Bringing in a 240VAC line... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 10-26-2012, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ECinOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,
It was recommended to me to bring a 240VAC line into my A/V equipment room, which will house an upscale array of amps, a/v components, etc. Being we live in the states, most equipment runs on 120VAC. I am going to purchase a power conditioner, some of which do input at 240VAC and output 120VAC. Is bringing in a 240 line a good idea? I was told 240VAC is cleaner. Thanks!
ECinOC is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 10-26-2012, 11:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

recommended by who???

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 10-26-2012, 12:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
PeterK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: The very wet, humid, muggy South !!
Posts: 535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Are you thinking of installing a sub panel with breakers for the local circuit needs? That is the only reason I would run 240 to a room. I believe most people just run multiple 120 volt 20 amp circuits.
PeterK is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 10-26-2012, 01:27 PM
Senior Member
 
BillW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Arlington,VA
Posts: 405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A 240 volt line is no cleaner than a 120 volt line, as long as it is a dedicated circuit with it's own neutral.
BillW is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 10-26-2012, 01:56 PM
 
BeeMan458's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Magalia, CA
Posts: 8,374
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 801
Quote:
Originally Posted by ECinOC View Post

Hi All,
It was recommended to me to bring a 240VAC line into my A/V equipment room, which will house an upscale array of amps, a/v components, etc. Being we live in the states, most equipment runs on 120VAC. I am going to purchase a power conditioner, some of which do input at 240VAC and output 120VAC. Is bringing in a 240 line a good idea? I was told 240VAC is cleaner. Thanks!

FWIW, all 240V is, is one black and one red, both consisting of 120V and a common, white wire, return.

If one were to look at the service pole, they'd see three wires coming into the home, two hots and a neutral return.
BeeMan458 is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 10-29-2012, 09:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ECinOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, several manufacturers make A/V power equipment with 240 in and 120 outs. Perhaps there is more to this than might be immediately apparent? I wonder what the "professional" theater builders that have actually done this and frequent this site would say.
ECinOC is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 10-30-2012, 05:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

yes, they do...

but it's not due to what you think...

hint: not everywhere in the world is 120v...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-01-2012, 01:32 PM
Senior Member
 
homeav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The only real advantage of 240 would be for high current devices, where 240 would yield lower currents.

There is nothing cleaner about it, it's the same electricity that would be fed to any 120v circuit.
homeav is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off