Marantz AV8801 Preamp/Processor Official Owner's thread - Page 82 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2431 of 11877 Old 01-31-2013, 04:11 PM
Member
 
satfam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by retate View Post

I should have the Marantz rack kit for my AV8801 tomorrow. Installation should occur this weekend.

Did the rack kit fit the 8801?
satfam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2432 of 11877 Old 01-31-2013, 06:15 PM
Member
 
cglin222's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookie b View Post

I'm using a stereo mini on a MC205. No problems. Not sure about the 8207, but with the traditional Mac meters you have to run a stereo to turn them on when using the trigger. Or maybe it was to be able to turn them off. Don't remember but I went through this when I first got the Mac. Just use stereo....

Hi, I understand that stereo mini on Mac is ok, but I mean on AV8801 it explictly said "do not use stereo mini on dc out", so you've used stereo mini connect on your dc out on av8801 and it's ok?

That's why I don't know if it's safe to plug stereo mini to av8801 or not.

Thanks
George
cglin222 is offline  
post #2433 of 11877 Old 01-31-2013, 06:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by cglin222 View Post

Hi, I understand that stereo mini on Mac is ok, but I mean on AV8801 it explictly said "do not use stereo mini on dc out", so you've used stereo mini connect on your dc out on av8801 and it's ok?

That's why I don't know if it's safe to plug stereo mini to av8801 or not.

Thanks
George

Yes. Nothing has blown up....

mookie b is offline  
post #2434 of 11877 Old 01-31-2013, 08:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
mookie b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 796
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I've had no audio several times when starting a blu ray movie. The trailers on the disc will have audio, but when the feature starts no audio. Turning on and off the processor brings audio back. It's happened 3 or 4 times to me. Anybody else had something like that? Player is an oppo 103 and I'm using the hdmi cable that came with the oppo.

mookie b is offline  
post #2435 of 11877 Old 01-31-2013, 08:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thrang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 4,129
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookie b View Post

I've had no audio several times when starting a blu ray movie. The trailers on the disc will have audio, but when the feature starts no audio. Turning on and off the processor brings audio back. It's happened 3 or 4 times to me. Anybody else had something like that? Player is an oppo 103 and I'm using the hdmi cable that came with the oppo.

It's your damn stereo mini cable!

I lost audio from a 103 about two thirds of the way through TDKR - I don't recall if I restarted the 8801 or stopped and started the movie again...maybe an oppo related issue?
thrang is offline  
post #2436 of 11877 Old 01-31-2013, 08:50 PM
Member
 
pwz414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I bought it. Thanks for the advice.
pwz414 is offline  
post #2437 of 11877 Old 01-31-2013, 10:07 PM
Member
 
retate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by satfam View Post

Did the rack kit fit the 8801?
The Marantz rack kit worked fine. I can post pictures if interested.

Bob
retate is offline  
post #2438 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 12:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfav View Post

Why would you plug a noisy brushless fan into the USB port that is on the unit? I would never power a fan off the unit. Regardless those fans radiate quite a bit of noise which is why they don't use fans on high-end processors.

If there are any negative effects from using the fan, then they're so minor that they're very hard to see and/or hear. It should be easy enough to test out.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #2439 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 02:20 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,160
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 1342
Quote:
Originally Posted by sfav View Post

Why would you plug a noisy brushless fan into the USB port that is on the unit? I would never power a fan off the unit. Regardless those fans radiate quite a bit of noise which is why they don't use fans on high-end processors.

There are a number of fans that folks have used that create no noticeable noise during use.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2440 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 02:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,160
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 1342
Quote:
Originally Posted by retate View Post

The Marantz rack kit worked fine. I can post pictures if interested.

Yes, please do. Also can you post the rack kit model #, price info and place of purchase?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2441 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 02:35 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,160
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 403 Post(s)
Liked: 1342
Quote:
Originally Posted by ufokillerz View Post

question to those.
i have a 9.2 setup for HT
i will have 2 separate speakers i plan to use for stereo music
How can i get this to work?

Other than perhaps using a speaker selector on the FL/FR pre-outs, another option you have would be to use the Zone 2/3 pre-outs with your Stereo speakers noting that neither HDMI nor optical/digital coax sources will pass to the Zone 2/3 pre-outs. Also note that the Denon 4520CI has a specific "9.1CH/2CH Front" mode that would satisfy this requirement and allow for any source to play through to the stereo speakers (HDMI or otherwise).

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/0_100#user_M

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #2442 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 05:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookie b View Post

I've had no audio several times when starting a blu ray movie. The trailers on the disc will have audio, but when the feature starts no audio. Turning on and off the processor brings audio back. It's happened 3 or 4 times to me. Anybody else had something like that? Player is an oppo 103 and I'm using the hdmi cable that came with the oppo.

Yes I have had this issue 3 or 4 times myself. The Integra with the same setup never did this. I have an Oppo 93. The other night I could never get it to sync up until I completely turned off both pieces of gear. There is definitely something not quite right with HDMI handshaking with the Marantz. At least for me. I am about to find enough annoying quirks with this unit to just go back to the Integra for a bit until they sort them out
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #2443 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 05:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by mookie b View Post

I've had no audio several times when starting a blu ray movie. The trailers on the disc will have audio, but when the feature starts no audio. Turning on and off the processor brings audio back. It's happened 3 or 4 times to me. Anybody else had something like that? Player is an oppo 103 and I'm using the hdmi cable that came with the oppo.

Yes I have had this issue 3 or 4 times myself. The Integra with the same setup never did this. I have an Oppo 93. The other night I could never get it to sync up until I completely turned off both pieces of gear. There is definitely something not quite right with HDMI handshaking with the Marantz. At least for me. I am about to find enough annoying quirks with this unit to just go back to the Integra for a bit until they sort them out
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #2444 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 05:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 179
I've also lost audio and have had to recycle the 8801.

Doesn't happen very often but does happen maybe once a week. That's with using 4 HDMI components.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #2445 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 216
I have never lost audio watching movies with my Oppo BDP-105 but most of the time I use analog.
Perhaps, that indicates that it is an HDMI handshaking issue.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #2446 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 06:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 216
RE: Sound Quality Changes with Video Processing Enabled

I spoke with Marantz technical support. They were very good.
I have to say I am impressed with their service.

I will be swapping my unit next week.
They can test mine and I can try another.

Not too many possibilities here.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #2447 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 06:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

I've also lost audio and have had to recycle the 8801.

Doesn't happen very often but does happen maybe once a week. That's with using 4 HDMI components.

Jimp, What are you thoughts on the BDP-105 / Marantz combo?

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #2448 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 06:25 AM
Member
 
Stewy04's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Alberta
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have had a similar issue, I was wanting to use my PS3 and I had audio but no video. I was able to shut off the Marantz, then turn it back on and all was good again

Stewy04 is offline  
post #2449 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 06:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hifiaudio2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,570
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 60
I haven't lost audio while the movie was playing. All of my issues were upon trying to start a new movie. Also one movie (the first one I played after getting the Marantz, Sherlock Holmes 2 I think) would not output sound at all unless I changed to LPCM. My wife wanted to get watching so I didn't troubleshoot much. After the movie was over I switched back to bitstream and got sound and it worked fine. So who knows....

But I have had to unplug the Marantz to get HDMI to sync.
hifiaudio2 is offline  
post #2450 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by hifiaudio2 View Post

I haven't lost audio while the movie was playing. All of my issues were upon trying to start a new movie. Also one movie (the first one I played after getting the Marantz, Sherlock Holmes 2 I think) would not output sound at all unless I changed to LPCM. My wife wanted to get watching so I didn't troubleshoot much. After the movie was over I switched back to bitstream and got sound and it worked fine. So who knows....

But I have had to unplug the Marantz to get HDMI to sync.

Do you mean unplug the HDMI from the Marantz?
If so, then it is definitely that squirrelly world of HDMI handshaking.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #2451 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 07:08 AM
Member
 
sfav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

There are a number of fans that folks have used that create no noticeable noise during use.[/quote

Let me define "noise" as adversely impacting sound and video quality. it does not meant you will hear some buzzing noise. II you undersand brushless motors that are run on AC then you wil know about the interference they can transmit. This can impact quality in many ways at varying times. A fan of this design is the worst thing for audio equipment. But if you think there is no noise form the fan because it can't be heard then go with that. You can't always hear AC noise but once it is filtered it can yield great improvements. If Brushless fans were such a great cooling idea they would be in all processors. At least don't electrically link it to the power supply of the unit via USB.
sfav is offline  
post #2452 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
audiofan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,994
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 397
I've lost audio a few times on music but it seems Oppo 105 related ( not 100% on this) the unit would recycle itself, This could be 8801 related as well it hasn't happened on movies but non the less its a bit strange at times. For the most part these are first run bugs that are to be expected and aren't that bad at all in the overall scheme of things and I'm sure both Oppo and Marantz will get them ironed out:)
audiofan1 is offline  
post #2453 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 12:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Kal Rubinson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: NYC + Connecticut
Posts: 28,403
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

I have never lost audio watching movies with my Oppo BDP-105 but most of the time I use analog.
Perhaps, that indicates that it is an HDMI handshaking issue.

- Rich

I use HDMI for movies with the 8801 and 103 and have not had any such audio interruptions.


Kal Rubinson

"Music in the Round"
Senior Contributing Editor, Stereophile
http://www.stereophile.com/category/music-round

Kal Rubinson is offline  
post #2454 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 12:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Jimp, What are you thoughts on the BDP-105 / Marantz combo?

- Rich

I don't know Rich.

I already have a BDP 95 and I'm not so sure that the 105 or for that matter the 103 is really an upgrade for me.

If anything, it sounds like in order to implement the headphone output that they had to remove some of the DACs on the 105 from the 2 channel. Although it sounds like a step backwards, I guess you'd have to A/B the two to hear the performance difference.

Glad to hear that Marantz is sending you another 8801. Hope this one works out well for you.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #2455 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 01:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

I don't know Rich.

I already have a BDP 95 and I'm not so sure that the 105 or for that matter the 103 is really an upgrade for me.

If anything, it sounds like in order to implement the headphone output that they had to remove some of the DACs on the 105 from the 2 channel. Although it sounds like a step backwards, I guess you'd have to A/B the two to hear the performance difference.

Glad to hear that Marantz is sending you another 8801. Hope this one works out well for you.

Thanks. Either way the replacement will let me know if that is the way it is and if not, Marantz can figure it out.

I read about that, but I think the 105 sounds fantastic.
The dedicated unblananced Stereo outs have been improved.

How do you like the 95 Marantz combo?

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #2456 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 01:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

...snip....

How do you like the 95 Marantz combo?

- Rich

Analog sounds pretty good and better than my current HDMI setup.

However, I discovered by accident that I might have an HDMI cable issue that would probably extend to the Oppo 95.

You know in theory the short 3' length of HDMI cables should all be the same but that presumes that they were terminated correctly. With 19 connection points at each end, I'm thinking that the cables I've been getting from Monoprice might have problems. In any case, I'm trying a Blue Jean HDMI cable and prefer it over the others. Now I'm in the process of replacing all myother HDMI cables and can speak better to your question in a few days when they arrive.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #2457 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 01:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 216
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

Analog sounds pretty good and better than my current HDMI setup.

However, I discovered by accident that I might have an HDMI cable issue that would probably extend to the Oppo 95.

You know in theory the short 3' length of HDMI cables should all be the same but that presumes that they were terminated correctly. With 19 connection points at each end, I'm thinking that the cables I've been getting from Monoprice might have problems. In any case, I'm trying a Blue Jean HDMI cable and prefer it over the others. Now I'm in the process of replacing all myother HDMI cables and can speak better to your question in a few days when they arrive.

I moved to Monoprice RedMere cables because they are so thin and remove all the stress from the connections.
I have had no problems with them.

You may want to give one a spin. Some can be ordered from Amazon but the minimum size is 6 feet.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #2458 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 02:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
JimP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Wetumpka, AL
Posts: 15,294
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 179
I would like to try the redmeres but they don't have 3' versions.

....and the reason for wanting 3' HDMI cables is to minimize the wiring mess behind my component cabinet.

Too bad no one has high quality HDMI cables in 1/2 foot increments. I hate it when a 2' cable is only an inch or two from reaching.

Samsung 64F8500, Panasonic 65VT50, Oppo 95, Tivo Roamio for OTA, Dish VIP722, Marantz AV8801 preamp, Rotel Amps, Atlantic Tech 8200 speakers, Seaton Submersive HP, Calman 5, Chromapure, Accupel DVG-5000, i1Display3pro, i1pro2, eecolor colorbox.
JimP is online now  
post #2459 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 02:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 48
For the thin ones we use/sell these:
http://www.snapav.com/p-1219-b6-hd-3.aspx Smallest is 0.7m

If you prefer "fancy" the AudioQuest line is a beautiful cable.
GetGray is offline  
post #2460 of 11877 Old 02-01-2013, 02:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
GetGray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Mid-South USA
Posts: 5,430
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 48
I just received my custom made MA rack shelf face plate today. MA doesn't have a AV8801 or 8077 yet, and I don't like their design anyway. Theirs looked better than the factory rack mounts, but it left the "curves" too far in, exposing too little of the face. You lost the beauty of the unit IMO.

For this model I've had our own part number created. I notched the hole at the top where the plastic is a little taller, I included the notch at the bottom to just clear the door when opening. Mine lets the unit stick out a little further and IMO, looks much better. I need to do one for the amp now, too. Here's some photos of mine and one of the MA stock rack mount for the amp with fatter faceplate sides.

My customers can contact me for a special deal on one, Others, happy to get you one, too.

The pictures don't do it justice, but the unit sticking out a little more looks way better I think.

Face view


View showing the unit extension


MA type smaller opening shown on a 8077 amp. (Making one to match the other one next)
GetGray is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Ken Kreisel Dxd 12012 Subwoofer , Marantz Av8801 , Receivers Amplifiers , Audyssey , Integra
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off