Receiver Keeps Changing Input Channels Automatically, Please Help!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 10-18-2012, 01:46 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ATG1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I'm having an issue with my Yamaha YHT-497BL Receiver, whenever I turn on the TV the receiver will switch from the HDMI input it is on to AV1 for some crazy reason. My cable box and PS3 are plugged into the receiver and then the receiver is connected to the TV by one HDMI cable, so the only thing actually plugged into the TV is the receiver. Nothing is plugged into AV1 on the receiver so I have no clue why it would be changing channels?!

When I turn on both the TV and the receiver everything starts perfectly fine but about 5 seconds later the receiver will just switch inputs. The TV is brand new but I've actually had 2 different sizes of the same TV (a 46" and a 55") and it did this on both TV's so this has led me to believe that it's a problem with the receiver. It's not a huge problem, just requires that I switch the input back to HDMI1 every time I turn on the TV, but it's certainly an annoyance that I would like to not have to deal with if at all possible.

If anyone here has any troubleshooting tips on how I may be able to correct this please let me know! Thanks in advance for you help!
ATG1469 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 10-18-2012, 02:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Turn off HDMI CEC (called HDMI Control and various other names) in your receiver and/or TV.

It's likely your TV is using CEC to tell the receiver to switch to the input assigned to the TV when it turns on.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 10-18-2012, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ATG1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you have any idea how I would go about doing this? Any idea where those settings may be found? Also, what does CEC stand for exactly?!
ATG1469 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 10-18-2012, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Look for HDMI Control in your Yahama receiver's manual. It's probably called something different in your TV's manual, each manufacturer has a different name for this feature.

CEC stands for "Consumer Electronics Control".
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 10-18-2012, 03:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ATG1469's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome! Thanks for the advice man, I'll let you know how it goes!
ATG1469 is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 10-19-2012, 07:02 AM
 
cybrsage's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 8,074
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 150
I looked through the owners manual and could not find anything specific about HDMI-CEC. You will have to turn it off in your TV instead (turning off either side disables the entire thing). What brand and model is your TV?
cybrsage is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off