Marantz SR5007 Owner's Thread - Page 36 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 6Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1051 of 1069 Old 07-12-2016, 01:20 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Bandung, West Java - Indonesia
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to Jerry Prasetyo
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post
As you'll likely be purchasing from a dealer in your country ... best to check with the dealer.
oh ok thank you for your advise
about the strength of HDMI Module, is Marantz especially SR5007 is better or have better system architecture in PCB compare to other brand like Onkyo/Denon/Yamaha
My Onkyo pass away last month on HDMI module, so because the DTS/Dolby Chip is designed in one PCB of HDMI module so that receiver is useless even I try to use component connection...so sad
Jerry Prasetyo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1052 of 1069 Old 07-12-2016, 02:28 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,835
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15363 Post(s)
Liked: 7511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry Prasetyo View Post
oh ok thank you for your advise
about the strength of HDMI Module, is Marantz especially SR5007 is better or have better system architecture in PCB compare to other brand like Onkyo/Denon/Yamaha
My Onkyo pass away last month on HDMI module, so because the DTS/Dolby Chip is designed in one PCB of HDMI module so that receiver is useless even I try to use component connection...so sad
Yes, the SR5007 would be a good choice.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1053 of 1069 Old 09-19-2016, 10:04 AM
Senior Member
 
nadrojcote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Hoping someone can help me. I recently purchased a Vizio P65-C1. When streaming Netflix through the TV (connecting to SR5007 via HDMI ARC) the audio doesn't work unless I set the TV's output to PCM. I see that Marantz put out a notice that they were aware of the issue with Netflix and DD+. Which I assume they fix via an update. I have the latest update, but I can still only get 2 channel to work via PCM. If I try to stream DD+ I just get a clipping noise.

Is there anything that I can do about this?
nadrojcote is offline  
 
post #1054 of 1069 Old 10-21-2016, 05:43 AM
Member
 
badger98's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadrojcote View Post
Hoping someone can help me. I recently purchased a Vizio P65-C1. When streaming Netflix through the TV (connecting to SR5007 via HDMI ARC) the audio doesn't work unless I set the TV's output to PCM. I see that Marantz put out a notice that they were aware of the issue with Netflix and DD+. Which I assume they fix via an update. I have the latest update, but I can still only get 2 channel to work via PCM. If I try to stream DD+ I just get a clipping noise.

Is there anything that I can do about this?
I have exactly the same issue, also with a Vizio TV. Did you resolve this? Have you tried an optical out from the the TV? I was really hoping ARC would work right, but it appears the SR5007 is the culprit. The Vizio is capable of DD+ passthrough via optical, so that was my next step.

UPDATE:

I was able to get Dolby Digital to work on via optical out, but only after turning "HDMI Control" off. Dolby Digital, Bitstream and Auto settings for the audio all worked. The Marantz display showed "Dolby D", so I'm not certain whether it was decoding DD+ or just DD. Unfortunately, turning HDMI Control off eliminates a the other useful CEC features, so this is far less than ideal. Turning HDMI Control back on caused the Marantz to use the ARC audio again, and it was back to clipping for all audio but PCM.

Does anyone know of another way around this? Either to enable DD+ via ARC, or to let the Marantz use the optical audio input while HDMI Control is enabled?

Last edited by badger98; 10-21-2016 at 06:17 AM. Reason: Update
badger98 is offline  
post #1055 of 1069 Old 10-21-2016, 06:24 AM
Senior Member
 
nadrojcote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by badger98 View Post
I have exactly the same issue, also with a Vizio TV. Did you resolve this? Have you tried an optical out from the the TV? I was really hoping ARC would work right, but it appears the SR5007 is the culprit. The Vizio is capable of DD+ passthrough via optical, so that was my next step.

UPDATE:

I was able to get Dolby Digital to work on via optical out, but only after turning "HDMI Control" off. Dolby Digital, Bitstream and Auto settings for the audio all worked. The Marantz display showed "Dolby D", so I'm not certain whether it was decoding DD+ or just DD. Unfortunately, turning HDMI Control off eliminates a the other useful CEC features, so this is far less than ideal. Turning HDMI Control back on caused the Marantz to use the ARC audio again, and it was back to clipping for all audio but PCM.

Does anyone know of another way around this? Either to enable DD+ via ARC, or to let the Marantz use the optical audio input while HDMI Control is enabled?
I've been told it was because the vizio tv's add some sore of atmos metadata into the DD+ signal. Even though my marantz was supposed to be capable of DD+ over arc it wouldnt work. I also went to using optical. Until I got a smoking deal on an Onkyo tx-Nr646. Which works fine over ARC, I'm guessing because it supports atmos.
badger98 likes this.
nadrojcote is offline  
post #1056 of 1069 Old 10-21-2016, 06:58 AM
Member
 
badger98's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadrojcote View Post
I've been told it was because the vizio tv's add some sore of atmos metadata into the DD+ signal. Even though my marantz was supposed to be capable of DD+ over arc it wouldnt work. I also went to using optical. Until I got a smoking deal on an Onkyo tx-Nr646. Which works fine over ARC, I'm guessing because it supports atmos.
Out of curiousity, were you able to get the Vizio to output via optical while CEC was enabled? I saw an "ARC Only" option under CEC, but unfortunately no "Control Only", and the optical out appears to be disabled when CEC is on.
badger98 is offline  
post #1057 of 1069 Old 10-21-2016, 07:01 AM
Senior Member
 
nadrojcote's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 341
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 272 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by badger98 View Post
Out of curiousity, were you able to get the Vizio to output via optical while CEC was enabled? I saw an "ARC Only" option under CEC, but unfortunately no "Control Only", and the optical out appears to be disabled when CEC is on.
I believe it was. I cant recall for sure the settings I had, but I know I was able to control the amp volume with the tv remote still even though it was sending the signal through optical.

Sometimes arc and cec issues can be due to poor quality cables too.
nadrojcote is offline  
post #1058 of 1069 Old 10-21-2016, 12:25 PM
Member
 
badger98's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 18
While I would much prefer an ARC that was compatible with the SR5007, I think I found the best workaround. It occurred to me that the Vizio has only one HDMI input with ARC (HDMI-1), and the rest don't support it. The others, though, do support CEC.

So, I made HDMI-2 my input to the TV from the SR5007, ran the optical output from the TV back to the SR5007. With a non-ARC HDMI connection, it was then possible to configure the TV AUDIO input to use at OPT-1. There's really no benefit of running the SR5007 into HDMI-1 anyway. The receiver can't pass HDR, and the combo of TV/Receiver can't pass Dolby Digital over ARC. Minus the extra optical cable, there's really no compromise.

Just thought I'd share the trick in case it's useful to anyone.
badger98 is offline  
post #1059 of 1069 Old 07-06-2017, 03:36 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Noob Question

I have a Marantz SR5007 receiver with 5.1 setup. I was wondering if it would be possible to connect a compatible stereo amp to the FR FL pre-outs for dedicated stereo listening.

Also how would this affect when i would be watching a Blu-ray? I mean except for the FR FL channels coming via the Ext Amp will there be any changes or will it continue to work normally as it were connected to the FR FL internal amps.

Another question is does the signal flow from both the pre-outs AND the speaker terminals at the same time?

Thanking you all in advance

Keep up the good work

Vish
vishsp is offline  
post #1060 of 1069 Old 07-06-2017, 04:05 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,835
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15363 Post(s)
Liked: 7511
1. If you will be using the same FL/FR speakers for both movie and music listening, then you would connect the FL/FR speakers to the stereo amp which in turn would be connected to the FL/FR pre-outs (ie. the FL/FR speaker posts would not be used at all).
2. The AVR will continue to operate (ie. volume control) as if the speakers are connected to the FL/FR speaker posts.
3. Yes, the signal is going to both the speaker posts and FL/FR pre-outs at the same time such that you could use the speaker post connections in the main zone and connect the pre-outs and amp to power speakers in another room, all be it passing the same source and at the same volume as the main zone speakers.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1061 of 1069 Old 07-06-2017, 04:21 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Perfect jdsmoothie

One couldn't have explained it better.

Many thanks
vishsp is offline  
post #1062 of 1069 Old 07-07-2017, 08:09 PM
Member
 
jae44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I know our receiver is getting a little old now, but I still feel it is quite capable. I do wonder if I'm losing any quality by running my 4K UHD feed from an Oppo 203 through it though? Do you think the 4K pass through in this receiver is adequate enough to not degrade the signal from the Oppo?
jae44 is offline  
post #1063 of 1069 Old 07-07-2017, 10:23 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,835
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15363 Post(s)
Liked: 7511
Quote:
Originally Posted by jae44 View Post
I know our receiver is getting a little old now, but I still feel it is quite capable. I do wonder if I'm losing any quality by running my 4K UHD feed from an Oppo 203 through it though? Do you think the 4K pass through in this receiver is adequate enough to not degrade the signal from the Oppo?
The SR5007 won't be able to pass a 4k HDR video so you are losing video quality if the TV is HDR capable in which case you'll want to connect the Oppo to the 4k HDR TV with audio from the other HDMI cable to the SR5007.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1064 of 1069 Old 07-08-2017, 08:04 AM
Member
 
jae44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So the 5007 can't do HDR? Well that is good to know. The Sony XBR950B isn't HDR capable, so I guess it isn't the end of the world for me. Or do you think I should still go ahead and send the video signal straight o the tv?
jae44 is offline  
post #1065 of 1069 Old 07-09-2017, 02:40 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,835
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15363 Post(s)
Liked: 7511
Quote:
Originally Posted by jae44 View Post
So the 5007 can't do HDR? Well that is good to know. The Sony XBR950B isn't HDR capable, so I guess it isn't the end of the world for me. Or do you think I should still go ahead and send the video signal straight o the tv?
Nope. Not unless you're seeing better video quality by doing so.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1066 of 1069 Old 07-09-2017, 02:56 PM
Member
 
jae44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Smoothie, thanks for the help. Do you think the 5007 is still serviceable or is it already time to start planning my next upgrade?
jae44 is offline  
post #1067 of 1069 Old 07-09-2017, 06:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 71,835
Mentioned: 386 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15363 Post(s)
Liked: 7511
Quote:
Originally Posted by jae44 View Post
Smoothie, thanks for the help. Do you think the 5007 is still serviceable or is it already time to start planning my next upgrade?
Not likely serviceable at this point should something go wrong, although no reason to upgrade until something does go wrong.
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #1068 of 1069 Old 10-08-2017, 11:38 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

I am using my SR5007 as a receiver in my HTPC.
I have recently got a few issues with it, first the video stopped working at all, the tv or monitor show "no signal". So, I connected the TV and receiver separately to the nvidia card. It seems to work fine, but the HD audio (DTS HDMA, Dolby True HD) does not work at all. When I try to play it, it's just silence.

The regular DTS and DD work fine.

Also, the Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD are reported by receiver to OS.

Do you have any idea what could be the issue?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	marantz.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	117.8 KB
ID:	2294718  
Volodymyr Pavlenko is offline  
post #1069 of 1069 Old 10-08-2017, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Volodymyr Pavlenko View Post
Hi,

I am using my SR5007 as a receiver in my HTPC.
I have recently got a few issues with it, first the video stopped working at all, the tv or monitor show "no signal". So, I connected the TV and receiver separately to the nvidia card. It seems to work fine, but the HD audio (DTS HDMA, Dolby True HD) does not work at all. When I try to play it, it's just silence.

The regular DTS and DD work fine.

Also, the Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD are reported by receiver to OS.

Do you have any idea what could be the issue?
Somehow I cannot edit my previous post, but I found the source of the problem:

As I did not use the receiver screen, I tried to make it as small as possible (800x600), when I changed resolution to 1920x1080, the HD audio started working again.

Not sure if it's nvidia or marantz issue
Volodymyr Pavlenko is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5007 Home Theater Av Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off