Marantz SR5007 Owner's Thread - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 974 Old 10-22-2012, 12:41 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Correct. The "Sleep Timer" setting would be used to put the AVR in Standby from within 10-120 minutes of being set, whereas the "Auto Standby" would be used in the case of no activity or no signal being received after either 30 min or 60 min .... eg. you're listening to a CD while doing other things around the house and forget to turn the AVR off when you're done. The "Auto Standby" setting will step in and set the AVR to Standby for you after the CD has finished playing. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 974 Old 10-22-2012, 12:59 PM
Member
 
myriadcorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I cannot decide which AVR to buy. I am down to the Onkyo 818 and the Marantz 5007. I have a 5.1 setup and plan on using my Marantz MA700 mono blocks to power my speakers. Do I really need the additional specs of the 818? I assume all the Marantz AVR's use the same processor so by using my mono blocks I will get the most out of the cheapest option. Anyone use the 5007 as a pre amp processor instead of using its internal amp?

myriadcorp is offline  
post #93 of 974 Old 10-22-2012, 01:19 PM
 
BeeMan458's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Magalia, CA
Posts: 8,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by myriadcorp View Post

I cannot decide which AVR to buy. I am down to the Onkyo 818 and the Marantz 5007. I have a 5.1 setup and plan on using my Marantz MA700 mono blocks to power my speakers. Do I really need the additional specs of the 818? I assume all the Marantz AVR's use the same processor so by using my mono blocks I will get the most out of the cheapest option. Anyone use the 5007 as a pre amp processor instead of using its internal amp?

As you already know, the TX-818 cost's more than the SR5007 and you get Audyssey, MultEQ XT32 for the extra monies. One also gets a bit more amplification but not enough to make a big difference. Enough to increase headroom but not enough to make much of a sonic (dB) difference.

As to your question: "Do I really need the additional specs of the 818?; that's a yes/no type of answer.

If wanting MultEQ XT32, then yes, but if no, then no and the SR5007 will treat you just fine.

Currently I'm using our SR5007 as both pre-pro and amplifier with full intentions of adding an outboard Amp at a near term, later date. My understanding, the XT32 is well worth the extra monies one must spend to get.
BeeMan458 is offline  
post #94 of 974 Old 10-22-2012, 03:53 PM
Member
 
myriadcorp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeeMan458 View Post

As you already know, the TX-818 cost's more than the SR5007 and you get Audyssey, MultEQ XT32 for the extra monies. One also gets a bit more amplification but not enough to make a big difference. Enough to increase headroom but not enough to make much of a sonic (dB) difference.
As to your question: "Do I really need the additional specs of the 818?; that's a yes/no type of answer.
If wanting MultEQ XT32, then yes, but if no, then no and the SR5007 will treat you just fine.
Currently I'm using our SR5007 as both pre-pro and amplifier with full intentions of adding an outboard Amp at a near term, later date. My understanding, the XT32 is well worth the extra monies one must spend to get.

My mono block amps are rated at 200 watts each. I would not use the amp in either units. The only advantage of the 818 is xt32 and more input/outputs. It would cost $200 more. When you listen to music on your 5007 how does it sound? Do you listen to it in pure stereo or do you use multichannel processing?

myriadcorp is offline  
post #95 of 974 Old 10-22-2012, 04:06 PM
 
BeeMan458's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Magalia, CA
Posts: 8,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 801
Pretty much, I'm a 100% movies or cable channel content. I listen to music, uncompressed, through headphones.

I don't use direct and I do not listen in stereo. All listening is multichannel processing from either a Blu-ray player or a Toslink connection from the HD cable box.

-
BeeMan458 is offline  
post #96 of 974 Old 10-23-2012, 03:24 AM
Newbie
 
terry@mci.co.za's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Suggest you read the Audyssey 101/FAQ linked in my sig for more information. After running Audyssey, if the FL/FR speakers were set to LARGE, they should be reset to SMALL and their crossovers raised up to 80Hz. Doing this will allow the sub to be active with any stereo 2.0 frequencies < 80Hz.

Thanks for the response jdsmoothie, much appreciated. I will read your FAQ as well.
terry@mci.co.za is offline  
post #97 of 974 Old 10-23-2012, 03:55 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
The Audyssey 101/FAQ is authored by kbarnes701 and consists of the most asked questions in the Official Audyssey thread. It is a great place to go with Audyssey related questions.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #98 of 974 Old 10-23-2012, 08:19 AM
Newbie
 
terry@mci.co.za's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

The Audyssey 101/FAQ is authored by kbarnes701 and consists of the most asked questions in the Official Audyssey thread. It is a great place to go with Audyssey related questions.

Thanks for that pointer - lots of good info in that Audyssey FAQ. After reading through it, I re-ran the calibration/measurement process, and made the suggested changes with respect to setting large speakers to small, and adjusting the crossover for the main L/R speakers. The system sounds excellent, and the sub is being used when I play stereo sources. The FAQ does a much better job of explaining the process than the manual does. Thanks again!
terry@mci.co.za is offline  
post #99 of 974 Old 10-23-2012, 12:26 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pearland, Texas
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Marantz finally emailed me back today about the Auto Standby issue I've been having. Their recommendation is to reset the microprocessor. But the thing is, I just recently had my audio system professionally calibrated, and while the calibrator did provide me with all of the receiver settings and whatnot after he was finished, I'm not sure I want to mess with it.

This really isn't that big of a deal, but it'd be nice if it worked.

cuzzin is offline  
post #100 of 974 Old 10-23-2012, 12:45 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
The 5007 (unlike the 6007 and higher) is not able to use the Audyssey Pro Installer Kit so it's highly unlikely the "installer" was able to do any better of a job than you can yourself with a $20 camera tripod or mic boom stand. You may run into other times you'll have to reset the microprocessor, so might as well give it a go unless you simply want to let it go for now until another issue presents.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #101 of 974 Old 10-23-2012, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pearland, Texas
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Eh, I don't know, his process was a lot more sophisticated than mine was when I attempted to calibrate the speakers myself. He's also got excellent reviews and has a pretty good rep around here. I also don't think he is a fan of Audyssey in general.

cuzzin is offline  
post #102 of 974 Old 10-23-2012, 12:52 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Ah, so he used his own EQ software and then ran Audyssey on top of that, or he has Audyssey disabled all together? Also, are you talking audio and video calibration?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #103 of 974 Old 10-23-2012, 12:57 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pearland, Texas
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Yes, he did use his own software and he did disable all of Audyssey's settings. His name is Jeff Meier (goes by umr around here). Smart guy.

And he only performed an audio calibration this time around. I had him do a video calibration the last time he was here.

cuzzin is offline  
post #104 of 974 Old 10-23-2012, 01:03 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
You can save the configuration file to a PC using the Web Control feature (pp. 93-93), although make sure you get a valid SAVE file (see below for details), and then LOAD it back after the microprocessor reset.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/0_100#user_E10

Note however, that as fine a job as he may have done, unless you are using an external EQ box, the only EQ audio adjustments he could have made are in the Grapic EQ settings which are easy to adjust if necessary. Also note that you can run Audyssey on your own and compare it to see which you prefer as the Graphic EQ settings are independent from the Audyssey settings. More importantly though is the fact that you cannot take advantage of either Audyssey Dynamic EQ or Dynamic Volume without having run Audyssey and have it enabled. The bottom line is that AFAIK, you should be able to return to whatever settings he set on the AVR without too much trouble (unless he made some hidden menu adjustments that you don't have access to).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #105 of 974 Old 10-23-2012, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pearland, Texas
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

You can save the configuration file to a PC using the Web Control feature (pp. 93-93), although make sure you get a valid SAVE file (see below for details), and then LOAD it back after the microprocessor reset.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/0_100#user_E10

Thanks. If I get fed up enough with this feature not working, I might just give the reset a try.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Note however, that as fine a job as he may have done, unless you are using an external EQ box, the only EQ audio adjustments he could have made are in the Grapic EQ settings which are easy to adjust if necessary.
Yes, the calibrator gave me all of the receiver and manual EQ settings after he was done, so it shouldn't be too difficult to go through and put it all back the way he had it. I'm just being paranoid I guess about messing with the job.
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Also note that you can run Audyssey on your own and compare it to see which you prefer as the Graphic EQ settings are independent from the Audyssey settings. More importantly though is the fact that you cannot take advantage of either Audyssey Dynamic EQ or Dynamic Volume without having run Audyssey.
I actually did run Audyssey prior to the pro calibration, but it wasn't as technically accurate as Jeff's job. I definitely prefer the way it sounds right now, so the loss of those Audyssey features shouldn't be too big of a deal to me.

cuzzin is offline  
post #106 of 974 Old 10-23-2012, 04:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Trackman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Sacramento,Ca., usa
Posts: 1,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
You can re-create the manual eq, channel level and x-over settings Jeff does by turning off Audyssey and using the manual adjustment settings he gave you. It will take some time to type it all in though.

Jeff's settings beat the Audyssey/MCCAC/YPAO settings in most systems for a variety of reasons, as you experienced.

Go Duke !
Trackman is offline  
post #107 of 974 Old 10-24-2012, 01:42 PM
Newbie
 
CamdenYards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im hoping someone with expertise could help me out. I have a Marantz sr6007 receiver, with my PS3, Xbox360 and cable box all hooked into it, with one HDMI out going to my TV. As the Mrs. isn't always that found of having surround sound video game noise going off at night, I was wondering if it was possible to have music playing via airplay from my receiver while I am playing video games, or from any input really. Any insight would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
CamdenYards is offline  
post #108 of 974 Old 10-24-2012, 01:45 PM
Newbie
 
CamdenYards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry, i just scrolled back a few pages and saw this same question. Please ignore smile.gif
CamdenYards is offline  
post #109 of 974 Old 10-29-2012, 12:06 PM
Newbie
 
okster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to borrow this thread...I asked question elsewhere too...but maybe I get answer in here.

I am trying to decide between Marantz SR5007, Denon AVR-2113 and Denon AVR-2313. What are pros and cons of those? How Marantz stands in features etc against those Denons?
okster is offline  
post #110 of 974 Old 10-30-2012, 07:39 PM
Senior Member
 
psycholis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 220
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 21
The most obvious feature is full 7.1 pre amp outputs if you want to upgrade to an amplifier at some point. While not strictly the cheapest receiver with this feature, it does sway some buyers for that specific reason (myself included). Also apparently the Marantz has a separate amplifier built into the receiver that lowers distortion. That's just off the top of my head though.

Marantz SR-5007
Klipsch WF-35, WC-24, WB-14
SVS PB-2000
LG 55LN5600
Sony PS3, Xbox 360, Wii U
psycholis is offline  
post #111 of 974 Old 11-04-2012, 06:48 AM
Member
 
cssnms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
And the Marantz just looks nicer. biggrin.gif
cssnms is offline  
post #112 of 974 Old 11-06-2012, 08:56 PM
Newbie
 
ebdixson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Oxford, MI
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all - I am considering purchasing a Marantz SR5007 to go along with an all-Klipsch set-up. I have always used Denon receivers in the past, but I would really like to try something new, and the Marantz is really intriguing on many levels. I will be using the system about 50/50 with music/movies.

One of my favorite features with the Denon is the 5 (or 7) channel stereo setting that it has. I haven't been able to confirm if the 5007 has a similar setting to this. Can anyone with experience with this receiver and perhaps with Denon receivers as well shed any light on this? I still utilize direct stereo as well, but I have always been a big fan of the way Denon processes the multichannel stereo signal.
Thanks!
ebdixson is offline  
post #113 of 974 Old 11-07-2012, 04:28 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Yes. The former "5/7 CH Stereo" mode has since been renamed as "Multi CH Stereo" and is featured on the 5007 (p. 72 OM).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #114 of 974 Old 11-15-2012, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pearland, Texas
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 47
So I'm having a problem that may or may not be receiver-related. I am connecting my Toshiba laptop to my Marantz receiver via the AUX input (HDMI 6) on the front. I am getting video, but I am having problems getting audio through my HT speakers. This wasn't an issue with my old Onkyo receiver that I just upgraded from. I just connected the HDMI to the receiver, selected the HDMI output option in Playback, and it worked fine. But the audio isn't cooperating with this Marantz receiver. I don't think it's an issue with my laptop because this wasn't an issue until I got the Marantz. Any ideas on what the problem might be?

cuzzin is offline  
post #115 of 974 Old 11-16-2012, 03:18 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Not all HDMI inputs are created equal so try connecting to each of the rear HDMI inputs to see if one of them works. Otherwise, you can try the tips suggested in the post below ...

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1334369/the-official-denon-avr-xx12-model-owners-thread/0_100#user_L12

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #116 of 974 Old 11-16-2012, 03:42 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pearland, Texas
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Thanks for posting that link, jd. I updated the video driver as suggested and that fixed the audio issue. Only thing is now there is a small black border around the entire desktop when it's connected to the plasma. Don't know what that's about.

cuzzin is offline  
post #117 of 974 Old 11-16-2012, 05:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
XStanleyX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Seattle
Posts: 4,694
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 1262
Quote:
Originally Posted by cuzzin View Post

Thanks for posting that link, jd. I updated the video driver as suggested and that fixed the audio issue. Only thing is now there is a small black border around the entire desktop when it's connected to the plasma. Don't know what that's about.

I haven't used a nvidia card for awhile but somewhere in the setting look for underscan and overscan. You can adjust it to fit the screen.

Denon AVR4311CI
Carver Amazing Originals/ Carver Amazing Silvers
(2) Sonotube Subs with 18" Stereo Integrity D4 Drivers
Projector: BenQ W1070
Some audio history:
https://onedrive.live.com/?cid=222FF...3449%21138&v=3
XStanleyX is offline  
post #118 of 974 Old 11-16-2012, 08:15 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cuzzin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Pearland, Texas
Posts: 998
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Ah, thanks, Stan. After some Googling around I figured out how to adjust the overscan.Everything is looking good now. smile.gif

cuzzin is offline  
post #119 of 974 Old 11-17-2012, 10:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Nosferatu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Temporarily add me to the club. I have a week off starting today and perfect timing my old AV receiver decided to die on me...stupid HDMI bug on the Onkyo TX-NR807.

Anyways, I bought this on minimal research just because I don't want to be sitting for a week with no home theater. Anyways, impressed with the sound quality but a few things...

Headroom seems to be lower than with the Onkyo (135W X2ch vs 100W X2ch for this). Is it really going to be a deal breaker? I haven't had the opportunity to really make it sing but for example what played at -20dB on the Onkyo has to be up near -8dB on this Marantz. Should I just not worry about the number so much? I've for now turned the audio number off the TV screen and off on the AV's display to break my habit of focusing on it so much.

Secondly, I'm using a HTPC for a good chunk of it's usage and I have a little minor quirk. On the Onkyo I had it set that for when I played 2 channel music it played 2.1 with my speakers but when I played 2 channel video files it knew to switch to Dolby Pro Logic to make it 5.1. This receiver it either does one or the other permanently. What's up with that?

Lastly, Black Friday is around the corner so I'm gonna continue looking during my days off and so what that said, what are some other options around this price range? This receiver is powering Klipsch RB-61/RC-52 up front with Def Tech ProMonitor800 in the back. Sub is the Outlaw LFM-1 EX. Mostly HD movies via HTPC, sports watching on TV, some minor gaming here and there, and 2 channel music listening.


EDIT: One thing I have noticed so far is the headphone jack has some decent punch to it. Comparing it to my dedicated AMP/DAC it really makes my Denon AH-D7000 and Sennheiser HD600 sing. I recommend if anyone hasn't really played with the headphone out much you should...it's nice on my quick listen.

My Setup
Stage 1 - Enthusiasm
Stage 2 - Realism
Stage 3 - Obsession
Stage 4 - Acceptance

Which stage are you on?
Nosferatu is offline  
post #120 of 974 Old 11-17-2012, 10:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,287
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1411 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
1. If the AVR isn't clipping or shutting down, don't worry about the volume number.
2. 2.1 audio is no different than 2.1 audio w/ video as far as the AVR is concerned.
3. Also look at the Denon 2112CI and 2113CI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Marantz Sr5007 Home Theater Av Receiver
Gear in this thread - Sr5007 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off