NR3009 Zone 2 Audio and Video - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 11-18-2012, 03:49 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TomoNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks,

I bought the TX-NR3009 having not read the spec fully and made a fundamental error, namely I wanted to set up the lounge and games room with one dedicated zone each so that the kids could watch a movie without having to hear the audio in the lounge as well.

I also read that in order to use the Audio in the second zone you need a preamp to hear anything, is that true?

Has anyone successfully wired up a dedicated zone 2 or 3 using the TX-NR3009 and if so can you let me know how?

I've got to be honest I switched from an Arcam to the Onkyo and I'm not thrilled at the moment.

Any help would be gratefully received.
TomoNZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 11-18-2012, 03:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,292
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
The 3009 is a 9.2 AVR which means you can have powered 7.2 in the main zone and powered Zone 2 or powered 5.2 in the main zone and powered Zones 2 and 3 (ie. without having to use the Zone 2/3 pre-outs connected to another amp).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 11-18-2012, 06:03 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TomoNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for your reply. It did seem strange to require a preamp but this article did throw me off the scent a bit: http://hometheater.about.com/od/avreceiversreviews/p/Onkyo-Tx-Nr3009-Tx-Nr5009-Home-Theater-Receivers-Overview-Profile.htm

OK, for the million dollar question, has anyone managed to configure the TX-NR3009 to have a dedicated second zone video whilst playing a corresponding second zone audio i.e. no zone one audio?

Thanks,

Tomo
TomoNZ is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 11-19-2012, 03:41 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,292
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1418 Post(s)
Liked: 1604
Huh? That article says the same thing I did in my previous post.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 11-19-2012, 10:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
TomoNZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I quote from the article "In this setup you will have to add an amplifier(s) to power the speakers in Zone 2 or Zone 3."

Anyway we're wasting time here, can anyone help with the zone 2 post I added before we went off track please?

Thanks,

Tomo
TomoNZ is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr3009
Gear in this thread - Nr3009 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off