denon avr 2809 hissing - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2012, 05:23 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ward1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i guys wondering if any one can help me im running a avr 2809 when using adussey dynamic i get hissing from all of my speakers in every input blue ray cd tv ect when i put manual on or any other mode it clears no hissing ive tryed everythink i can think of i realy want to upgrade my reciever to new denon but worryed it will sound the same my old denon 1910 had the same fault is it me doing somethink wrong or just unlucky with both recivers haveing a fault please can some one help
ward1983 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-04-2012, 05:25 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1962 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
More than likely it's your setup ... the wiring ... the speakers ..... as it's unlikely the issue would present in two different model AVRs.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 10-04-2012, 05:34 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ward1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
many thanks in geting back to me ive recently changed all my hdmi cables to chord and last week bought new denon blue ray 3d player also reinstalled everythink but still hissing im running russ andrews power leads to amp and player so everythink that could cause hissing should have gone im so stuck in what to do
ward1983 is offline  
Old 10-04-2012, 05:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by ward1983 View Post

many thanks in geting back to me ive recently changed all my hdmi cables to chord and last week bought new denon blue ray 3d player also reinstalled everythink but still hissing im running russ andrews power leads to amp and player so everythink that could cause hissing should have gone im so stuck in what to do

Sorry to ask the obvious, but are you experiencing "hiss" or "hum"? Sometimes these two can easily be confused. "Hiss" sounds like when the wind blows (Sssshhh...), "hum" is caused by a ground loop resulting in audible mains frequency (50 Hz in Eurpoe/ 60 Hz in N.America) through the speakers.

+1 to jd, I also do not think the problem is inside any of your AVRs. smile.gif
mogorf is online now  
Old 10-04-2012, 06:45 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ward1983's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
more of a hum now to think of it would you suggest to put a seperate ground loop to avr or seek some expert help or should i try puting old power lead back insted of russ andrews power lead thanks for the reply
ward1983 is offline  
Old 10-04-2012, 07:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,480
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 232 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Quote:
Originally Posted by ward1983 View Post

more of a hum now to think of it would you suggest to put a seperate ground loop to avr or seek some expert help or should i try puting old power lead back insted of russ andrews power lead thanks for the reply

Don't wanna seem pedantric, but the job here is not to "put a separate ground loop to avr", but to get rid of it. wink.gif

Try this please: disconnect the coax cable from the TV set-top-box and see (hear) if the hum goes away. In majority of the hum cases the ground loop builds up between mains ground and cable TV ground.

When I had my own ground loop problem in my system the solution was to buy a Belkin power strip with coax protection. Some thing (or similar) like this.

For more on the subject you may visit the Hum FAQ thread.
mogorf is online now  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off