Pioneer Elite SC-35, shutting itself off and coming back on intermittently - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 11-12-2012, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
KickinA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope someone can help me out. I have an SC-35 and in the last month it has been randomly shutting itself off and then coming back on. It appears quite random, and I'm not even really turning up the volume very high.

Sometimes I could be watching a bluray via my 62FD player, or a stream via my Xbox 365 and 10-15 minutes into the show, and poof, the SC-35 shuts itself off and I hear a loud thump through my speakers. I notice on the SC-35 display, it says "Power On" just when it seems to "reboot" itself.

Any ideas what is causing this? At first I thought it may have been some HDMI control problem, so I turned off HDMI control functions, but it still happens. I've had the SC-35 for about 2 years now, and it has always worked flawlessly until very recently.

thanks
KickinA is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 11-12-2012, 10:14 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
^^^

do any of the various lights on the display of the avr flash?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 11-12-2012, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
KickinA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I haven't noticed any lights flash, but I'll take a closer look next time it happens.
KickinA is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 11-12-2012, 11:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 145 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Check out the loudspeaker wires..
Check both @ the AVR's rear panel and loudspeaker itself, very EZ for a little wire strand to short out and trigger the protection circuit.


Just my $0.02... wink.gif
M Code is online now  
post #5 of 13 Old 11-12-2012, 02:38 PM
Member
 
phxdsrtrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I had this same problem with my SC-35 and the 52FD. Turns out the bluray player was sending out a signal to shut off the SC-35. Try unplugging the network cable from the SC-35 (assuming you have it connected to a LAN) and see if the problem goes away. This issue drove me absoutely batty. Pioneer has acknoledged the problem and told me if I took my receiver to a Pioneer authorized service center I could have the firmware upgraded to fix the problem. I just left the SC-35 unplugged from my LAN as I wasn't using any of those features anyway.

I hope this isn't your problem since you have an newer bluray player, but, it's worth giving it a shot to see if this is the issue.

-Curtiss
phxdsrtrat is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 11-12-2012, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
KickinA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting problem. I have both the 62FD and SC-35 hooked up to my network. I'll disconnect the Network from my SC-35 and see what happens.

thanks
KickinA is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 11-14-2012, 09:42 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
KickinA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
phxdstart, I think the LAN bug you referred to may be been the problem. I've disconnected the network cable from my SC-35 and its been good for the past 2 days now. I'll wait for another few days before calling it resolved. However, things seem to be better already. Thanks!
KickinA is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 07-13-2013, 08:45 PM
Newbie
 
jaywin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My vsx1020 just started doing this as well... Why would LAN be the issue? I know this thread is old, I am glad I found it because issue not listed anywhere else on web.

There is no such thing as satisfied when it comes to your theater....
jaywin is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 11-03-2013, 04:51 PM
Newbie
 
Garyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by phxdsrtrat View Post

I had this same problem with my SC-35 and the 52FD. Turns out the bluray player was sending out a signal to shut off the SC-35. Try unplugging the network cable from the SC-35 (assuming you have it connected to a LAN) and see if the problem goes away. This issue drove me absolutely batty. Pioneer has acknowledged the problem and told me if I took my receiver to a Pioneer authorized service center I could have the firmware upgraded to fix the problem. I just left the SC-35 unplugged from my LAN as I wasn't using any of those features anyway.

I hope this isn't your problem since you have an newer bluray player, but, it's worth giving it a shot to see if this is the issue.

-Curtiss

Hello, Just bought & connected my 62FD to my CS-35 & am having the same problem. Disconnected the A/V from the net & all is OK, but I use the net for music. Talked to Pioneer & got deer in the headlights answer.  DOES pioneer acknowledge this problem & is there a firmware update, or am I chasing my tail?  Did you get you unit fixed by a Pioneer repair depot?

 

Thanks

 

Gary, Arcadia California

Garyet is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 11-06-2013, 06:11 PM
Member
 
oakleyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
same issue here for my SC35! It powers on then off BUT if I switch it to mutlizone it will stay on. I am lost hopefully one of you guys/gals know what to do to fix this issue
oakleyman is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 11-06-2013, 06:25 PM
Newbie
 
Garyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi Oakleyman,

 

I plan on snail mailing Pioneer with problem & seeing if I can get an answer. I think their USA operation has an office in North Long Beach. Really irritating seeing as it is the connecting of one of their units its that is causing the problem. I have discovered that when a product hits the shelf, it is considered "last years model" & good luck getting non existing firmware updates. 

Garyet is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 11-06-2013, 06:34 PM
Member
 
oakleyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garyet View Post

Hi Oakleyman,

I plan on snail mailing Pioneer with problem & seeing if I can get an answer. I think their USA operation has an office in North Long Beach. Really irritating seeing as it is the connecting of one of their units its that is causing the problem. I have discovered that when a product hits the shelf, it is considered "last years model" & good luck getting non existing firmware updates. 

Garyet, Please keep us posted as to what Pioneer tells you!
oakleyman is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 12-20-2013, 09:15 PM
Newbie
 
Garyet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Well my my my..

I did snail mail my problem to Pioneer two months ago & just got this email in response.

 

Mr. Thiele:

Thank you for your recent letter to Pioneer regarding the above-referenced
products. Please accept our apology for the delay in our response.

Our Service Engineering Department has reviewed the problem you describe
when using the SC-35 and BDP-62FD in combination, and feels that having
both units updated with the latest firmware is an appropriate first step.

You indicate both units have the latest updates, but a new update for the
BDP-62FD is being released this weekend for download via our website.
Please visit the BDP-62FD page anytime after 6:00 PM PST on Saturday
12/21/13 and download the update. If this update does not correct the
problem you describe, please advise by response to this e-mail and we will
provide further assistance.

 

I was aware of the "promise" of a firmware update & figured, yes, sure.  Will check this out this weekend & report back when downloaded and tested.

Garyet is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Pioneer Elite Sc 35 A V Receiver



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off