Integra DTR 40.2 Powers up no sound - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 11-10-2012, 05:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ckartson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Strongsville Oh
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This happened for the first time last night. Sarted system with the My TV button on remote. Cable box powered up, Receiver powered up tv started but no sound. Looked at all devices and found zone 2 led on. I don't know if this is usually on but nothing is connected to zone 2. I turned zone 2 off from the front panel and restarted the same as before, still no sound. I switch over to the tuner which is internal to the reciever but still no sound. Volume level responds to remote or front panel. Got out the manual and checked using the trouble shooting guide, sleep timer(off) and several other setting that I cant remeber now but still nothing. Cable box is connected with HDMI to receiver, TV is connected to reciever with HDMI, Blu ray is connected with HDMI. Tv picture was on. Switched over to Bu ray and tried a dvd but same thing, no sound. The manual described a reset pocedure with the remote. I did that then restarted and the system did start. I also noticed a familiar click right before the sound starts which may be a relay latchig to power up the internal amp. (receiver is the amp no external amplifier). Then I had sound. I thought all was okay. This morning my wife turned the system on again pressing my tv on the remote and the same thing happened as last night. Picture is on reciever display on, dislay shows volume level and sound mode (all chanel stereo) but no sound. I shut every thing down with the all off button on the remote then turned each component on one at a time with the remote. this time after the reciever powered up I heard the familiar click and sound came on. I know this is the same machine as an Onkyo model but I am not sure which one. Has anyone experienced somthing like this? Any suggestions? I did read in the manual about a flashing led that indicates an overload but I had no such flashing.
Thanks
Ckartson
ckartson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 11-15-2012, 08:36 PM
Member
 
modeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the exact same problem. Last night I had no sound, and then all of the sudden, sound came on... I watched TV and turned everything off when I was done. Tonight I turned the receiver on and again had no sound... I reset the receive like you did to no avail. I'm calling Integra support right now. Let me me know what happens with you.

Jason
modeboy is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 11-19-2012, 06:35 AM
Member
 
asubutler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the same problem with a 40.3. If I start the receiver set to ANYTHING HDMI connected, no sound. If I switch to tuner, or net, or anything NOT HDMI connected, shut off the receiver, and then power back up, I have sound. Not the way I want my expensive home theater system to work.

Anyone found an answer to this?

Thanks,

John
asubutler is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 11-19-2012, 06:36 PM
Member
 
modeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took mine in and they sent it off for repair - it's still under warranty. In the mean time, I bought a diff. receiver (Marantz 6007) and will return it... Not overly impressed with the Marantz. Doesn't sound as clear as the Integra.

That being said, since Onkyo makes Integra, and Onkyo's are prone to overheating, I'm guessing that's what happened... but who knows. I may sell the Integra when I get it back and get something else. Might try a Yamaha.

Jason
modeboy is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 11-19-2012, 06:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Secret Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Midwest U.S.A.
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 19
It sounds like you guys are experiencing an HDMI handshake problem. Or a loss of the handshake. It is possible to have just video and no sound if the HDMI handshake isn't completed properly. You may want to try turning on the equipment in a different order manually instead of my a remote using a macro. Sometimes all in one remotes turning everything on at once can lead to HDMI handshake problems. The more expensive remotes can have delays set for different components when things are powered up. This allows the HDMI handshakes to take place in a timed fashion.
Secret Squirrel is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 11-19-2012, 09:06 PM
Member
 
modeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's not it - at least in my case.

I've been using this receiver every day for two years with the same equipment and NEVER had this problem. I've already tried the powering off and turning things on in order process already anyway. No matter what I did, there was NO sound. I wasn't even getting sound from the speaker level calibration screen. And, I'm not using expensive remotes... just the normal ones that come with everything. No macros in use here.

Jason
modeboy is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 03-20-2013, 12:10 AM
Newbie
 
asaintprix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had the same problem happen about 2 weeks ago with my 40.3. All of a sudden no sound on any HDMI input (CD/DVD/Cab/SAT). I get video clear as day, but no audio signal. If I flip through listening modes or turn the receiver off and on, I hear a click at some point and the audio will come on, but it's sometimey. Most of the time it doesn't work. I'm trying to avoid a repair visit, but think I may be at that point.

Did anyone manage to find a solution to this that didn't involve taking it in to the dealer for repair? I'm not pleased that a $1,000 receiver is having these issues and I've had mine a couple of years now I think. I need to check the purchase date, hopefully it's still under warranty.
asaintprix is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 09-24-2013, 07:55 PM
Newbie
 
cibbomatteo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having the same issue with my DTR 40.3 at first it would power up with audio and then after a while the audio would go out even if you were using a non-hdmi source. Now I get no audio at all through any source and when I try to do the Audyssey setup with the microphone I get a wait screen on the receiver that never initiates the test tones. I've tried everything including the master reset, and leaving the receiver unplugged for 24 hours (cause someone said to try that to get it out of circuit protection mode). Gotta say I am extremely disappointed in the quality of this receiver and I won't be making another Onkyo/Integra purchase ever again.
cibbomatteo is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 09-29-2013, 09:19 PM
Newbie
 
qbizzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Receiver is having the same issues, only its more than no sound.

I ALSO am not seeing the network or firmware update options light up.

I did the reset (Hold VCR while pressing the off button. "CLEAR" comes up right after).

I did manage to get the Firmware option to light up after I did a few resets. I figured that maybe the firmware was bad so I did an update and it stated that I already had the correct version installed.

So now I am sitting here with a receiver that is just over a year old, with the passthrough on and the audio on mute. I am at least able to send the sound from the cable box through to the TV.

I am at a loss right now. Maybe I should have not chosen an integrated receiver? I did worry about having that many bells and whistles in one box.

Now I am wondering what the next receiver should be after I get this one fixed and ebay'd....

Good times... I do not have the time in my life to be dealing with crap like this. This is the tiny little detail that I am sure the folks at customer service will glance over while they listen to my problem.

So if someone wanted to up the game and spend $2k on a receiver setup - should I go with another all in one (Integrated) or go to components (Preamp + Amp)?
qbizzy is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 09-29-2013, 09:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
NAIM101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 41
LOL. What a waste of money.
NAIM101 is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 09-29-2013, 09:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
NAIM101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 814
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by qbizzy View Post

My Receiver is having the same issues, only its more than no sound.

I ALSO am not seeing the network or firmware update options light up.

I did the reset (Hold VCR while pressing the off button. "CLEAR" comes up right after).

I did manage to get the Firmware option to light up after I did a few resets. I figured that maybe the firmware was bad so I did an update and it stated that I already had the correct version installed.

So now I am sitting here with a receiver that is just over a year old, with the passthrough on and the audio on mute. I am at least able to send the sound from the cable box through to the TV.

I am at a loss right now. Maybe I should have not chosen an integrated receiver? I did worry about having that many bells and whistles in one box.

Now I am wondering what the next receiver should be after I get this one fixed and ebay'd....

Good times... I do not have the time in my life to be dealing with crap like this. This is the tiny little detail that I am sure the folks at customer service will glance over while they listen to my problem.

So if someone wanted to up the game and spend $2k on a receiver setup - should I go with another all in one (Integrated) or go to components (Preamp + Amp)?


100% seperates. Might try the Emotiva UMC-200 and the XPA combo.
NAIM101 is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 10-06-2013, 09:23 AM
Newbie
 
maharajhs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Africa
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys

So, I am no expert but I have tried this solution and it works. For those with the HDMI handshake issue where you can see video but get no audio and every now and then when you leave it on for a while sounds comes on. Well it simply means your HDMI board needs to be reflowed. A simple test can be done by opening the unit, using a hair dryer, heat up the board for about 2 minutes and surprise your sounds will start working.

If sounds plays, remove the board and get someone to reflow the chips for you. Google for DYI.

Hope this helps. Hit LIKE if it worked for you or if you found it useful.

Cheers
maharajhs is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 11-13-2013, 08:32 PM
Newbie
 
hackkakid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by qbizzy View Post

My Receiver is having the same issues, only its more than no sound.

I ALSO am not seeing the network or firmware update options light up.

I did the reset (Hold VCR while pressing the off button. "CLEAR" comes up right after).

I did manage to get the Firmware option to light up after I did a few resets. I figured that maybe the firmware was bad so I did an update and it stated that I already had the correct version installed.

So now I am sitting here with a receiver that is just over a year old, with the passthrough on and the audio on mute. I am at least able to send the sound from the cable box through to the TV.

I am at a loss right now. Maybe I should have not chosen an integrated receiver? I did worry about having that many bells and whistles in one box.

Now I am wondering what the next receiver should be after I get this one fixed and ebay'd....

Good times... I do not have the time in my life to be dealing with crap like this. This is the tiny little detail that I am sure the folks at customer service will glance over while they listen to my problem.

So if someone wanted to up the game and spend $2k on a receiver setup - should I go with another all in one (Integrated) or go to components (Preamp + Amp)?


I am having the identical issue. I had intermittent loss of network connectivity (noticed instantly as I use IP control), did a firmware update when I got it to finally connect again and now I have no network connectivity and no audio on any HDMI sources... Just awesome. I had it in once under warranty already to fix a network connectivity issue.
hackkakid is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 02-14-2014, 09:15 AM
Newbie
 
Broadcast9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I spoke with the store owner that sold me my Integra DTR 40.2.   He indicated that it is likely the digital processing board that takes digital audio and converts it to analog.  It is a $300 repair out of warranty which is difficult to swallow given that you can buy the DTR 40.2 for that amount on Ebay.

Broadcast9 is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 02-26-2014, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
drocpsu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Broadcast9 View Post

I spoke with the store owner that sold me my Integra DTR 40.2.   He indicated that it is likely the digital processing board that takes digital audio and converts it to analog.  It is a $300 repair out of warranty which is difficult to swallow given that you can buy the DTR 40.2 for that amount on Ebay.
Fantastic. Mine just started doing this this morning as well. Last night, worked just fine. This morning, (and now night as well), no audio when I turn it on.
drocpsu is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 03-05-2014, 04:44 PM
Newbie
 
Wayward songs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Exactly the same problem I'm having with my Integra 50.1 . Really annoying after spending so much money on it. Bought through an installer who is no longer in business so not sure who to take it to in Sydney to get repaired? Certainly a HDMI handshake issue it sounds like. No audio on any devices cd DVD TV vinyl. Interestingly the zone 2 for outside speakers works just not the internal speakers?

Where to get repaired is my main question it's 1 yr out of warranty.
Wayward songs is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 03-17-2014, 12:21 PM
Member
 
youradandy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I am having the same issue on my 40.2. Background: Our blue-ray player was hung up and just spinning so my wife was going to unplug it and reset the player. She know what cord it was so she just pushed the the on/off switch on our monster surge protector. The sound on the receiver hasn't really worked since. I did get it to work once via the blue-ray player again. I noticed that on the front display it doesn't list the speakers as it normally did. Perhaps that is an indication of something. I unplugged the receive for about a week and plugged back in last night and still only video. I should also note that when it worked again I could use both the blue-ray and cab/sat all night and noticed the speakers listed on the display were there. Turned in back on the next day and no speaker listing and no sound.
youradandy is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 05-21-2014, 12:12 PM
Member
 
janick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Had the same issue and had to send it to get repaired. Adam's Electronics in California repaired and had it back to me in one week. They repaired the processing PCB (part number 1B248571-1D1), socket/cable 12' (2009991203UL) and P7501A, B connectors (25056643). Fortunately my was under warranty but said it was abut $200 if not under warranty and i think that included shipping.

Panasonic 65VT60
Paradigm Studio 60
Paradim Studio CC590
Paradigm SR-15
Integra DTR 40.2
HSU VTF-15H
janick is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Integra



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off