Automodes on Onkyo receivers? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-30-2012, 01:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Vallhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hi

Have just got an Onkyo receiver, but cant find any automodes, like stereo for music and surround for films,as the Pioneer has. The Pioneer sets automatic the best sound mode for the material

Thanks in advancde
Vallhall is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 12-01-2012, 10:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 746
My Onkyo has the feature of assignment of sound mode for each input selection (and whatever was last used will save it for that input selection, as can certain other settings). It does not have the automatic selection of mode within an input based on the signal itself, it's up to you to determine mode or change as you see fit. Maybe that's a tradeoff for having the avr select one automatically; I don't mind selecting sound mode for tv/movies to suit my taste but for something like the net apps like pandora I just leave it as stereo with the other settings I like (like Audyssey set to music, dynamic eq on, and music optimizer on). What Onkyo do you have?

lovinthehd is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 12-02-2012, 10:59 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Vallhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

My Onkyo has the feature of assignment of sound mode for each input selection (and whatever was last used will save it for that input selection, as can certain other settings). It does not have the automatic selection of mode within an input based on the signal itself, it's up to you to determine mode or change as you see fit. Maybe that's a tradeoff for having the avr select one automatically; I don't mind selecting sound mode for tv/movies to suit my taste but for something like the net apps like pandora I just leave it as stereo with the other settings I like (like Audyssey set to music, dynamic eq on, and music optimizer on). What Onkyo do you have?

Thanks for your reply

Its Onkyo 1010...same power as the 3010:p
Vallhall is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 12-02-2012, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 746
That's a nice unit. I have an HTRC370 but my mains run off outboard amps so still have more power than the 3010 available to me wink.gif

lovinthehd is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 12-02-2012, 11:29 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Vallhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

That's a nice unit. I have an HTRC370 but my mains run off outboard amps so still have more power than the 3010 available to me wink.gif

Lucky b....biggrin.gif. Well maybe i have to go the same route if my mains needs more power. Need new speakers asap....probarly the new KEF R range....not the reference one:p
Vallhall is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 12-02-2012, 11:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 746
You have xt32 with that unit, though and the option of 9 channels which I have enough speakers for (and can use my avr to alternate between a surround back/front height or wide setup) but can't do with mine. If my main speakers were more efficient I might even not have used the amps but since I had them already from another setup, not a hard decision. Preouts are a nice option on an avr, particularly for your mains since they're going to get most of the work, especially if you listen to 2ch music as well.

lovinthehd is online now  
post #7 of 8 Old 12-02-2012, 11:47 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Vallhall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by lovinthehd View Post

You have xt32 with that unit, though and the option of 9 channels which I have enough speakers for (and can use my avr to alternate between a surround back/front height or wide setup) but can't do with mine. If my main speakers were more efficient I might even not have used the amps but since I had them already from another setup, not a hard decision. Preouts are a nice option on an avr, particularly for your mains since they're going to get most of the work, especially if you listen to 2ch music as well.

2 ch music most of the time. Have only 5.1 system now, but would probarly run 7.1 or 9.1 later then i got a bigger place.

PS: pardon my bad english here
Vallhall is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 12-02-2012, 12:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lovinthehd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: OROR
Posts: 6,468
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 134 Post(s)
Liked: 746
I'm running a 7.3 in a big room, no problem to go 9 or even 11 (and probably wouldn't need to go speaker shopping, just raid the shelves smile.gif ). Your English is far better than my non-existent Norwegian!

lovinthehd is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off