Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 449 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 288Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #13441 of 13459 Old 10-21-2016, 10:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GIEGAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 1158
Hi fellas, I have a new 8801 owner I'm trying to help out in another thread.

He'll be running a pair of Berry iNuke NU6000DSP's for his (DIY) subs and a NAD M25 for his speakers. I wanted to confirm that it's possible to run the iNukes off the balanced/XLR pre-outs and the NAD off the RCA/single ended pre-outs. Or more broadly, do the RCA pre-outs remain active (line level available) when one or more XLR pre-outs are being utilised? I couldn't see any switches on the back panel or "software" switches in the menu so I presume so, but just wanted to run it by the experts.

A quick yay or nay will do.

Cheers!

Edit: Nevermind fellas. Got my answer.
podboy likes this.

Last edited by GIEGAR; 10-22-2016 at 03:02 PM.
GIEGAR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #13442 of 13459 Old 10-24-2016, 12:24 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIEGAR View Post
Hi fellas, I have a new 8801 owner I'm trying to help out in another thread.

He'll be running a pair of Berry iNuke NU6000DSP's for his (DIY) subs and a NAD M25 for his speakers. I wanted to confirm that it's possible to run the iNukes off the balanced/XLR pre-outs and the NAD off the RCA/single ended pre-outs. Or more broadly, do the RCA pre-outs remain active (line level available) when one or more XLR pre-outs are being utilised? I couldn't see any switches on the back panel or "software" switches in the menu so I presume so, but just wanted to run it by the experts.

A quick yay or nay will do.

Cheers!

Edit: Nevermind fellas. Got my answer.
What was the answer to this?
siddforuall is offline  
post #13443 of 13459 Old 10-24-2016, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GIEGAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,007
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 682 Post(s)
Liked: 1158
Quote:
Originally Posted by siddforuall View Post
What was the answer to this?
This was it:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultrabubu View Post
In the Marantz pre/pro speaker setup guide you must select the connection type (xlr or rca) for each channel; for SW1 and SW2 select xlr and for the other go to Nad select rca.
GIEGAR is offline  
post #13444 of 13459 Old 11-06-2016, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
Not sure what you mean by a "true 4K video processor", but the 8801 can upscale an incoming signal to 4K, and it will pass a 4K signal if you have a 4K source device. However, as I recall, the 8801 is not HDMI 2.0, nor does it support HDCP 2.2. If you plan on purchasing a 4K source device like a UHD player, then the player will need to be connected directly to a HDMI 2.0 HDCP 2.2 compliant port on your display, bypassing the 8801. This is why I upgraded to the AVP8802A.

Not sure why you would ever want to up-scale to 4K in the AVP, since up-scaling is best left to the TV.

From page 130 of the users guide:

So the chance of it passing a 4k HDR signal from a xbox one S or PS4 is a NO?

thanks
nezff is offline  
post #13445 of 13459 Old 11-06-2016, 07:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 64,860
Mentioned: 226 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11237 Post(s)
Liked: 5169
Quote:
Originally Posted by nezff View Post
So the chance of it passing a 4k HDR signal from a xbox one S or PS4 is a NO?

thanks
Correct.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #13446 of 13459 Old 11-06-2016, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Correct.
The game systems would have to be plugged directly into my Sony 4k tv then. I dont think the sound quality over ARC would be that great.
nezff is offline  
post #13447 of 13459 Old 11-08-2016, 11:27 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: San Jose, CA 95118
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
How do I start a topic in this thread?

Excuse my ignorance with Forums, but I want to put my questions where they will do the most good. Can't seem to find a way to start a topic in this Marantz 8801 Owners thread..just the ability to reply to posts already left..
huh?
John
jclipka is offline  
post #13448 of 13459 Old 11-08-2016, 11:41 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 14,264
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5919 Post(s)
Liked: 3316
Quote:
Originally Posted by jclipka View Post
Excuse my ignorance with Forums, but I want to put my questions where they will do the most good. Can't seem to find a way to start a topic in this Marantz 8801 Owners thread..just the ability to reply to posts already left..
huh?
John
Well, a thread is a topic. If you want to ask a question, simply click the "Reply" button and ask your question. No need to quote a previous post. If you want to start an entirely new thread, click on the "Forums" link at the top, browse to the Audio section, and click "Start new discussion".
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13449 of 13459 Old 11-08-2016, 12:30 PM
Senior Member
 
LarryMagoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Brentwood, Northern California
Posts: 214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 149 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Hey everyone,


Just so you know....we are very lucky to have Jerry on this thread...he's an 8802A owner but still enjoys helping people out on this thread....He can answer any questions on Marantz Pre-Pros from his vast experience of equipment he has owned over the years!

Sony XBR75X940D | Marantz AV8801 | SunFire Cinema Grand 5-Chan. | 5.2 system w/ 5 Monitor Audio Gold 2 Velodyne HGS 12's | Oppo BDP 105 | MAC Mini for Streaming, View on the XBR | Harmony Ultimate Remote | DDRC-88A| Comcast Internet 90Mb's | 2 Dedicated 20 AMP circuits. | Apple TV4 | Cans: Sennheiser HD 650 + Sennheiser HD 800S | Oppo HA-1 DAC/HEADPHONE AMP |
LarryMagoo is offline  
post #13450 of 13459 Old 11-08-2016, 12:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 14,264
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5919 Post(s)
Liked: 3316
Quote:
Originally Posted by LarryMagoo View Post
Hey everyone,


Just so you know....we are very lucky to have Jerry on this thread...he's an 8802A owner but still enjoys helping people out on this thread....He can answer any questions on Marantz Pre-Pros from his vast experience of equipment he has owned over the years!
Aw, shucks, Larry.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13451 of 13459 Old 11-24-2016, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Ran into a little snafu this morning with audyssey on my 8801. All speakers being the same and same distance from each other. The center channel is a tad different being that it is built just a little bit different same drivers excetera. Audyssey found my Center Channel at 90 Hertz my surrounds at 60 hertz and my fronts at 80 Hertz. Audyssey also found my left surround at -12 decibels and my Center at -12 decibels.

I was under the assumption or thought I read somewhere that audyssey didn't apply filters or the correct corrections to speakers at -12 decibels. I also thought I read somewhere that it was okay to go up in crossover but not down in crossover? Meaning would it be ok to put the center Channel at 80 Hertz by going down from 90 Hertz? Thanks in advance
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20161124_111310_1480009610428.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	64.2 KB
ID:	1787945   Click image for larger version

Name:	20161124_111240_1480009724278.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	67.9 KB
ID:	1787953  
nezff is offline  
post #13452 of 13459 Old 11-24-2016, 02:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 14,264
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5919 Post(s)
Liked: 3316
Quote:
Originally Posted by nezff View Post
Ran into a little snafu this morning with audyssey on my 8801. All speakers being the same and same distance from each other. The center channel is a tad different being that it is built just a little bit different same drivers excetera. Audyssey found my Center Channel at 90 Hertz my surrounds at 60 hertz and my fronts at 80 Hertz. Audyssey also found my left surround at -12 decibels and my Center at -12 decibels.

I was under the assumption or thought I read somewhere that audyssey didn't apply filters or the correct corrections to speakers at -12 decibels. I also thought I read somewhere that it was okay to go up in crossover but not down in crossover? Meaning would it be ok to put the center Channel at 80 Hertz by going down from 90 Hertz? Thanks in advance
A trim of -12 indicates that you have very efficient speakers. Audyssey will attempt to set the trim according to the efficiency, but -12 is the AVR's limit. The problem is that you don't know if the correct trim is even lower than -12 because Audyssey has reached the limit. Others who encounter this situation use signal attenuators to provide Audyssey with more headroom to set the proper trim.

And regarding the crossovers, Audyssey determines the speaker's "F3 frequency", the point at which the frequency response drops by 3dB. It uses the F3 to recommend the crossover value, and does not correct below the F3. So, if you lower the crossover, there will be a gap in the room correction, and this is not recommended.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13453 of 13459 Old 11-24-2016, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
A trim of -12 indicates that you have very efficient speakers. Audyssey will attempt to set the trim according to the efficiency, but -12 is the AVR's limit. The problem is that you don't know if the correct trim is even lower than -12 because Audyssey has reached the limit. Others who encounter this situation use signal attenuators to provide Audyssey with more headroom to set the proper trim.

And regarding the crossovers, Audyssey determines the speaker's "F3 frequency", the point at which the frequency response drops by 3dB. It uses the F3 to recommend the crossover value, and does not correct below the F3. So, if you lower the crossover, there will be a gap in the room correction, and this is not recommended.
thanks.

I will definitely keep the center channel at 90hz. I do have some harrison labs -12db attenuators I bought a while back from parts express. As far as the trim level, Audyssey is still applying filters and correcting even though Im at the 12db?
nezff is offline  
post #13454 of 13459 Old 11-24-2016, 07:11 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 14,264
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5919 Post(s)
Liked: 3316
Quote:
Originally Posted by nezff View Post
thanks.

I will definitely keep the center channel at 90hz. I do have some harrison labs -12db attenuators I bought a while back from parts express. As far as the trim level, Audyssey is still applying filters and correcting even though Im at the 12db?
Yes. The filters should be fine. It is the trims that are suspect.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13455 of 13459 Old 11-25-2016, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nezff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cajun Country
Posts: 4,700
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 126 Post(s)
Liked: 56
quick question guys. Im searching for this now. What is the volume used if you want to use outside test tones from say a bluray and a SPL meter. Wasnt sure what 75db is on the 8801 display. Would 0db be reference and refer to 75db?

thanks.

Last edited by nezff; 11-25-2016 at 03:36 PM.
nezff is offline  
post #13456 of 13459 Old Today, 08:24 PM
Newbie
 
rockcod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, It's been awhile since I've calibrated my system or used it. For some reason, my 8801 got wiped out. I'm trying to run Audyssey in the setup. Got that finished and went in and manually changed the fronts/center/rears to small. I noticed all the speakers are all set to 40Hz with the sub being set at 80Hz. Should I change the crossover for the speakers to match the sub?

Marantz 8801, KEF r700/r600c/r300 and HSU sub, Parasound a31/a21
rockcod is online now  
post #13457 of 13459 Old Today, 08:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 14,264
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5919 Post(s)
Liked: 3316
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockcod View Post
Hi, It's been awhile since I've calibrated my system or used it. For some reason, my 8801 got wiped out. I'm trying to run Audyssey in the setup. Got that finished and went in and manually changed the fronts/center/rears to small. I noticed all the speakers are all set to 40Hz with the sub being set at 80Hz. Should I change the crossover for the speakers to match the sub?

Marantz 8801, KEF r700/r600c/r300 and HSU sub, Parasound a31/a21
There is no crossover for the sub. You may be looking at the HPF for the LFE channel, which is typically set to 120Hz. The crossovers for the mains normally would be set to a higher value than 40Hz. 80Hz is a typical setting, which lets your subs produce everything lower than 80Hz.
AustinJerry is online now  
post #13458 of 13459 Old Today, 09:20 PM
Newbie
 
rockcod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AustinJerry View Post
There is no crossover for the sub. You may be looking at the HPF for the LFE channel, which is typically set to 120Hz. The crossovers for the mains normally would be set to a higher value than 40Hz. 80Hz is a typical setting, which lets your subs produce everything lower than 80Hz.
Thanks for the reply. Yes, I'm looking at the LPF for LFE and that's set at 80Hz. So I should change the small speakers to 80Hz and the LPF for LFE to 120Hz?
rockcod is online now  
post #13459 of 13459 Old Today, 10:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
AustinJerry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 14,264
Mentioned: 143 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5919 Post(s)
Liked: 3316
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockcod View Post
Thanks for the reply. Yes, I'm looking at the LPF for LFE and that's set at 80Hz. So I should change the small speakers to 80Hz and the LPF for LFE to 120Hz?
That is exactly what I would do. The LFE spec is up to 120Hz. Don't know how yours was set down to 80Hz, but the impact would be minor anyway. And 80Hz is a common setting for the mains.
AustinJerry is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off