when I do Microprocessor reset - Press/hold GAME+ SLEEP buttons on front panel while powering on the unit (release GAME + SLEEPafter 4-5 secs) ]


when do I let go of the power button same time or after I see flashing?




Although you have already successfully performed the reset, for the benefit of others reading this thread, the power button is immediately released after powering on the unit (as one would do when powering on the unit under normal circumstances) while you continue to press/hold the other two buttons for about 4-5 secs until the front panel starts flashing.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 12-18-2015 at 12:26 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #13238 of 13400 Old 12-17-2015, 11:28 PM
Newbie
 
TheGamble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austria
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Hi !

I have a Problem with my AV8801 getting a 4K24p Signal to the TV,
if i connect my Mediaplayer directly into my TV it works so calbes and Mediaplayer are not the problem..
If i connect the Mediaplayer trough the Marantz it doesnt work.
Weird thing is my Marantz accepts my TV and PJ as 4K devices as i see in the HDMI Info Screen,
upscaling to UHD works flawless to but getting nativ content (24p, no HDCP2.2) trough does NOT.

Yesterday i tried xrandr command on my Mediaplayer (NUC/Kodi) and saw that the Marantz doesnt
state UHD Resolution in its EDID...what can i do ...?
TheGamble is offline  
post #13239 of 13400 Old 12-18-2015, 12:28 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,937
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGamble View Post
Hi !

I have a Problem with my AV8801 getting a 4K24p Signal to the TV,
if i connect my Mediaplayer directly into my TV it works so calbes and Mediaplayer are not the problem..
If i connect the Mediaplayer trough the Marantz it doesnt work.
Weird thing is my Marantz accepts my TV and PJ as 4K devices as i see in the HDMI Info Screen,
upscaling to UHD works flawless to but getting nativ content (24p, no HDCP2.2) trough does NOT.

Yesterday i tried xrandr command on my Mediaplayer (NUC/Kodi) and saw that the Marantz doesnt
state UHD Resolution in its EDID...what can i do ...?

What is the cable distance from the AV8801 to the TV? Have you tried ALL of the HDMI inputs on the AV8801?

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #13240 of 13400 Old 12-18-2015, 01:04 AM
Newbie
 
TheGamble's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Austria
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I did not try any other Input since all of the ones on the backside should be 4K capable, only the fron one is not.

Cable Lenght (5m iirc) should also be no issue since upscaling trough Marantz to 4K works..but passing trough native content from another source does not
TheGamble is offline  
post #13241 of 13400 Old 12-19-2015, 07:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hey, guys...have had this unit for a while now and just NOW noted a very weird quirk...

When playing back audio m/c mixes I like switching my XLR cables so that what was formerly the side surrounds get essentially turned off, and the signals go to the rears instead (changing a 7.1 into a 5.1).

Here's the quirk: When playing back 5.1 via LPCM it works perfectly - I switch the XLR, I get nothing from my surrounds (now receiving essentially channels six and seven), and I get my stereo image on the back.

HOWEVER, and this is weird, when playing back via DTS the display on the front shows a 7.1 signal (!), from both Oppo 105D and PS3. I understand if I did some surround processing it should do that, creating an artificial rear signal for movies (essentially a fancy 'pro logic' for the rear), but if I hit "direct" I should of course have NO signal coming out of the side channels.

Note that if I send PCM to the Marantz from the Oppo instead of Bitstream for the DTS it correctly shows as 5.1 signal. It's a workaround, but it'd be nice for bitstream to be handled correctly of course.

So, did I miss a parameter somewhere? Is there a bitstream setup I haven't noticed? I'd think "direct" is, well, direct, but who knows.

Thoughts?!

sharkshark is offline  
post #13242 of 13400 Old 12-20-2015, 01:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,937
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkshark View Post
Hey, guys...have had this unit for a while now and just NOW noted a very weird quirk...

When playing back audio m/c mixes I like switching my XLR cables so that what was formerly the side surrounds get essentially turned off, and the signals go to the rears instead (changing a 7.1 into a 5.1).

Here's the quirk: When playing back 5.1 via LPCM it works perfectly - I switch the XLR, I get nothing from my surrounds (now receiving essentially channels six and seven), and I get my stereo image on the back.

HOWEVER, and this is weird, when playing back via DTS the display on the front shows a 7.1 signal (!), from both Oppo 105D and PS3. I understand if I did some surround processing it should do that, creating an artificial rear signal for movies (essentially a fancy 'pro logic' for the rear), but if I hit "direct" I should of course have NO signal coming out of the side channels.

Note that if I send PCM to the Marantz from the Oppo instead of Bitstream for the DTS it correctly shows as 5.1 signal. It's a workaround, but it'd be nice for bitstream to be handled correctly of course.

So, did I miss a parameter somewhere? Is there a bitstream setup I haven't noticed? I'd think "direct" is, well, direct, but who knows.

Thoughts?!

For several years now the DTS decoder will simulate audio to the Surround Back speakers when a DTS 5.1 signal is received.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.

Last edited by jdsmoothie; 12-20-2015 at 11:46 AM.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #13243 of 13400 Old 12-20-2015, 07:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
For several years now the DTS encoder will simulate audio to the Surround Back speakers when a DTS 5.1 signal is received.
...PCM doesn't do is, and I assume Dolby doesn't as well? Any way to disable it (even temporarily)?

Or by "several years" you mean ALL DTS processing does thiis in most pre/pro?

J

sharkshark is offline  
post #13244 of 13400 Old 12-20-2015, 11:47 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,937
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by sharkshark View Post
...PCM doesn't do is, and I assume Dolby doesn't as well? Any way to disable it (even temporarily)?

Or by "several years" you mean ALL DTS processing does thiis in most pre/pro?

J
Yup.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #13245 of 13400 Old 12-20-2015, 09:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sharkshark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Toronto, eh?
Posts: 2,484
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Weird... Amusing it has taken me until now to notice...

sharkshark is offline  
post #13246 of 13400 Old 12-23-2015, 01:14 PM
Member
 
Meffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sweden,Stockholm
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
USB sellect empty?

Hello av8801 fellas. I need some help regarding music playback. I hope someone can help me. I have formated an USB flash drive (NTFS) and copyied some songs (.flac and mp3) and when i insert the flash drive in front of the pre pro and press the ipod/usb i only get ----empty----. I don't get it.My AV8801 cant find my songs. What am i doing wrong?. I hope someone can help me.
Thanks in advanced!
Meffy
Meffy is offline  
post #13247 of 13400 Old 12-29-2015, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
kiwi2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 857
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have long since given up on this thread and actually hoping to get advice and support for the product related to this thread.
I noticed this thread in particular to be extremely cliquey, a few would converse between themselves and totally ignore the rest.

But I had an issue right from the start related to album art when trying to play back media through the 8801 network player.
An issue I never experienced with the previous 8003 processor but the newer version 8801 could not play these files in their entirety.
The reason for this post is to alert others who might still be having this same issue I had that there is an easy fix.
I installed XBMC or Kodi on my computer. It is connected from the computer via HDMI to my OPPO 103 which is connected to the 8801.
For some reason this connection method allows the 8801 to play all of my high resolution files properly. The difference is dramatic! I cant believe I went a whole year not being able to actually hear these recordings the way they should sound.
The previous connection method was via ethernet cable to the marantz from the computer. Although the 8801 manual states technically this connection method should work it didn't. That connection method resulted in poor compressed audio even when playing HD audio files and no related video.

Kodi allows for playback of movies,photos and every type of audio format along with album or cover art and access is instantaneous.
I have not followed this thread for the above reasons for a long while so this revelation might be old news here but if it can help someone still struggling with the extremely poor network capabilities of the 8801 then I am glad I posted.

I am now finally enjoying my gear because of this very easy to use Kodi media center.
Dave A. likes this.
kiwi2000 is offline  
post #13248 of 13400 Old 01-01-2016, 06:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,666
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 98 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quick question. I received a new Sony tv. I was attempting to watch a UHD movie on amazon prime app which is on the tv. The sony tv has ARC which I have the HDMI plugged into, and the other end plugged into the Monitor 1 ARC. I wasnt getting audio through just the tv. I went inside the settings of the tv and saw two options: TV speakers or external audio system. I chose the external audio system and still no sound from speakers, just tv. I then went inside the settings of the marantz 8801 and turned on HDMI control which had been off since I received it. Immediately a message popped up on the tv stating sound would now be coming from external speakers. Great. My quirk is: When you have this HDMI control on, when turning up or down on the volume with the tv remote OR the marantz remote, I get two volumes that pop up on the tv at once. Usually I would only get the marantz volume onscreen. Now its the tv and the marantz. Basically the tv volume onscreen is about 2db off from the other. 65 on the marantz and 67 on the tv. Very odd and annoying thing is all. Im assuming a optical cable is the only solution or turning the HDMI control off during other playback and only using for apps on the tv?

thanks
nezff is offline  
post #13249 of 13400 Old 01-05-2016, 11:09 AM
Member
 
JanJankovsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For Main zone of 8801 I use XLR audio outs. Could I use the same time in Zone 4 audio output through HDMI (using different to main zone HDMI input)?
JanJankovsky is offline  
post #13250 of 13400 Old 01-05-2016, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
bambam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Has anyone added the DDRC-88A Dirac unit to their 8801? If so, what are your thoughts compared to Audyssey - and how well did the unit integrate with the 8801?
bambam is offline  
post #13251 of 13400 Old 01-05-2016, 11:33 AM
Senior Member
 
nesto719's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado Springs ,Co
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Yup.
You said the hdams are the same in the 7009,7010. I have a 7008 and am wondering if the preouts are equal quality to the 8801 or 7702 basically what I'm asking is , would adding a amp to the receiver give me the same quality of the 8801 7702 ?
nesto719 is offline  
post #13252 of 13400 Old 01-05-2016, 11:46 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 12,148
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2420
Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post
Has anyone added the DDRC-88A Dirac unit to their 8801? If so, what are your thoughts compared to Audyssey - and how well did the unit integrate with the 8801?
Extensive discussion in the 88A thread regarding Audyssey vs. Dirac.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #13253 of 13400 Old 01-05-2016, 02:35 PM
Senior Member
 
orcrone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Vero Beach, FL
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 117 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by JanJankovsky View Post
For Main zone of 8801 I use XLR audio outs. Could I use the same time in Zone 4 audio output through HDMI (using different to main zone HDMI input)?
I'm not sure if I understand this correctly. Do you wish to output the same source in zone 4 as is output in zone 1, using the zone 4 HDMI output? I believe the zone 4 HDMI output can only output HDMI sources. So you could only output the audio from components (DVR, DVD) etc. with an HDMI input to the 8801. Hopefully someone will chime in if I'm wrong.
orcrone is offline  
post #13254 of 13400 Old 01-06-2016, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Just got a software update for the Marantz iOS app. I dont see any changes but maybe I'm missing something and the software update section just says 'bug fixes' as the reason for the update. Did anyone else notice anything new or different behavior?
matthewa likes this.
Ou8thisSN is offline  
post #13255 of 13400 Old 01-06-2016, 09:48 PM
Member
 
johnnygrandis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 77 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by bambam View Post
Has anyone added the DDRC-88A Dirac unit to their 8801? If so, what are your thoughts compared to Audyssey - and how well did the unit integrate with the 8801?
No problem doing this, and the Audyssey VS Dirac is not comparable, Dirac is in a different league.





GOOD TIMES:

Listening Preference
johnnygrandis is offline  
post #13256 of 13400 Old 01-07-2016, 05:04 AM
Senior Member
 
matthewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Long time off the thread, happy 8801 owner, had a nice surprise today, thought worth sharing as others may experiment. I have been running with audyssey setup for past 12 months, was watching ex machina tonight, great movie btw.... Anyway has an interesting soundtrack, but I was finding a few scenes a bit piercing on my ears, so went into setup and switched to flat, wow really released the beast, sounded great, look forward to watching more to see if one off, but so far happy with the change and haven't stopped listening to music since finishing the movie.

Didn't jump at the 8802 as have been happy with the 8801 and understood not getting Atmos, but would be great if Denon/Marantz gave this flagship a bit of love by offering Auro-3D or DTS-X for a price if the DSP can cope, has their been any news on this front?
matthewa is offline  
post #13257 of 13400 Old 01-07-2016, 06:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 12,148
Mentioned: 88 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4411 Post(s)
Liked: 2420
Quote:
Originally Posted by matthewa View Post
Long time off the thread, happy 8801 owner, had a nice surprise today, thought worth sharing as others may experiment. I have been running with audyssey setup for past 12 months, was watching ex machina tonight, great movie btw.... Anyway has an interesting soundtrack, but I was finding a few scenes a bit piercing on my ears, so went into setup and switched to flat, wow really released the beast, sounded great, look forward to watching more to see if one off, but so far happy with the change and haven't stopped listening to music since finishing the movie.

Didn't jump at the 8802 as have been happy with the 8801 and understood not getting Atmos, but would be great if Denon/Marantz gave this flagship a bit of love by offering Auro-3D or DTS-X for a price if the DSP can cope, has their been any news on this front?
Interesting result. When I hear the term "piercing", I would think this to be caused by over-accentuated high frequencies, which I agree can be unpleasant. However, the Audyssey Flat setting actually removes the gentle high-frequency roll off, so one would expect the sound to be worse, not better. As you say, perhaps it is an anomaly of that particular film.

Unfortunately, there is zero chance that the 8801 will get the enhancements you mention.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #13258 of 13400 Old 01-07-2016, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ou8thisSN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 2,746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 191 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Interesting result. When I hear the term "piercing", I would think this to be caused by over-accentuated high frequencies, which I agree can be unpleasant. However, the Audyssey Flat setting actually removes the gentle high-frequency roll off, so one would expect the sound to be worse, not better. As you say, perhaps it is an anomaly of that particular film.

Unfortunately, there is zero chance that the 8801 will get the enhancements you mention.
What do you have your Audyssey set to?
Ou8thisSN is offline  
post #13259 of 13400 Old 01-07-2016, 10:09 AM
Senior Member
 
nesto719's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Colorado Springs ,Co
Posts: 479
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I am just wondering if the 8802 would be better for two channel music because of the updated hdams??
nesto719 is offline  
post #13260 of 13400 Old 01-07-2016, 12:18 PM
Senior Member
 
matthewa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 28
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Interesting result. When I hear the term "piercing", I would think this to be caused by over-accentuated high frequencies, which I agree can be unpleasant. However, the Audyssey Flat setting actually removes the gentle high-frequency roll off, so one would expect the sound to be worse, not better. As you say, perhaps it is an anomaly of that particular film.

Unfortunately, there is zero chance that the 8801 will get the enhancements you mention.
That's what surprised me also as it was the HF and I agree it seemed counter intuitive, it's a shame on the upgrade front, will just hang out to the 8802 successor though to see how the current standards evolve and mature
matthewa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off