Marantz SR5007 Owner's Thread - Page 33 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 982 Old 08-13-2014, 11:07 PM
Member
 
Garet Jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Owner's manual p. 95
Thanks a lot. Got that part figured out. It turns out my back up failed so there was nothing to restore anyway.

Even with the reset and the reconfiguration, I still got the same shut down problem. I swear it is over heating, but can't imagine what changed to cause it now after 2 years of identical use.
Garet Jax is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 982 Old 08-14-2014, 12:29 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,085
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
^^
A slow flashing standby light (once every 2 sec)would mean there is a ventilation/overheating issue, while a faster flashing (twice every sec) more likely means amp failure in your case if loose wiring has been ruled out. Keep in mind if purchased from an authorized dealer, there is a 3 year warranty so suggest you call Marantz and send the unit in for warranty repair.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #963 of 982 Old 08-18-2014, 12:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have just updated the firmware on my SR5007 and also updated the ipad marantz app - Spotify is now well and truly broken and will only stream for a few seconds to a few minutes before stopping. I have a fibre web connection so bandwidth is not an issue, nothing else has changed. Has anyone got any ideas on how to resolve this issue?
Thanks.
Twistee is offline  
post #964 of 982 Old 08-18-2014, 04:49 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,085
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
^^
Try resetting the router and unplug the power to the 5007 for 10 minutes. What router is used?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #965 of 982 Old 08-18-2014, 10:23 AM
Member
 
Garet Jax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 68
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
A slow flashing standby light (once every 2 sec)would mean there is a ventilation/overheating issue, while a faster flashing (twice every sec) more likely means amp failure in your case if loose wiring has been ruled out. Keep in mind if purchased from an authorized dealer, there is a 3 year warranty so suggest you call Marantz and send the unit in for warranty repair.
First off dude - you rock. Thanks for all the helpful replies.

Secondly - it appears to be a heat ventilation issue. I installed a fan that blows from left to right just above the receiver. With this fan running, the receiver was able to run without issue for an entire day 10+ hours. Without the fan, I was lucky to get 30 mins before it reset itself. I read somewhere else that the speed of the blinking light indicated the type of issue, but could swear that it blinked for one second. I even recorded it for 5 seconds to try and get a reading - it blinked 4 times in that window.

I did buy it through an authorized dealer, but am holding off taking it in. I guess I will turn off the fan and see what happens.
Garet Jax is offline  
post #966 of 982 Old 08-18-2014, 01:08 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,085
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
^^
Better to have the fan pulling the hot air "away" from the unit not blowing dust over the top of it.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #967 of 982 Old 08-23-2014, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Try resetting the router and unplug the power to the 5007 for 10 minutes. What router is used?
Thanks, tried that and it appears to have solved the issue. The router is a FritBox , no apparent model number as it is generic for the ISP that supplied it.

Marantz SR5007
B&W 683 x 4
B&W ASW610 x 2
B&W HTM61
Panasonic PTAX100
Twistee is offline  
post #968 of 982 Old 08-31-2014, 04:53 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Turned out to be a bad switch that i had in the media room, removed that from the network and all is well again. The switch is small and hidden away so I forgot it was even even being used. Thanks again for pointing me in the right direction.

Marantz SR5007
B&W 683 x 4
B&W ASW610 x 2
B&W HTM61
Panasonic PTAX100
Twistee is offline  
post #969 of 982 Old 09-03-2014, 07:48 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

I've had the SR5007 for a little over a year and it's worked beautifully until today, when the subwoofer volume suddenly dropped to almost nothing. I hadn't changed any settings on the receiver recently.

I've tried changing input sources/devices, and the problem is consistent across all of them. I've also done a full reset of the receiver to no avail. The SW still makes plenty of noise when I plug/unplug its cable to the receiver, so it doesn't seem like it's an issue with the SW. If I turn the SW volume way up (on the receiver and the SW) then it starts to approach what it used to be but sounds very muddled. Any ideas?

Thanks!
dovemart is offline  
post #970 of 982 Old 09-04-2014, 11:29 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,085
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
^^
Check to make sure the surround mode didn't get changed to DIRECT.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #971 of 982 Old 09-11-2014, 12:47 PM
Newbie
 
cubabluete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you sure that your sub is ok,?
cubabluete is offline  
post #972 of 982 Old 10-12-2014, 08:33 PM
Member
 
tmasta346's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm having an issue where my HTPC and Xbox both will lose signal when routing them through the receiver. I can turn the receiver off and then receive signal (HDMI pass through is on), but then it goes off again. I can't figure out why it does this or when. It seems intermittent, not 100% of the time. It is currently hooked up to the network, and I think I have the most recent firmware.

Any ideas?

Marantz SR5007 | KEF R500 | Panasonic P50ST50
tmasta346 is offline  
post #973 of 982 Old 10-13-2014, 04:17 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,085
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
^^
Loose connection possibly? Have you tried each of the other HDMI inputs? Or replaced the HDMI cables?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #974 of 982 Old 10-13-2014, 04:46 PM
Member
 
tmasta346's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
^^
Loose connection possibly? Have you tried each of the other HDMI inputs? Or replaced the HDMI cables?
I have switched around HDMI cables in the past. It is not loose cables as it will work, stop, work, stop, etc, as long as I keep cycling on and off. Sound still transmits as well, video does not. I think it could have something to do with switching applications, but not positive.

Marantz SR5007 | KEF R500 | Panasonic P50ST50
tmasta346 is offline  
post #975 of 982 Old 10-24-2014, 07:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi guys,

I own a 5007 for less than a year and all of a sudden the USB port stopped working. When I turn it on and plug the same pendrive I was using before with no hassle, the display show wait... and then no CONNECTION. No matter what pendrive or usb device I plug into the usb port, I get the same result. I browsed quickly through the posts in this forum and could not find a similar issue. Did anyone experience that? I bought the receiver in the US but live abroad where there is no Marantz authorized dealer and cannot use warranty repair. Any help?
salobinha is offline  
post #976 of 982 Old 10-24-2014, 08:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,085
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
^^
First try unplugging the power cord for 10 minutes. If still no joy, reset the microprocessor (p. 154 Owner's manual).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #977 of 982 Old 10-26-2014, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
MisterL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by salobinha View Post
Hi guys,

I own a 5007 for less than a year and all of a sudden the USB port stopped working. When I turn it on and plug the same pendrive I was using before with no hassle, the display show wait... and then no CONNECTION. No matter what pendrive or usb device I plug into the usb port, I get the same result. I browsed quickly through the posts in this forum and could not find a similar issue. Did anyone experience that? I bought the receiver in the US but live abroad where there is no Marantz authorized dealer and cannot use warranty repair. Any help?
I have the same problem, following an update to the firmware. This was over a year ago since I had the problem. The traditional processor reset did not work. I will need to send it to Marantz. I'm just living with it for now, as I don't use the USB anymore.
MisterL is offline  
post #978 of 982 Old 11-04-2014, 02:18 PM
Newbie
 
adamhoud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a fairly basic question but am having a hard time finding a direct answer. It is my understand that my Panasonic ST30 Plasma has good enough video processing and I should be fine passing the HDMI direct through to the TV correct? I have turned the "Video Conversion" setting to off on my SR5007, is there anything else I should be setting? Also, would I get a better picture hooking up my peripherals straight to the TV itself?
adamhoud is offline  
post #979 of 982 Old 11-04-2014, 02:29 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,085
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
^^
Only you can decide if one configuration works better than another, however, it's the i/p Scaler setting that should be turned OFF as disabling the Video Conversion setting will also disable the GUI overlay. Connecting a source directly to the TV will generally not allow DD/DTS 5.1 to pass to the AVR, so not recommended unless you are using a dual HDMI BDP to pass video to the TV and audio to the AVR.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #980 of 982 Old 11-05-2014, 04:58 PM
Newbie
 
adamhoud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it generally a bad idea to pass a separate amplifier's power through the AVR for easy power on? Just wondering how best to hookup the Emotiva XPA-2 I have on order...would be nice to have everything come on just by turning on the TV/HDMI.
adamhoud is offline  
post #981 of 982 Old 11-05-2014, 05:10 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,085
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1796 Post(s)
Liked: 1704
^^
The AVR has a 12V trigger OUT that can be connected to the XPA-2 12V trigger IN.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #982 of 982 Old 11-08-2014, 04:28 AM
Member
 
Audio Adrenalin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Brisbane ,Queensland
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
so what is the general consensus among you guys who also own the 5007 is it worth messing around with a home theatre pc in terms of playing back dvds instead of using a good quality dvd player (im running an intel i3 3.4 2gig video card) or simply using them to play back u tube and other recorded material from the internet- also anyone got any good advice on smoothing u tube video playback? im running the latest version of adobe flash player but is there anything else that i could do?
Audio Adrenalin is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5007 Home Theater Av Receiver
Gear in this thread



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off