First Speaker Setup - Onkyo 717, Rti12, Good Deal? Good parts? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 2 Old 10-31-2012, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this is in the wrong thread, I'm still new to AVS. I'll try to make this thread as neat as possible for you to read.
Context
So I recently just purchased the polk audio rti12 and they IMO sound amazing, I also listened the the Klipsch RF-82's, but couldn't justify the 170 price difference per speaker vs the rti12. So I got two rti12 ($325 each after tax) at frys and hooked them up to my avr635 and they're great and all, but I didn't have any bi-wiring or a sub to power the subs so the bass was a bit disappointing. So I decided to go purchase a new receiver with biwiring and the capability. So I decided to get the Onkyo nr-717 ($540). Not only that but I decided to purchased the BIC F12 sub because the reviews showed that it beat the polk audio 505 which was in the same price range. So right now I still have to decide on a center and rear. I was thinking about the klipsch center and bookshelf speakers, or the polk audio rti4 but I'm still unsure. Also, I have no idea if this is considered a HT setup.

What will it be used for?
I plan on using this for watching movies and listening to music. I may play games on it from my comp, but unlikely.
Info About Current Setup

Room DImension - I still have to measure my room and make a image of it for you guys. But if needed here's the description. So I have my tv and speakers currently setup on one side of the room, the room spans from a living room, to the kitchen, then to the kitchen. No walls or doors in between the living room and kitchen except this half wall thing.

What I have

Harmon Kardon Avr 635 (75 watt x7)
Polk Audio rti12 ($325) x2 (Note, I still can return these for full price until November 28)