H/K AVR 1700 and PS3 Issues--Please Help!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 12-06-2012, 06:14 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a relative noob to quality home theatre equipment. My wife and I just purchased a Harman Kardon AVR 1700 to go along with a klipsch 5.1 setup and Sony Bravia 46" 240hz Class-LED 3D TV. We have our cable box going into an HDMI input in the AVR as well as the PS3. The TV is hooked up via the HDMI ARC. Everything is working flawlessly, EXCEPT when we try to use our PS3 to watch netflix, play a CD, etc. The best way to describe it is that it seems like the signal from the PS3 skips or cuts out for a second or two and then comes back in. At first, we thought it was the receiver. We exchanged it for a new receiver. It happened again, and we thought it might be the HDMI cable, so we bought a brand new, top-of-the-line monster cable. It still does it. I called H/K tech support and tried a processor reset on the AVR. It still does it.

Can anyone tell me what is going on and how to fix it?!?!

Thanks so much!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 13 Old 12-09-2012, 11:32 AM
585-645-1006

Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Quoted: 1985 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Have you tried connecting the PS3 to each of the other HDMI inputs to see if one works better than the current one in use? Also on the PS3, set the "Deep Color Output" setting to OFF.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
post #3 of 13 Old 12-09-2012, 03:12 PM

Location: 41.7080574, -83.5911255 N41° 42.4834', W083° 35.4675'
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 45