Marantz SR6007 AV Receiver Owner's Thread - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2014, 02:02 PM
Member
 
aschnare's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

I've had this receiver for a little over a year now and it's been great. I've been using the 7.1 ch inputs for the sound on my Bluray player. However, within the past couple of weeks, the volume on the outputs has dropped significantly. I used to watch movies on the volume level 60, and now to get the same output, I'm turning it up to 73ish.

I'm wondering if anyone here has had this happen, or knows what the issue is.

Thanks
aschnare is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-04-2014, 07:17 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
Could be an issue with the power supply. Try resetting the microprocessor and see if that resolves the issue.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-06-2014, 06:56 AM
Member
 
aschnare's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tried it, and still have the same issue. Thanks for the idea though.

Also, now I'm being paranoid and trying every other device and input, and I've noticed the phono input seems a little low, especially compared to the cd input.. However, it's been a while since I listened to vinyl and can't remember if that should be the case or not.
aschnare is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 01:36 PM
Newbie
 
RoJoNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi - Wondering if anyone can help me with my SR6007 hook up.

 

Bought a Rotel 1582 power amp to help power a pair of B&W CM9s and have it hooked up to my SR6007, which will be my pre-amp. I have the Rotel hooked up via the FL/FR preouts, and the CM9s hooked up direct to the Rotel. I can't get the Marantz to push a signal, nor does it detect the Front speakers (manual or audessey modes). Tried Zone 2 preouts w no luck too. Any idea how I get the Marantz to push a signal to the rotel?


Appreciate any help

RoJoNY is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 03:56 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
Is the Rotel plugged in and powered on? Is the volume turned up to at least 50%? Have you tried connecting the Rotel to other pre-outs? Have you tried resetting the AVR's microprocessor?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 04:20 PM
Newbie
 
RoJoNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks JDSmoothie. Yes on the power and +50%. Will try the other preouts and the AVR reset. Thanks

RoJoNY is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 04:22 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
All points lead to a dead Rotel. frown.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 04:43 PM
Newbie
 
RoJoNY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks - so it should just autodetect the rotel on the preouts? Sending the preamped signal to the Rotel automatically?

RoJoNY is offline  
Old 03-08-2014, 05:14 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
There is no auto detect .... rather the pre-outs are always hot. If you have a 5.1 signal playing using a 5.1 surround mode and none of the pre-outs seems to do anything, more than likely the Rotel is dead. Do you have another AVR you can test or are you able to connect a source directly to the Rotel?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-09-2014, 05:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 82
My bro-in-law bought this model AVR new off of Ebay. He has tried everything to get a picture thru it to his PJ.. We have ruled out the pj, stbx and PS3. is this a candidate for a reset? thanks in advance..

taxman48 is offline  
Old 03-10-2014, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mike171979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Chino Hills
Posts: 1,415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Just a quick update, Marantz's customer service was great. They accepted the return and will be sending me another unit, they were out of the 6007 so they will be sending a 6008. I would have greatly preferred that my 6007 functioned correctly and I wouldn't have to be dealing with any of this, however getting a 6008 definitely helps make it bearable.
mike171979 is offline  
Old 03-11-2014, 05:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post

My bro-in-law bought this model AVR new off of Ebay. He has tried everything to get a picture thru it to his PJ.. We have ruled out the pj, stbx and PS3. is this a candidate for a reset? thanks in advance..

If it works with a shorter HDMI cable, he'll want to consider upgrading to a Monoprice Redmere cable or adding an HDMI extender, both available from forum sponsor Monoprice.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-11-2014, 05:59 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike171979 View Post

Just a quick update, Marantz's customer service was great. They accepted the return and will be sending me another unit, they were out of the 6007 so they will be sending a 6008. I would have greatly preferred that my 6007 functioned correctly and I wouldn't have to be dealing with any of this, however getting a 6008 definitely helps make it bearable.

In addition to picking up a new Zone 2 HDMI monitor output on the SR6008, it also features HDMI/optical/digital coax PCM 2.0 to an independent Zone 2 source as well. See you in the 6008 thread. smile.gif

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1482248/the-official-marantz-sr5008-sr6008-and-sr7008-av-receiver-owners-thread/0_100

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 03-11-2014, 12:29 PM
Newbie
 
vietstylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone! Does anyone have their 6007 hooked up to an Emotiva XPA-3 or 5? Can you notice a big difference? I'm pretty content with how my setup currently sounds(within my budget) but always left wondering if it could sound better. The emotiva is currently in my budget but wondering if its worth the 800usd price tag. Any input would be greatly appreciated. I am currently running an Aperion Audio Verus Forte 5.1 setup. I'm 80% movies 20% music. Thanks.
vietstylin is offline  
Old 03-13-2014, 01:12 PM
Member
 
mikeveredas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 20

I just set up my XPA-5 and using my 6007 as a pre/pro. The difference at low volume is nothing. But at high volume, it is significant. "Sympathy for the Devil" by the stones really woke up and I am so happy with the sound. Id' recommend it!


On a long enough time line the survival rate for everyone drops to zero
Panasonic 65ZT60 (STOLEN), Samsung f8500 64"
Marantz 7008 as pre/pro
(STOLEN)Emotiva XPA-5 gen 2
(STOLEN)Axiom M22, M2, SVS PB12NSDx2, Definitive Technology Mythos 3 (STOLEN)
PS3, Xfinity X2 (beta)Working to replace stolen items...
mikeveredas is offline  
Old 03-18-2014, 10:53 AM
Newbie
 
vietstylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for input. Too bad I'll never know how the emotiva will sound. I just picked up a lexicon 312 off of craigslist. BTW, before I step into the world of separates, this is the best receiver I have ever own. Quite a steal at 699.00
vietstylin is offline  
Old 03-24-2014, 04:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
g12345567's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does anybody have the release notes / whats new information for the latest firmware update I just installed on my Australian region sr6007 receiver.

New Firmware Version: 1490-3169-0000-8440-2097

I'd also like to know where I can find this information. So that I can easily find out whats new in future updates as they become available.
g12345567 is offline  
Old 03-24-2014, 04:37 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
^^
This is a special update to resolve an issue with Netflix DD+ audio. D&M does not publish this information; however, highly unlikely there will be any further updates for this now 2 year old model. I will post the information in this thread when able. In the meantime, you can review the changelog for the Denon sister model 2313CI.

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1409431/the-official-denon-avr-xx13-model-owners-thread-faq/0_100#post_21995263

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 04-13-2014, 01:55 PM
Member
 
TheNit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When using Zone 2 the manual states that you can only have analog input sources. Does this apply to the Zone 2 speaker terminals as well? I'm assuming that it only applies to signals being sent out through the pre-out section but I need to know for any new analog connections that I would require for my CD and BD players.
TheNit is offline  
Old 04-13-2014, 02:45 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
^^
It applies to Zone 2 period ... doesn't matter if using the speaker posts or pre-outs. Also on board sources (eg. network, Pandora, Internet radio, Tuner, etc.) and USB will also pass to Zone 2.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 04-13-2014, 06:14 PM
Member
 
TheNit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

^^
It applies to Zone 2 period ... doesn't matter if using the speaker posts or pre-outs. Also on board sources (eg. network, Pandora, Internet radio, Tuner, etc.) and USB will also pass to Zone 2.

I actually have a SR6004 but I'm assuming that it is the same for either. I figured I would get a quicker response on this thread. I have an OPPO BDP-83 which will send an LPCM signal through the digital coax and optical connection. Would this work? I read in another place that you said it had something to do with the AV not being able to convert to PCM for Zone 2 (zone A in my case) so would this get around that issue?

I already have my OPPO connected using 7.1 analog (HDMI direct to TV) so I might not have any digital connection between the two because most stereo listening would be done in the other room with 2 speakers and a sub.(using high-level speaker outputs).
TheNit is offline  
Old 04-13-2014, 07:07 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
^^
Not necessarily the same, but in this case it is .. analog only as well to Zone A.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 04-18-2014, 11:47 AM
Member
 
fastzipperus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Can someone please help me with this error. I can't find any documentation on what it means. Anyone know? Thanks
fastzipperus is offline  
Old 04-18-2014, 11:52 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
^^
Perhaps a failure to connect to the router/modem? What issue presents when it is displayed?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 04-29-2014, 12:39 PM
Newbie
 
jim pittsburgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I would like to utilize a separate amplifier for the front left/ front right from my SR6007. When I attached the amp to the FR/FL preouts on the receiver.... they played just fine through those speakers and the sub, but nothing through the other speakers connected to the receiver Ctn/SR/SL/SRR/SRRL...I tried all other settings but nothing changed.. I found a reference in the manual to "speaker B" but no explanation of what it is or does..... was wondering if anyone else has done this, and how?  I was planning on adding an amp for the center channel too.... 

 

Thanks for your assistance.

jim pittsburgh is offline  
Old 04-29-2014, 02:11 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
^^
Moving from the speaker posts to the pre-outs should not have caused a problem with the other speaker configuration. Run Audyssey again which is required to account for the different gain structure of the external amp.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 05-01-2014, 05:59 AM
Newbie
 
jim pittsburgh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, rebooted receiver and ran set up again... Problem solved ! I'm rolling through a couple of vintage amps to power a pair of rare and power hungry HK Fifty ( not HK50 ) nice mixing vintage w new/ modern in my systems
jim pittsburgh is offline  
Old 06-01-2014, 08:34 AM
Member
 
Isriam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi, i have had this receiver for a long time and its been great. one issue i need help with is i am using zone 2 as outdoor speakers for a pool area, but need to adjust the balance some due to placement of the speakers. can you adjust zone 2 left/right balance or fade? thanks.
Isriam is offline  
Old 06-01-2014, 08:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,444
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1963 Post(s)
Liked: 1745
^^
You can Independently adjust the L/R channel volume levels (p. 135 OM).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 06-01-2014, 08:48 AM
Member
 
Isriam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thank you, i searched the whole owners manual and couldn't find anything regarding zone 2 control!
Isriam is offline  
 

Tags
683 , b&w , Emotiva , Marantz , Marantz Sr6007 Home Theater Av Receiver , xpa5
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off