Marantz SR5007 Owner's Thread - Page 35 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1021 of 1041 Old 09-06-2015, 03:32 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,932
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by unfrostedpoptart View Post
Thanks for the reply. I understand the sub distance thing now but it's not a great way for them to display the value! As for the large/small, it seems like a huge waste. I guess the bass management in Audyssey XT just isn't smart/powerful enough to handle this correctly. My fronts are rated to -3db at 28Hz so they should be treated as additions subs which would help even out standing waves and sub response. Would higher end Audyssey (XT32/Pro) handle this better? What about Dirac?

David
They're rated at -3db at 28Hz in the mfr's test environment. In your room in their current location, they are reacting as the AVR has set them.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1022 of 1041 Old 09-06-2015, 05:31 PM
Newbie
 
unfrostedpoptart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
They're rated at -3db at 28Hz in the mfr's test environment. In your room in their current location, they are reacting as the AVR has set them.
I understand what you're getting at but it still seems very wrong. All the speakers are about equidistant and pointing at the listening position / mic. Audyssey sets all five speakers as small. Even stranger, it sets the small center for a crossover at 60Hz, the L1290s (8" dual woofers, surround) at 40Hz, the small L470s (rear) at 40Hz, but the giant L1590s (10" dual woofers, front) at 150Hz! The SVS sub is in the front, left corner of the room. FYI, all five non-subs are against the walls of a rectangular 16' wide by 13' deep room.

So you're telling me that Audyssey has determined that I could replace the giant L1590s with the bookshelf L470s and it would make no difference?
unfrostedpoptart is offline  
post #1023 of 1041 Old 10-23-2015, 07:56 AM
Newbie
 
cubabluete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Volumen shown on Samsung TV is 2 DB higher than on my sr5007. Any solutions to solve this. Thanks
cubabluete is offline  
post #1024 of 1041 Old 10-23-2015, 08:04 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,932
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubabluete View Post
My Volumen shown on Samsung TV is 2 DB higher than on my sr5007. Any solutions to solve this. Thanks
Is it the Marantz unit displaying the volume or the Samsung displaying the Marantz's volume as there are two volume displays possible?

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1025 of 1041 Old 10-23-2015, 08:14 AM
Newbie
 
cubabluete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsung is displaying the marantz volume, but 2 DB more than the display of the marantz
cubabluete is offline  
post #1026 of 1041 Old 10-24-2015, 07:21 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,932
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubabluete View Post
Samsung is displaying the marantz volume, but 2 DB more than the display of the marantz
Try setting Anynet+ on the Samsung to OFF.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1027 of 1041 Old 10-26-2015, 10:50 AM
Newbie
 
cubabluete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Try setting Anynet+ on the Samsung to OFF.
The Problem is, that avr is not connected in off Position.
No volume is displayed.
cubabluete is offline  
post #1028 of 1041 Old 10-26-2015, 11:30 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,932
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubabluete View Post
The Problem is, that avr is not connected in off Position.
No volume is displayed.
That tells you it's the Samsung that was actually displaying the volume and not the Marantz which is what I was asking originally. HDMI Control on the AVR shouldn't impact the passing of the volume level to the TV. Try powering off and unplugging your Marantz for 10 minutes and see if that doesn't resolve the issue.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1029 of 1041 Old 10-28-2015, 02:28 PM
Newbie
 
cubabluete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unplugging did not solve the problem.
cubabluete is offline  
post #1030 of 1041 Old 10-29-2015, 04:03 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,932
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubabluete View Post
Unplugging did not solve the problem.
Try powering off and unplugging the TV for 10 minutes as well. If still no joy, then you could try resetting the microprocessor on the 5007 (p. 154 Owner's manual), which will restore all settings to factory defaults, otherwise, just ignore the volume difference.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1031 of 1041 Old 11-09-2015, 03:14 PM
Member
 
g.j.martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 3
True Wattage

Hi guys, I have a Marantz SR5007. It is rated at 100w/per ch. Though I noticed on the website that it states under 2ch.? Does this mean when connected to 5.1 or 7.1 I get less wattage? Does anyone know the true number?

A little background: I had my Marantz connected to a 5.1 setup. Recently I connected two more speakers and now the system needs to be cranked up about 10 db's higher to achieve the same sound, not only that it seems distorted a bit.
g.j.martin is offline  
post #1032 of 1041 Old 11-09-2015, 03:17 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,932
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by g.j.martin View Post
Hi guys, I have a Marantz SR5007. It is rated at 100w/per ch. Though I noticed on the website that it states under 2ch.? Does this mean when connected to 5.1 or 7.1 I get less wattage? Does anyone know the true number?

A little background: I had my Marantz connected to a 5.1 setup. Recently I connected two more speakers and now the system needs to be cranked up about 10 db's higher to achieve the same sound, not only that it seems distorted a bit.
The AVR is rated at 100W into 2CH with about 80% of that into 5CH and 70% of that into 7CH.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1033 of 1041 Old 11-09-2015, 03:20 PM
Member
 
g.j.martin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
The AVR is rated at 100W into 2CH with about 80% of that into 5CH and 70% of that into 7CH.
Wow... So I just bought a pair of CM10 S2's I get delivered on Thursday.. Are the CM10s gonna laugh at my Marantz?!
g.j.martin is offline  
post #1034 of 1041 Old 11-09-2015, 03:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,932
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by g.j.martin View Post
Wow... So I just bought a pair of CM10 S2's I get delivered on Thursday.. Are the CM10s gonna laugh at my Marantz?!
Depends on the volume level you require ... at average volume levels of -20db, no laughing.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1035 of 1041 Old 11-16-2015, 09:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I was trying to add to the SR5007 some radios using the vTuner app. After all done manual said they would be accessed though the "radiomarantz.com" link but it´s not on the internet radio menu. Any idea on how to restore that (better without losing my personal setup)? Thanks in advance!
pedroaz is offline  
post #1036 of 1041 Old 11-16-2015, 12:58 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,932
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by pedroaz View Post
I was trying to add to the SR5007 some radios using the vTuner app. After all done manual said they would be accessed though the "radiomarantz.com" link but it´s not on the internet radio menu. Any idea on how to restore that (better without losing my personal setup)? Thanks in advance!
RadioMarantz.com would be accessed using a PC not the AVR. You can add more internet radio stations once you have a VTuner account created which would then display on your AVR.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1037 of 1041 Old 11-17-2015, 06:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
RadioMarantz.com would be accessed using a PC not the AVR. You can add more internet radio stations once you have a VTuner account created which would then display on your AVR.
Thanks for the prompt answer jdsmoothie!
On page 50 of the manual is said "radiomarantz.com displays internet radio stations added to favorites in vTuner". On my AVR it´s only showed "Recently Played" and "Search by Keyword", not all the options shown on that picture. As far I understood internet radios added to favorites in vTuner only can be played from that "radiomarantz.com" link.
pedroaz is offline  
post #1038 of 1041 Old 11-22-2015, 02:03 AM
Newbie
 
cubabluete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tone disappears

Another problem occured:
From time to time disappears the tone of my sr5007
Mostly when I switch between channels on TV.
Did anyone have the same Problem. Thanks

Last edited by cubabluete; 11-22-2015 at 02:15 AM.
cubabluete is offline  
post #1039 of 1041 Old 11-22-2015, 05:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,932
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by pedroaz View Post
Thanks for the prompt answer jdsmoothie!
On page 50 of the manual is said "radiomarantz.com displays internet radio stations added to favorites in vTuner". On my AVR it´s only showed "Recently Played" and "Search by Keyword", not all the options shown on that picture. As far I understood internet radios added to favorites in vTuner only can be played from that "radiomarantz.com" link.
No, rather you add them to your account using that link and then they are accessible via the AVR once added.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1040 of 1041 Old 11-22-2015, 05:45 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 59,932
Mentioned: 146 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8432 Post(s)
Liked: 3797
Quote:
Originally Posted by cubabluete View Post
Another problem occured:
From time to time disappears the tone of my sr5007
Mostly when I switch between channels on TV.
Did anyone have the same Problem. Thanks

Can you be more specific? If this is only occurring on some TV channels, the issue is most likely a result of the way that station is broadcasting the audio.

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #1041 of 1041 Old 12-15-2015, 10:28 AM
Newbie
 
cubabluete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
Can you be more specific? If this is only occurring on some TV channels, the issue is most likely a result of the way that station is broadcasting the audio.
The Problem occurs on different TV channels, not on Internet Radio or other sources.
And only from time to time,
Do you think the Receiver has a Problem.
cubabluete is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5007 Home Theater Av Receiver
Gear in this thread

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off