Do most receivers not have built in ATSC tuners? Is there another device I need to output the coax signal to HDMI? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2012, 10:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
akevit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking at buying the Denon AVR-2312CI receiver. I'd like to plug all my devices into it and output all of the video to my TV using a single HDMI cable that needs to get wired in. From what I can see, this receiver doesn't mention having a built-in tuner, and I'd simply like to get my TV through OTA channels, I don't plan on getting Comcast/Dish TV right now.

So are there simple/cheap digital tuners out there that will convert the HDTV Antenna signal into HDMI out? I think what I'm looking for is an External TV Tuner, but before I spend too much time looking for one I want to make sure this is the right solution. For those of you without leased set top box from a Cable company, what do you use to convert the antenna signal? I also have a HDTV without a built-in tuner so I assume this solution would work for that one as well.

I've been searching for a bit and I don't think I know exactly what I need to be searching for. I'm an extreme lurker of these forums and haven't posted questions for what I haven't been able to figure out myself.

Thank you.
akevit is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 10-05-2012, 12:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
How can you have a tv without a tuner? You just have a monitor? I don't think I've ever heard of an AVR with a television tuner, though. What model is your "tv"?

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is online now  
Old 10-05-2012, 12:14 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
akevit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not all TVs have tuners built in, the one that doesn't is a Westinhouse

I think I might try this one http://www.amazon.com/Kworld-HDmi-External-Digital-Tuner/dp/B002RL8I2W
akevit is offline  
Old 10-05-2012, 12:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 7,359
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 516 Post(s)
Liked: 1031
Quote:
Originally Posted by akevit View Post

Not all TVs have tuners built in, the one that doesn't is a Westinhouse

I think I might try this one http://www.amazon.com/Kworld-HDmi-External-Digital-Tuner/dp/B002RL8I2W

It's not a tv without a tuner....what specific Westinghouse model do you have?

"I realize that somebody playing free music isn't as commercial as a hamburger stand. But is it because you can eat a hamburger and hold it in your hand and you can't do that with music? Is it too free to control?" - Don Van Vliet (aka Captain Beefheart) discussing commercial success in the music biz


lovinthehd is online now  
Old 10-05-2012, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
akevit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Excuse my phrasing, it's a 37" monitor without a TV tuner.
akevit is offline  
Old 10-05-2012, 10:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 93
As was said its a monitor if it does not have a tuner and you could use a TiVo if you want to pay a subscription which is cheap and allows recording to drive.
oztech is offline  
Old 10-05-2012, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
akevit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK I don't want to focus too much on this monitor, my real issue is wanting to plug coax into something that can output via HDMI to my receiver so that I don't need to run coax to my TV and digital out to my receiver. I believe the Tivo requires a monthly subscription to use the built-in tuner, I'm hoping there's something without a subscription.

Whatever solution I find for the above I plan on also using for my other display in a separate room.
akevit is offline  
Old 10-05-2012, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
oztech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 7,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 93
Quote:
Originally Posted by akevit View Post

OK I don't want to focus too much on this monitor, my real issue is wanting to plug coax into something that can output via HDMI to my receiver so that I don't need to run coax to my TV and digital out to my receiver. I believe the Tivo requires a monthly subscription to use the built-in tuner, I'm hoping there's something without a subscription.
Whatever solution I find for the above I plan on also using for my other display in a separate room.
http://www.solidsignal.com/pview.asp?p=cm-7001&d=Channel-Master-CM7001-ATSC%2FQAM-Digital-HD-Antenna-Tuner-CM-7001
oztech is offline  
Old 10-05-2012, 01:26 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
akevit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thank you, this has led me down a rabbit hole of other forums posts, leading me to the PHD-VRX and PHD-8RX devices. This is a bit more complicated than I had thought, but I'm headed in the right direction now.

Thanks.
akevit is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off