Pioneer Elite VSX-52TX | No sound from fornt left & centre speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 11-06-2012, 06:44 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,
I'm having trouble with my home theatre system. I've had the system for many years now. A few days ago I noticed the front left and centre speakers were no longer delivering sound. I've checked all the connections and in one scenario (see below) I did get sound from the front left speaker, so I'm thinking this is likely an issuer with the receiver. I reread the manual and played with the various settings trying to get sound, to no avail. Below is a list of the gear and what I've attempted to do to resolve the issue. I'm not really good at this stuff so I'm at a loss at this point. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

GEAR:
AV Receiver: Pioneer Elite VSX-52TX
Speakers: Monitor Audio Radius 180 – left, right and centre, Monitor Audio Radius 90 – Rears, Monitor Audio R360 sub.
Marantz CD player, Panasonic blueray player, Western Digital media player, PVR.

PROBLEM:
No sound from the front left and centre speakers. Front right, rears and sub working.

TROUBLE SHOOTING & TESTS:
I went through the manual and tried various surround sound modes.
Played FM radio and TV.
Played CD music.
Played HD movie on Western Digital Media Player.
Played Blueray movie.

RESULTS:
No sound from front left and centre speakers in all of the above scenarios but one. Note: The receiver does switch up the various surround sound modes correctly depending on what you are watching or playing.
During the opening Warner Brothers splash screen at the very beginning of the blueray movie, the background music was delivered to both the front left and front right speakers, but not the centre. When the movie began, the front left went dead again (the centre remained dead). I lost the dialogue since it’s typically delivered through the centre channel.

HELP!: