Why HDMI input on receivers? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 20 Old 11-06-2012, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I have a Blu-ray player and a Gaming Computer that I'd like to use with my TV and my main audio system. I'm pretty new to modern receivers.

Currently I bought a Pioneer SC-1222-K from newegg when they had it for $599. I think it is way more complicated than I need. I may send it back

So my TV is a 55" Sony LCD with alot of different inputs. I really just need two HDMI inputs.

I never understood why modern receivers have all of the video inputs. Why would you use your receiver to process video signals, when the TV already processes them?

If I just go HDMI from my source to the TV, I can use an SPDIF cable to get the sound back to the receiver. So what benefit, if any, is there for running my HDMI inputs into the receiver?

Do I only get surround through the HDMI cable?

I always thought a receiver was supposed to be about audio, why put so much effort and money into video processing when the companies could be putting that into better sound quality?

I've got a ton more questions, but one at a time I figure.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 20 Old 11-06-2012, 12:52 PM

Liked: 32
If you go from your source to your tv, then to your AV receiver, you are just going to get stereo. As for HDMI inputs, with the newer surround formats, they use the HD format, which they do not for the optical. If you are smart, you get a AVRS that allows active hdmi output when it is in standby, so that if you want to use a soundbar vs the AVRS for stereo sound, you could do that through RCA or Optical to the soundbar from the device, such as your CATV or Satellite stb or Blu-Ray, or even computer.
post #3 of 20 Old 11-06-2012, 03:11 PM - Thread Starter

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post

If you go from your source to your tv, then to your AV receiver, you are just going to get stereo.