5.1 Need input for a amp and receiver - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 15 Old 10-07-2012, 06:29 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am new to this so bare with me. Here is what I am looking to run, its a decent size room but I would like to run a 5.1 system. I know RTIA9's need power, here is the set up.

1) 2 RTIA9's (front)
2) CSIA6 (center)
3) RTIA3's (rear)
4) SVS sub

I welcome the feedback before I pull the trigger. Looking for the best bang for the buck.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 15 Old 10-07-2012, 09:03 AM

Liked: 17
The Polks should be a nice speaker setup for you along with the SVS sub. What do you want to spend on a receiver? Do you have any brands you like or dislike?

The lazy man finds the easiest way ... Ben Franklin
post #3 of 15 Old 10-07-2012, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by vzphoneman View Post

The Polks should be a nice speaker setup for you along with the SVS sub. What do you want to spend on a receiver? Do you have any brands you like or dislike?

Well I guess what I need help with is, if I run a amp which from what i read i willl need I need to drive the RTI9's, I need a pre amp not a full blown receiver? The combo will be 60% music/40%movies. Also do you run the amp to all 5 speakers fronts/centers/rears? Thank you
post #4 of 15 Old 10-07-2012, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 233 Post(s)
Liked: 384
I've never auditioned the RTiA9 speakers, but Polk's Web site claims they have an efficiency rating of 90dB. That's relatively high, meaning they don't need as powerful a receiver as most speakers, which often are in the mid 80s. Unless you have a large, highly sound absorbent room, just about any modern receiver should be able to drive them to decent sound levels.