Onkyo TX-NR818 causing issues with my Panasonic Plasma? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 12-01-2012, 02:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adam James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just hooked up my Onkyo TX-NR818 that I got on Black Friday, and it's causing the strangest issue, I hope someone can help.

When I'm using the main HDMI out on the receiver into my Panasonic th-42px80u TV, and I turn it off, it won't turn back on, the power light just keeps flashing. I tried using a different HDMI cable, I tried different HDMI inputs on the TV too, same thing.

When I use the 2nd/Sub HDMI out on the receiver this problem goes away, I can turn the TV on and off without any issues, when I switch the HDMI cable back over to the receiver's main HDMI output, same thing happens, I turn off the TV and it won't come back on, the power light just flashes. I never had this issue with the other receiver I bought to compare with the Onkyo, its a Yamaha RX-A2010. Also, never had this issue with my Denon 889 that died a few weeks ago. Any ideas?

Receiver is in direct mode for Picture Mode. The sub HDMI doesn't have the OSD menu, so it's not feasible for me to use it permanently.
Adam James is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 12-01-2012, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
putox1051's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: White Lake, MI
Posts: 311
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is HDMI CEC enabled on your Onkyo?
putox1051 is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 12-01-2012, 03:12 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adam James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by putox1051 View Post

Is HDMI CEC enabled on your Onkyo?

I believe that it's disabled because HDMI Control (RIHD) is turned off.
Adam James is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 12-01-2012, 09:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adam James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What could cause something in the HDMI signal from the receiver to cause my TV to go into some protective mode? This is so weird and a shame because I really like the Onkyo and was going to return the Yamaha.
Adam James is offline  
post #5 of 26 Old 12-02-2012, 02:48 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,034
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 359 Post(s)
Liked: 1321
IIRC, the Panny 10 "red' blinking LED is an indication of an HDMI voltage difference outside of the TV's parameter, so it would appear there is either a defect with the Onkyo's main monitor out jack or the TV's HDMI board is simply too sensitive. You could try calling Panasonic to determine if it's a repair issue that can be resolved with the TV.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 12-02-2012, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adam James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking it's a problem with the 818's main hdmi out, because I've had two Denon and one Yamaha receiver hooked up to this TV in the past month without any problems.
Adam James is offline  
post #7 of 26 Old 12-02-2012, 06:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adam James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

IIRC, the Panny 10 "red' blinking LED is an indication of an HDMI voltage difference outside of the TV's parameter, so it would appear there is either a defect with the Onkyo's main monitor out jack or the TV's HDMI board is simply too sensitive. You could try calling Panasonic to determine if it's a repair issue that can be resolved with the TV.


I tried using the front HDMI input on the TV and it works fine, why would the Onkyo specifically cause this issue when the other receivers don't?
Adam James is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 12-27-2012, 08:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
Newbie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Because the Onkyo has a problem and the others didn't...
Newbie01 is offline  
post #9 of 26 Old 12-28-2012, 05:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
KidHorn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Derwood, Maryland
Posts: 2,771
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 105 Post(s)
Liked: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adam James View Post

I tried using the front HDMI input on the TV and it works fine, why would the Onkyo specifically cause this issue when the other receivers don't?

Onkyo has a long history of HDMI board problems. Not saying the problem is definately with the Onkyo. Just saying in general.
KidHorn is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 01-07-2013, 07:24 PM
Newbie
 
rnrt99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow , I had to sign up when I read your problem ! Because of you there isnt a 4 year old 50" panasonic plasma tv at the dump.I just bought the 818 and had the same issue and thought I suddenly had the "red light of Death " happening lol I really do like the receiver and from your post I'm just running from the sub hdmi without the fancy OSD , it sucks but I know someday I'll upgrade the tv and all should be good, thanks.
rnrt99 is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 01-07-2013, 07:34 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adam James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, so it seems the Onkyo 818 and some Panasonic plasmas don't play well together.

My workaround was to buy a $25 powered hdmi splitter to use between the tv and the receiver, I didn't want to go without the OSD.
Adam James is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 01-07-2013, 09:01 PM
Newbie
 
rnrt99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I will have to check that out , I would defiantly use the real osd if I can , thanks !!
rnrt99 is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 01-08-2013, 04:49 PM
Newbie
 
rnrt99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So you go from your main hdmi out into this splitter then to your tv and everything's fine ?? I'm just wondering how the splitter makes the tv work again ??
rnrt99 is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 01-10-2013, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adam James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Correct, the hdmi switch is powered and provides its own voltage to the hdmi outputs, seems like the voltage that is sent by the receiver causes the issue with the Panasonic's hdmi board.
Adam James is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 01-15-2013, 10:47 AM
Newbie
 
RaphaelGal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'm having a similar problem with the 818.
I only have this unit for 2 weeks.
it was connected to Samsung LCD via the HDMI main out.
It was working OK for couple of days, though it took some time and "shuttering" before i saw a picture on the TV.
However, in the last 5-6 days, there no picture anymore, just "No Signal" on the TV and i can hear the Audio through the speakers.
I've changed cables, unplugged the AC etc, but nothing works.
When I tried connecting the TV through the SUB out, everything works fine.
what are your suggestions? should i go for the splitter?
RaphaelGal is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 01-15-2013, 11:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Patrick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
I don't know if this will help but I had a problem once with the 818 and my Mitsi projector syncing.

Start the 818 and cable box/directv, wait until you see "HDMI start up' on the receivers front panel go away and then turn on the TV.
Patrick Murphy is offline  
post #17 of 26 Old 01-15-2013, 12:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adam James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaphaelGal View Post

Hi,

I'm having a similar problem with the 818.
I only have this unit for 2 weeks.
it was connected to Samsung LCD via the HDMI main out.
It was working OK for couple of days, though it took some time and "shuttering" before i saw a picture on the TV.
However, in the last 5-6 days, there no picture anymore, just "No Signal" on the TV and i can hear the Audio through the speakers.
I've changed cables, unplugged the AC etc, but nothing works.
When I tried connecting the TV through the SUB out, everything works fine.
what are your suggestions? should i go for the splitter?

Same thing for me, the problem didn't start for a few days. The hdmi splitter/switch solution works perfectly.
Adam James is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 01-16-2013, 05:28 AM
Newbie
 
RaphaelGal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks
I will try today and advise
RaphaelGal is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 01-16-2013, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gurkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 2,748
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I thought the recommend sequence would be: sink (display) first, then repeater (AVR) next, source (i.e. BD player) last.
This way the component turned on in sequence would always see an already active partner for the HDMI handshake with known parameters.
This did cure - at least for me - all HDMI handshake problems.
This is the way i programmed my Harmony One remote.
gurkey is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 01-16-2013, 07:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
Patrick Murphy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 788
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by gurkey View Post

I thought the recommend sequence would be: sink (display) first, then repeater (AVR) next, source (i.e. BD player) last.
This way the component turned on in sequence would always see an already active partner for the HDMI handshake with known parameters.
This did cure - at least for me - all HDMI handshake problems.
This is the way i programmed my Harmony One remote.

You may be right. I was just saying how I do it since the one and only time that the pj wouldn't sync.

Thinking about this a little more, wouldn't the most logical work-around be to just turn off the 818 and start the whole process again as the OP said it works fine until he turns off the tv and turns it back on?
Patrick Murphy is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 01-16-2013, 10:18 AM
Newbie
 
RaphaelGal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well,

I found an old HDMI switch (not splitter) but with it's own DC voltage.
I tried and still no picture through Main Out, connected via SUB out and no problem.

Feels like sending this AVR down the drain.

mad.gif
RaphaelGal is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 01-18-2013, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adam James's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaphaelGal View Post

Well,

I found an old HDMI switch (not splitter) but with it's own DC voltage.
I tried and still no picture through Main Out, connected via SUB out and no problem.

Feels like sending this AVR down the drain.

mad.gif

The problem I was having was the receiver putting my tv into a protected mode where it would not power on, it wasn't an issue with just video signal. The led on the front of the tv would just flash and not turn on until I disconnected the hdmi, and held the tv power button down for like 20 seconds.
Adam James is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 01-31-2013, 08:27 PM
Newbie
 
rnrt99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok , I've received my splitter and hooked it up to the main out and everything works great but .........now when I have the tv on when I adjust the volume it automatically mutes ?? I hit mute and everything is great again until I adjust the volume again . When the tv is off playing CD's etc volume works fine ? Any thoughts ?? Hdmi audio?
rnrt99 is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 02-03-2013, 11:19 AM
Newbie
 
rnrt99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update , I turned off the hdmi control (RIHD) and everything is working fantastic !!!!!
rnrt99 is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 02-18-2013, 09:41 AM
Newbie
 
Awake0001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a similar problem with a Panasonic GT-50 monitor. In which unit did you turn off the HDMI control - the TX NR-818 or the monitor? Were you still using the splitter when the problem was "finally" solved? Thanks for your help!
Awake0001 is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 02-18-2013, 09:49 AM
Newbie
 
Awake0001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi! Do you use audio return channel in this setup and does it work? If you have the name and model number of your powered HDMI splitter, I would appreciate it. Thanks.
Awake0001 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr818
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off