Want to buy a Denon POA-A1HD. Where to find it in Europe? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 10-29-2012, 12:30 PM - Thread Starter
 
MV_Cinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone,

I own a Pioneer Susano SC-LX90 that i use to Amp my Klipsch Reference Speakers.
Now i am looking for more power, and i am interested in buying a Denon POA-A1HD to BI-AMP the front channels only.

I am in Europe and in Portugal the Dealer says it's not available anymore. Anyone can help me find one of these in "Premium Silver" color Brand New?

Tank You All
MV_Cinema is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 10-29-2012, 01:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV_Cinema View Post

Hi Everyone,
I own a Pioneer Susano SC-LX90 that i use to Amp my Klipsch Reference Speakers.
Now i am looking for more power, and i am interested in buying a Denon POA-A1HD to BI-AMP the front channels only.
I am in Europe and in Portugal the Dealer says it's not available anymore. Anyone can help me find one of these in "Premium Silver" color Brand New?
Tank You All

All euro versions are Premium Silver, you will not find a different color for 220volts.

Best guess is to call Denon A1 dealers and see if they still have them in their demo rooms and want to sell them for a sweet price.

Daniel.

PS: Its a pity they are not sold more since i would love to pick up a second one at some point smile.gif

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 10-29-2012, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
 
MV_Cinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't understnad Denon...their Premium line is out of production...

Yes i like the POA, but a Demo one....i don't think so...i prefer a new one.

Demo units always come with marks and scratches....

And i only need the POA, not the AVC....for Processor i don't trade my SC-LX90 for anything smile.gif
MV_Cinema is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 10-29-2012, 02:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
step back and take a deep breath...

passively bi-amping ia not going to give you any more power to the speakers...

the susano is very robust... in order to make any significant difference, you would need to start with 400wpc... think "big monoblocks"... and even 400 wpcwould only get you another 3db...


those speakers are VERY efficient... i find it very unlikely that you need "more power"... very unlikely...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 10-29-2012, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

step back and take a deep breath...
passively bi-amping ia not going to give you any more power to the speakers...
the susano is very robust... in order to make any significant difference, you would need to start with 400wpc... think "big monoblocks"... and even 400 wpcwould only get you another 3db...
those speakers are VERY efficient... i find it very unlikely that you need "more power"... very unlikely...

He could also use the POA to create 5 bridged channels. I get your point just wanted to point out there is a way to get more power about 330watts/8ohms and 500watts in 4ohms with peaks higher given the bridge nature.

As a owner of a POA i do agree that there are many more amps that can do what the POA can i would replace the pre/pro first or add nice cheaper amps

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 10-29-2012, 02:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV_Cinema View Post

I don't understnad Denon...their Premium line is out of production...
Yes i like the POA, but a Demo one....i don't think so...i prefer a new one.
Demo units always come with marks and scratches....
And i only need the POA, not the AVC....for Processor i don't trade my SC-LX90 for anything smile.gif

Denon will stop making highend (like the A1 line). The current A1 line was released in 2008 and about to be end of line. Within D&M denon will be lowend and midrange and marantz more highend. I just wanted to help and point you where you might still find poa's if you really want one.

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 10-29-2012, 02:54 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
^^^^

true...

that being said, it's unlikely he's using very much power to begin with... wink.gif

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 10-29-2012, 03:32 PM - Thread Starter
 
MV_Cinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielo View Post

He could also use the POA to create 5 bridged channels. I get your point just wanted to point out there is a way to get more power about 330watts/8ohms and 500watts in 4ohms with peaks higher given the bridge nature.
As a owner of a POA i do agree that there are many more amps that can do what the POA can i would replace the pre/pro first or add nice cheaper amps
Daniel.

Replace a Susano? No no no... The AVC cannot perform as the Susano, this is a BEAST! I've seen them side by side, and the AVC with the POA did not perform with so much difference, in fact the Pioneer sound better in my opinion, at least with my Klipsch, it's a faster machine.

But anyway i like the POA sound and a want it for the front channels, but taking ccotenj opinion i see his point and maybe i will wait a bit and put some powerful Monoblocks in the future or if i find a POA in a price i agree i will buy it.
MV_Cinema is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 10-29-2012, 04:06 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
^^^

if you really saw my point, you'd realize that the susano will deliver more power than you could ever possibly use with those speakers...

i owned one... smile.gif i'm well aware of what it is capable of...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 10-29-2012, 04:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV_Cinema View Post

Replace a Susano? No no no... The AVC cannot perform as the Susano, this is a BEAST! I've seen them side by side, and the AVC with the POA did not perform with so much difference, in fact the Pioneer sound better in my opinion, at least with my Klipsch, it's a faster machine.
But anyway i like the POA sound and a want it for the front channels, but taking ccotenj opinion i see his point and maybe i will wait a bit and put some powerful Monoblocks in the future or if i find a POA in a price i agree i will buy it.

The avc is not a avp never was.

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 10-30-2012, 01:44 PM - Thread Starter
 
MV_Cinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes you are right, it's the AVP, not AVC. But you know what i mean...smile.gif

I will keep the SC-LX90 alone right now and in a near future if i feel the need i will buy some High End monoblocks.
MV_Cinema is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 11-01-2012, 02:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
So i guess you found a POA to buy. (edit: seems a few posts are removed but ill leave this post anywhere for the nice pictures smile.gif ).

We still think its overkill for these speakers probably and the POA is not the cheapest way to get clean power to these 3 fronts (and i say this as a long time POA owner) but if you want to go for overkill why not BI-AMP and Bridge the fronts (seems the speakers can handle this but check to make sure). for 600watts per speaker with 1200watt peaks smile.gif

so

2 amps bridged for LEFT high
2 amps bridged for LEFT low

2 amp bridges for the center

2 amps bridged for RIGHT high
2 amps bridged for RIGHT low

making 10 total, not sure if the pre/pro allows this like the avp does since that would be easiest.

Example from a avp/poa owner :

IMG_0319.jpg

IMG_0321.jpg

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 11-01-2012, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
erwinfrombelgium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Flanders, Belgium
Posts: 660
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 123 Post(s)
Liked: 64
Why not have a go at the Emotiva XPR-5? It has a 3,300 VA transformer, sports 180,000 microFarad storage reserve and does 5 x 400 Watt / 8 ohm with ease. All this for about 2,300 euros including shipping and duties. If you don't like it, you will have no trouble selling it on (or you can send it back).

I bought one in anticipation of our HT build and tried it with both my Jamo R909, which are good for peaks up to 800 Watts / 4 ohm. Perfect match.

It has a switch on the back for 230 Volt. 16A dedicated is recommended with 230Volt. It comes with a thick USA powercord. I simply replaced the plug for a pro-grade Belgian plug.

http://shop.emotiva.com/collections/amplifiers/products/xpr5

Building a HT with 7.2.4 layout and ◤SEOS-24◥ LCR.
erwinfrombelgium is online now  
post #14 of 22 Old 11-01-2012, 08:41 AM
Super Moderator
 
Kysersose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 5,507
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Comments deleted. Next one to hurl insults will be removed.

"Good... Bad... I'm the guy with the gun."

Ash - Army of Darkness
Kysersose is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 11-01-2012, 09:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
i would suggest, if you still think you need "more power", that you choose "pro audio" equipment to get that power, rather than "boutique"... it will be FAR cheaper, and work as well, if not better....

the susano is a fine unit, as noted earlier, i owned one...

your speakers are extraordinarily efficient... it is unlikely that you are ever using much more than 1 watt...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 11-15-2012, 07:38 AM
Member
 
giuseppe001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Milan, Italy
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Danielo
do you have 2 POA's ?
Tks

Giuseppe
giuseppe001 is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 11-15-2012, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by giuseppe001 View Post

Hello Danielo
do you have 2 POA's ?
Tks
Giuseppe

Nope i only have a 7.2 setup. i bridge the 3 fronts and use single for the sides thats more than enough for me.

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 11-20-2012, 02:43 PM - Thread Starter
 
MV_Cinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GOT THE DENON!
Now let's overkill the system wink.gif

Ok....now i have lots of doubts. I am going to use the Pioneer SC-LX90 for Porcessor and to be the AMplifier for the Rear Speakers.
The Denon POA-A1HD will be the Amplifier for the Front and Center Speakers (3 Total).

1.Where should i connect the Sub?
2.To connect the SC-LX90 with the POA-A1HD how do i do? THe Denon Processor has XLR, but the SC-LX90 doesn't...is there any problem?
3. Should i BI-Amp only the Front and Central Speakers or also the Rear Speakers with the SC-LX90?
MV_Cinema is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 11-20-2012, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV_Cinema View Post

GOT THE DENON!
Now let's overkill the system wink.gif
Ok....now i have lots of doubts. I am going to use the Pioneer SC-LX90 for Porcessor and to be the AMplifier for the Rear Speakers.
The Denon POA-A1HD will be the Amplifier for the Front and Center Speakers (3 Total).
1.Where should i connect the Sub?
2.To connect the SC-LX90 with the POA-A1HD how do i do? THe Denon Processor has XLR, but the SC-LX90 doesn't...is there any problem?
3. Should i BI-Amp only the Front and Central Speakers or also the Rear Speakers with the SC-LX90?

1) i assume its a powered sub so i would say the SC-LX90 as before

2) use the RCA Inputs, check the manual how to select them

3) i would bridge 3 channels (so 6 amps) for the 3 fronts (L/C/R). and use the 4 amps left for the surrounds. I personally would not use the SC-LX90 at first.

Later you could try to use 4 amps on the 2 fronts if you want to reuse the amps in the PIO but i would first the layout most of us POA owners use.

just my 2cents.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 11-20-2012, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mogorf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Budapest, Hungary
Posts: 4,470
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 228 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV_Cinema View Post

GOT THE DENON!

Congrats, after all the trouble you had finding it!!! If no secret, where did you get it from? Europe, USA, Moon, Mars? smile.gifcool.gifwink.gif
mogorf is online now  
post #21 of 22 Old 11-20-2012, 03:37 PM - Thread Starter
 
MV_Cinema's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 434
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tanks for all the help guys.
Is there any advantage in connection the Denon Processor with XLR instead of the Pioneer by RCA?
MV_Cinema is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 11-21-2012, 12:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
danielo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Utrecht, Netherlands
Posts: 4,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by MV_Cinema View Post

Tanks for all the help guys.
Is there any advantage in connection the Denon Processor with XLR instead of the Pioneer by RCA?

Thats a loaded question. The general wishdom is that for small distances using RCA over XLR is not a big deal between pre/pro's and amps. In case of the POA and a AVP its a little more
complex since they are designed to be fully balanced and the avp also has a 100% separate powersection for its xlr's making is super clean.

How much effect this all has is anyones guess the only thing i can say is that the combo has a extremely low noise level.

Daniel.

for men to evolve we have to upgrade
danielo is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off