Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 448 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 281Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13411 of 13423 Old 05-04-2016, 06:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 12,964
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4992 Post(s)
Liked: 2805
If the subs are indeed the same distance from the MLP, then Audyssey should set their distances the same. And yes, if you change the sub polarity, then you should re-run Audyssey.
darthray likes this.
AustinJerry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13412 of 13423 Old 05-06-2016, 06:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
darthray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cold lake Alberta Canada
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
If the subs are indeed the same distance from the MLP, then Audyssey should set their distances the same. And yes, if you change the sub polarity, then you should re-run Audyssey.

Yesterday, I did re-run Audyssey.


My wife got tired to help me carry the 35" monitor ( most of the time, Audyssey pick the noise fan from the front projector), the from the rec room into the Home Theater.
So she bought me a 19" for those few time , I do a calibration

This time the results were 8.3 feet for both subs, 1 db difference between them.


I think the first time was, I forgot to tell the AV8801, that I had two subs.
Second time, the phase was at 0, but forgot to turn-off the Butt kickers in the main chairs, may this was the problem?


So third time was a charm


All is good, except for the Auto turn On, no longer turn on the power amp.
I went in the menu for the trigger input/output, and every thing show on, so who know?
At least, I can always turn the Amp manually


Again, Thanks for all your help.


Ray
AustinJerry likes this.
darthray is offline  
post #13413 of 13423 Old 05-06-2016, 06:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 12,964
Mentioned: 108 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4992 Post(s)
Liked: 2805
Nice job, Ray. As for the trigger, it should be working. Check the menu and the cable.
AustinJerry is offline  
post #13414 of 13423 Old 05-07-2016, 12:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
darthray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cold lake Alberta Canada
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Nice job, Ray. As for the trigger, it should be working. Check the menu and the cable.

Thanks


I do intend to re-check the menu since I believe the problem is in the setting somewhere.


I do not think it is the trigger cable since my equipment is in wall, and nobody goes their (utility room for the furnace and water heater) other than me.
But to make sure, I will check-it with an Ohm meter.


Just for your info, on the second run, the second sub volume was extremely low.
So Audyssey mic could have pick the vibrations from the chair.


At least, it is now done




Ray
darthray is offline  
post #13415 of 13423 Old 05-11-2016, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
darthray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cold lake Alberta Canada
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthray View Post
Yesterday, I did re-run Audyssey.


My wife got tired to help me carry the 35" monitor ( most of the time, Audyssey pick the noise fan from the front projector), the from the rec room into the Home Theater.
So she bought me a 19" for those few time , I do a calibration

This time the results were 8.3 feet for both subs, 1 db difference between them.


I think the first time was, I forgot to tell the AV8801, that I had two subs.
Second time, the phase was at 0, but forgot to turn-off the Butt kickers in the main chairs, may this was the problem?


So third time was a charm


All is good, except for the Auto turn On, no longer turn on the power amp.
I went in the menu for the trigger input/output, and every thing show on, so who know?
At least, I can always turn the Amp manually


Again, Thanks for all your help.


Ray
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Nice job, Ray. As for the trigger, it should be working. Check the menu and the cable.
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthray View Post
Thanks


I do intend to re-check the menu since I believe the problem is in the setting somewhere.


I do not think it is the trigger cable since my equipment is in wall, and nobody goes their (utility room for the furnace and water heater) other than me.
But to make sure, I will check-it with an Ohm meter.


Just for your info, on the second run, the second sub volume was extremely low.
So Audyssey mic could have pick the vibrations from the chair.


At least, it is now done




Ray

Last up-date.


It's now working


Ray
darthray is offline  
post #13416 of 13423 Old 05-15-2016, 03:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdlynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Could someone please tell me how to set-up my 8801 to receive Spotify? I don't see it on the apps screen.

David Lynch Current Equipment: Marantz 8801, Datasat RA7300 (Proceed HPA3 (sold) and Parasound HCA-1206 for sale), Aerial Acoustics LR5's (LCR), Aerial Acoustics LR3's (sides), RBH in-walls (rears), Seaton Submersive, Marantz VP15s1, 106" Carada BW screen, Oppo BDP-103.
jdlynch is offline  
post #13417 of 13423 Old 05-15-2016, 04:09 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,608
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9357 Post(s)
Liked: 4317
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdlynch View Post
Could someone please tell me how to set-up my 8801 to receive Spotify? I don't see it on the apps screen.
Was it previously hidden? (p. 135 Owner's manual) If yes, you will need to set it to INPUTS - HIDE Sources - Spotify - SHOW.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13418 of 13423 Old 05-15-2016, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
jdlynch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 807
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Was it previously hidden? (p. 135 Owner's manual) If yes, you will need to set it to INPUTS - HIDE Sources - Spotify - SHOW.
Thanks JD. I will see if that is the problem.


BTW, does AVS still sell lamps for the Marantz VP15s1 ? If so would you please PM me with your price?

David Lynch Current Equipment: Marantz 8801, Datasat RA7300 (Proceed HPA3 (sold) and Parasound HCA-1206 for sale), Aerial Acoustics LR5's (LCR), Aerial Acoustics LR3's (sides), RBH in-walls (rears), Seaton Submersive, Marantz VP15s1, 106" Carada BW screen, Oppo BDP-103.
jdlynch is offline  
post #13419 of 13423 Old 06-27-2016, 08:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
darthray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cold lake Alberta Canada
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked: 642
I am going to ask a question, that more than likely the answer is No.


Since, I believe there is no stupid question, only the one not ask!


Here's my situation;
2 subs calibrated with Audyssey with 2 different XLR cables.
From the second sub output (after calibration), the signal goes to another XLR cable that supplied the power for a couple Tactile Transducers, BK in my case.


Here's the problem;
The signal going to the TT is after calibration, so there might/will be some boost and cut to the signal.


Is there any way to get a third output for the bass that is un-calibrated? And change volume has you increase/decrease the volume?


I do expect the answer to be No, but sometime, who knows


Ray
darthray is offline  
post #13420 of 13423 Old 06-28-2016, 02:52 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,608
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9357 Post(s)
Liked: 4317
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthray View Post
I am going to ask a question, that more than likely the answer is No.


Since, I believe there is no stupid question, only the one not ask!


Here's my situation;
2 subs calibrated with Audyssey with 2 different XLR cables.
From the second sub output (after calibration), the signal goes to another XLR cable that supplied the power for a couple Tactile Transducers, BK in my case.


Here's the problem;
The signal going to the TT is after calibration, so there might/will be some boost and cut to the signal.


Is there any way to get a third output for the bass that is un-calibrated? And change volume has you increase/decrease the volume?


I do expect the answer to be No, but sometime, who knows


Ray
Not without passing an un-calibrated signal to both sub pre-outs no (ie. disabling Audyssey).
darthray likes this.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13421 of 13423 Old 06-28-2016, 06:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
darthray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cold lake Alberta Canada
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked: 642
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Not without passing an un-calibrated signal to both sub pre-outs no (ie. disabling Audyssey).

I thought so
It would be a nice option for those of us, that use a/some TT in there system.


I am going to look for a mixing/equalizer, and try to make it a flat signal from there (looking at what kind of signal is boost/cut from a test CD at each frequencies).


Back to drawing board


Thanks, for the reply.


Ray
darthray is offline  
post #13422 of 13423 Old 06-28-2016, 07:01 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 61,608
Mentioned: 173 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9357 Post(s)
Liked: 4317
Quote:
Originally Posted by darthray View Post
I thought so
It would be a nice option for those of us, that use a/some TT in there system.


I am going to look for a mixing/equalizer, and try to make it a flat signal from there (looking at what kind of signal is boost/cut from a test CD at each frequencies).


Back to drawing board


Thanks, for the reply.


Ray

Don't think it's going to make that much difference. You still have independent volume control on each sub pre-out so you can simply increase the volume if necessary on the pre-out going to the TT if necessary.
darthray likes this.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #13423 of 13423 Old 06-28-2016, 07:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
darthray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Cold lake Alberta Canada
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 723 Post(s)
Liked: 642
First, thanks for your thought


My main problem is;
The TT bottom out on very low and heavy bass movies, not often, but sometime.


I think, I do not have enough power and the TT goes out of control to be brought back.
Some members think, it could be too much power/or the power is taken away from the adjustment done by Audyssey (too much boost at certain low frequencies).


A pro amp, might fix the power issue, and maybe not
(about double the power, 3DB)
So, logic said, to try to fix the frequencies issues.


From your previous respond, I am wrong and should learn to live my TT bottoming out once in a while (not often).
Or fixing a certain boost (unknown at this point), could maybe fix the situation
Moot situation, or can it be fix (the TT are set fairly low, just enough to feel them)?


After all, it is only chasing the White Rabbit


Edit for my signal flow;
AV8801 sub out 1, to the first sub,
then AV8801 sub out 2 to, the second sub,
From the second sub output (the PB13-Ultra have sub output signal and most sub do now a day) to the SMS-1 for volume control duty,
then a splitter from the SMS-1 to the 2 mono amps,
then the normal speaker wires to the BK from each amp.




Ray

Last edited by darthray; 06-29-2016 at 06:47 AM.
darthray is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off