Owners Thread Cambridge Audio 651r/751r - Page 26 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 8Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 771 Old 07-01-2015, 02:08 PM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecmess View Post
Thanks for the reply.

I could not audition and went solely on reviews, which said it was a music performer. To me it sounds thin, edgy and jumbles complex passages. I have to turn it up to get dynamics, then have to back it down because it bothers my ears. It could be it doesn't mesh with my speakers - Revel F208s.

I believe the 200 has a USB DAC at 24/192 but no room correction. I have never used room correction on any of my equipment as I never liked what it did. I don't own a PC and can't setup ARC anyway on the Anthem, and I'm not going to buy Bootcamp.

Looking at the pictures of the rear of the CXR200 I don't see a USB Type B port which is why I said there is no USB port for PC ASIO music interface. Interesting that your Revel speakers don't work all that well with the CXR200. The ability to work well with all speaker types was a major strength of the Cambridge products. As such I still suggest you look at a 751R and pair it with either a 752bd, oppo bdp105 or the new CA CXN. Of course a PC (second hand notebook?) would open up a lot more connectivity options.
TripleFun is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 771 Old 07-01-2015, 02:19 PM
Member
 
joecmess's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Sorry - my comments with the Revels is for the Anthem.

AH - there is a front USB port - which I assume is for an iPod. No USB in the back that I can see.

Thanks
joecmess is offline  
post #753 of 771 Old 07-21-2015, 02:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Leyland UK
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
CA 651r Firmware

Hello


I recently purchased a CA 651r and had problems with the BiAmp setup in direct mode with analogue inputs.
When I spoke to CA Support it turned out to be a known issue with the version of firmware on my receiver, but they could not send me the update file I would have to take the Reciever back to RS where I bought it for them to update it.
Spoke to RS and they cant do it while I wait so I would need to leave the reciever with them which I am not keen on.
I then came across this thread and noticed that the Firmware and instructions for updating had been shared on here between members previously.


Would anyone be kind enough to email a copy to me?


spinaltapt-at-gmail
Spinaltapt is offline  
 
post #754 of 771 Old 07-21-2015, 02:40 PM
 
fatbottom's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 5,866
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spinaltapt View Post
Hello


I recently purchased a CA 651r and had problems with the BiAmp setup in direct mode with analogue inputs.
When I spoke to CA Support it turned out to be a known issue with the version of firmware on my receiver, but they could not send me the update file I would have to take the Reciever back to RS where I bought it for them to update it.
Spoke to RS and they cant do it while I wait so I would need to leave the reciever with them which I am not keen on.
I then came across this thread and noticed that the Firmware and instructions for updating had been shared on here between members previously.


Would anyone be kind enough to email a copy to me?


spinaltapt-at-gmail
Be careful you want to use the correct locale firmware this is american site generally you want uk avforums
fatbottom is offline  
post #755 of 771 Old 09-23-2015, 12:28 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi

I have AVR Cambridge Audio Azur 551r, great sound, I like it but there's some annoying problem, not sure if your 651r/751r got same problem like this, or have you noticed? Problem is sound level and dynamic drop itself, this sometime happen when start movie or continue play after stopped. When movie start I heard loud and clear sound as normal at -45dB volume for one second and then no sound for another one second (as they call it's gap?), and when sound came back it not the same, it's weak, less bass and dull at same -45dB volume (sound like dynamic range was clip). I have to turn 551r system's power off and re turn on, volume will reset to -50dB as everytime when system started and then sound level came loud and clear as usual when I increase volume to -45dB, no sound drop this time. Do you have same problem or know what happen?

My Blu ray player is OPPO 105 , sent output signal through HDMI as PCM (I think sound better than sent as bitsteam.)
DRC (Dynamic Range Control) turn off for both OPPO and Azur 551r

I really like great sound from 551r of mine, but since found this annoying problem I'm thinking about up grade to 751r but not sure if it have same problem?

Thanks
Pladookfu is offline  
post #756 of 771 Old 10-10-2015, 02:45 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Red face Azur651w premium power amplifier

Hello Anyone
is there anyone who has tried connect a seperate 2 channel Amplifier like AZUR651W PREMIUM POWER AMPLIFIER to a Azur 651R/751R ?
will it give a sound boost in stereo or is it overkill?

Allan
mccallan is offline  
post #757 of 771 Old 10-17-2015, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all,
been loving my Cambridge setup for the last few years, I have two 840W power amps, a 840E pre and an 840C CD player, all topped off with a Project XPerience turntable and a couple of Graham Slee phono stages all hooked up to B&W 683s.

At present I'm using a digital optical cable from my mac mini through to the DAC in the 840C to play my digital library. However, I've just purchased a 850N and was wondering on your thoughts for the best set-up? Plumb it into the 840 E?

Many thanks......
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0006.jpg
Views:	271
Size:	184.4 KB
ID:	1001105  
Phil Oxby is offline  
post #758 of 771 Old 10-17-2015, 10:49 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Better pic.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0008.jpg
Views:	292
Size:	196.6 KB
ID:	1001121  
Phil Oxby is offline  
post #759 of 771 Old 10-27-2015, 08:29 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi anyone still involve in this thread. After many years away from serious av/hifi I'm back and although the 751r is now in 'runout' so to speak I have found one at under $2k (AUD) and I'm ready to pounce. (Along with a 752bd....I'd hate to break up sibblings). Given there is a bunch of new receivers in the market at the moment from Marantz/Denon, CA itself has the new CX series etc etc, I'm looking to the collective wisdom of this forum to found out if there's anything significant I should be looking for in this new gear? TBH I kind of feel at the price I'm looking at I can't think of anything below about $3500-$4000 the would offer the SQ ill7get from the 751r (v2)

Some background, 60% BD concerts 40% movies. I have a 15 year old set of Wharfedales that will be going in the next 6-12 months in place of something like kef R series, or CM10s, maybe even Tannoy.

Also would love some advice on subwoofer....heard a Velodyne eqmax today, ported, was pretty good, but maybe a bit loose for music reproduction. Maybe I'll need to double up.

I had an old onkyo that recently went to heaven that was actually pretty good albeit a bit harsh and in your face.

My music tastes range anything like Placebo, Procupine Tree (check out their BD concerts ) right through to Michel Kiwinuka.....quite varied, but you'll find zero hip hop or do of do of music......yes, I'm over 30
Stanto21 is offline  
post #760 of 771 Old 10-27-2015, 08:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Oh, and I live on the Sunshine coast of queensland so flying off around the country to audition the amp is out of the question. ..that will probably happen when replacing he speakers though
Stanto21 is offline  
post #761 of 771 Old 11-01-2015, 03:44 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Cambridge audio 651a problem

Hi,

I have used my 651a (eu ver) for 3,5 years with some B&W CM1 speakers and have been quite satisfied with the sound and the general quality of the set-up.

- What happened -

Then yesterday my amp stopped working. I was listening through the usb port and the amp just turned to standby mode and it felt quite hot. So I let it cool off for a few minutes and tried to turn it on again which it did and played some more and then turned back to standby mode again. I then took it out and let it cool off for a long while and then plugged it back in and tried it and it won't come out of standby mode now.

- Current state -

It simple flashes through all the lights (from the standby up to the usb and back to standby) Doesn't flash any lights any more or less with the standby light constantly on. If I hold the standby button it will flash through them all and then blink the protection light 5 times and then go to standby mode again.

I have tried unplugging it and everything attached to it, different outputs, leaving it without power overnight but nothing will make it come out of standby mode.

- Question -

Has anybody experienced anything similar and know what's wrong and how to fix it?

- Comments -

I live in Poland so getting it to a dealer will be quite complicated so I want to rule out anything else before doing that. I have contacted cambridge and I'm waiting for a reply.

Thanks for your time and all the best,
Hampus
Hampus Nordenson is offline  
post #762 of 771 Old 11-21-2015, 12:10 AM
Member
 
TripleFun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Finally found a reviewbon the cxr200
http://www.hdfever.fr/2015/07/09/tes...ridge-cx-r200/

And yes, the 751r/752bd is still a classic.
TripleFun is offline  
post #763 of 771 Old 11-22-2015, 11:07 PM
Member
 
jlib's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Carmel Valley, CA
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jlib is offline  
post #764 of 771 Old 12-17-2015, 04:09 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi All,

I have a 651R and I am having problems with viewing the OSD. My main TV is a Panasonic TC-P60ST50 plasma (manufactured May 2012). The OSD will not display on this TV. I have tried every combination of HDMI cables and settings in the TV and receiver, to no avail. The TV in my bedroom is a Panasonic TC-P55ST60 plasma (manufactured March 2013). I tried this with the receiver and can see the OSD. I have contacted CA and Panasonic and nobody seems to have an answer as to what the difference is between the two TV's and whether it is a problem with the receiver or the TV's. I had a 650R before the 651R and it displayed the OSD on my main TV! Today I tried displaying the OSD on a small Samsung LCD TV and it also would not display it.

Has anyone else run across this problem?
rwoodcock3 is offline  
post #765 of 771 Old 02-12-2016, 06:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asterus View Post
I have now had my 751R for a year (got it on 31 December, 2013). I have had no problems with it at all, that is, it hasn't failed or anything like that.

However, I too, have had the occassional 1 second loss of sound when playing CDs, changing tracks etc. Although I have not watched too many youtube videos (done via my PC which is connected via HDMI to my 751R) I have had no problems at all when watching those videos - no cutting out or sound dropping.

Not overly impressed with Cambridge Audio's after sales support. While they did respond promptly, their answers were generic and avoided being specific which is what I required.

But the dealership that I got the 751R from has a good reputation for after sales support so that is what I'd recommend to purchasers of this gear - to ensure you buy from a reputable dealership known for their after sales support.
Well, knowing that you actually heard from Cambridge Audio Support at all is an encouragement to me. I reached out to them 10 days ago now and not so much as a peep from them.

I purchased a used 851N Network Player in mint condition at Audiogon. I'm trying to figure out how to get the 851N to see the music library on my Apple Time Capsule that I have ethernet-connected to the 851N. This was quite easy to do using a much less expensive Bluesound Node that I used to own.

If anyone has any thoughts about connecting the Time Capsule specifically, I'd love to hear them. I've already read Cambridge's documentation on the subject (e.g. NAS Drive Setup Guide, Common Networking Problems and Solutions) and it wasn't very helpful.

Thanks!
dfyoung is offline  
post #766 of 771 Old 02-25-2016, 02:21 AM
Member
 
Rinke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have just got the 751r and was playing a dvd-audio disc. The sound stopped and an ! exclamation mark came up on the display!! help me please!!
Rinke is offline  
post #767 of 771 Old 03-26-2016, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
SpecTrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Norway
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone with the 1.52 firmware for the 751R V1 ? and maybe some info about fixes and such ? (changelog)


edit: got hold of the firmware elsewhere...

Last edited by SpecTrax; 07-05-2016 at 12:40 PM. Reason: update
SpecTrax is offline  
post #768 of 771 Old 11-28-2016, 05:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorFouad View Post
<div class="quote-container" data-huddler-embed="/t/1443173/owners-thread-cambridge-audio-651r-751r/540#post_24422261" data-huddler-embed-placeholder="false">Quote:
<div class="quote-block">Originally Posted by <strong>Asterus</strong> <a href="/t/1443173/owners-thread-cambridge-audio-651r-751r/540#post_24422261"><img alt="View Post" src="/img/forum/go_quote.gif" style=""></a>
<p> </p>
<p> </p>
<p>But if any of the readers of this 651R/751R forum can perhaps make a passing comment on whether or not they have ever heard their fan come on, or detected it on, and if you have felt the top of the 751R's top metal cover and can describe the sort of heat there after you have had a decent playing session time-wise, then that would be appreciated.</p>
</div>
</div>
<p> </p>
<p>I have the opposit problem, the fan of my 751r is always on and emits an unpleasant (but weak) noise. even if the AVR is not that hot on the surface (only on top and around the tunnel cooling part).</p>
<p> </p>
<p>My AVR is put inside a cabinet with not a lot of air and space around the AVR. if the fan enters air onto the unit and the top of the AVR the air goes out then I got a problem of cooling properly my unit (the cabinet is enclosed on the top, only 15 CM free space left on top of the AVR and 7 CM right and left)</p>
<p> </p>
<p>or maybe is it the dust ? or maybe the fan should be replaced ?</p>
<p> </p>
<p>When I return my unit because of my PCM multichannel problem I will ask them to check the fan. Everyone says the 751r is very silent and has a very quiet fan. I was surprised when I ran my unit....definitely I didnt get lucky with my 751r unit lol</p>
<p> </p>
<p>by the way the dealer told me not to upgrade myself the firmware, I respected his opinion, he called a cambridge audio technician in front of me and the technician promised will respond this week...wait and see...</p>
<p> </p>
<p>Edit :</p>
<p>I watched caught in the act michael buble concert blu ray in DTS HD (BTW one of the best concerts I listened to sound wise and I own a lot of concerts) and I remembered why i bought this AVR in the first place (replacing my marantz sr 7005, the sound stage is incredible, the AVR controls all 7 speakers with authority, the bass is firm and powerful, and medium-treble so musically pleasant to hear, it was such a nice experience. It is really like having a HI FI system but in 7.1 instead of 2.0</p>
Not sure if this thread is still active, but like DoctorFouad noted way back in 2014, I too am having issues with the fan being constantly on. It immediately starts when I turn on my 651R, so it certainly can't be in response to the unit being warm. I'm curious if anyone has a solution for this issue? Cambridge Audio unfortunately wasn't much help. My apologies if I missed it some where.
frankrondaniel is offline  
post #769 of 771 Old 12-05-2016, 01:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys, not sure if any of the original members are still on here but I have a question...

My buddy has the 351R receiver and I know I like the sound of it better than my H/K receiver. I've found a 651R on my local classified's for $500 CDN. Description says mint condition with all accessories and original box. I'm really wanting to pull the trigger on it but am worried about some of the issues I've read in this thread.

I will be using a Blu-ray player connected through HDMI, and a cable box connected through Digital Optical. I'm most worried about the bass management issue with the crossover in the receiver not working properly. I have smaller bookshelves that need to be crossed over in the receiver at 80Hz. Will the 651R give me trouble with this and send the full range signal to the bookshelves? Is this bass management an issue on all the 651/751 models, or just some?
Maxca27 is offline  
post #770 of 771 Old 01-11-2017, 03:59 AM
Newbie
 
ddamski79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asterus View Post
Good questions and good answers.

Oppo's Sabre 32 Reference DAC is considered to be a very good DAC. However, as yet I have not really been able to tell any significant difference between the two DACs (Oppo's and CA's Wolfson DAC). Doesn't mean there isn't a difference, measurable or otherwise, just that for me I haven't been able to determine if I think one is better or different from the other. Might need someone more attuned to determine that. Well, that isn't me. :-) But like TripleFun, I tend to stick with my analog outs from my Oppo (thus utilising its Sabre 32 Reference DAC).

And its the same thing when considering the cables and connections. Tons can be said on this alone and also very little, too.

But I have to agree with TripleFun in that it is a matter of choice, and the Cambridge Audio 751r does allow you to have both arrangements running and one merely selects which mode one wishes to use and then go for it. You can even toggle between the two modes, HDMI or Analog Outs/Ins and make your comparisons (that is how I have arranged my setup).

I guess, at the end of the day, if the content (music or movies) engrosses you you might not even notice any differences between the two modes. That is, unless you were specifically listening for the technicalities of the two modes rather than paying attention to the content for entertainment purposes, if you know what I mean.
Quote:
Originally Posted by TripleFun View Post
It's a question of choice. Using the Oppo 103 connected analogue to the 751r gives you the Oppo Sabre DAC which is a very open and clinical sound. Using the Oppo 103 connected HDMI to the 751R gives you the 751r Wolfson DAC which is a bit warmer. I like having the options but prefer the Sabre DAC most of the time.
I also did a similar test but with the new Oppo UDP-203, comparing the DACs from the Oppo with the DACs from the CA 751r V2. I found the sound from the CA little brighter, crisper, for my taste, better. But keep in mind that when i used the CA DACs with HDMI input i did a slight Bass/Treble adjustment (+4 Treble, -2 Bass).
My speaker setup includes the KEF R900 and the KEF subwoofer R400b.

Dont know if it will change anything but will try also with a different more expensive rca cable, sind the one i used costs 1-2 euros
ddamski79 is offline  
post #771 of 771 Old 03-18-2017, 07:37 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Cambridge Audio 751R v2 - HDMI ports failed

I purchased my receiver 2.5 yrs ago and until now it has performed pretty consistently. Over the last couple of weeks I noticed that there was a lag, after powering on, for the receiver to handshake with my TV over HDMI 1 video output port. To day, the devices failed to communicate entirely. After the mandatory factory resets to all components and rechecking configurations I have come to the unfortunate conclusion the receivers HDMI ports have failed. I tried changing to HDMI output 2 but still no joy.

So now I have the unenviable task of trying to pack the unit up and courier it interstate to the national distributor for repair. Chances are the warranty has also expired by now.
ariston is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Cambridge Audio Azur 651r Home Cinema Receiver , Cambridge Audio Ltd , Cambridge Audio , Cambridge Audio Azur 751r Black

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off