Denon 1613 to PS3 using HDMI can only get 1080i video out on LED TV? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-06-2012, 09:00 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wadehw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you know how how to get a 1080p video?

If I connect the PS3 to LED TV using the same HDMI cable, I can get 1080p video right away. I have been trying this for 3 long nights frown.gif Please help

-Wade
wadehw is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-07-2012, 05:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 1,794
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 167 Post(s)
Liked: 168
What exactly are you trying to do? Are you getting 1080p on your PS3? Cable tv/ satellite is only 1080i/720p HD. You can't get 1080p from cable tv. If you have a new receiver you can upscale to 1080p but is not true 1080p video. It only makes the picture look better.

TV - Panasonic 55GT50 THX, Main Speakers - Klipsch Gallery G28's, Center Channel- Klipsch RC-52, Sub-Klipsch Sub 12, Surround - Klipsch RS-52 II Bluray/Game - HTPC/PS3, Receiver - Onkyo RC-360, HTPC- Intel Core i3, HDMI,Windows 7,XBMC,Bluray,3 TB,wireless WMC keyboard, V. Processor -Darbee

http://www.avsforum.com/photopost/sh...hp?cat=2236715
Latinoheat is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-07-2012, 05:51 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,251
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1385 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
There is no video card in the 1613, rather the resolution the source passes to the AVR is what should be passed to the TV. Check to make sure the "Deep Color Output" setting on the PS3 is set to OFF.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-07-2012, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wadehw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When I connect PS3 to LED TV via hdmi, I press a "Info" button, I can see that the video resolution is 1080P.

Then I purchased a Denon 1613. PS3 is now connected to 1613 via hdmi and 1613 connect to my led tv via hdmi too.

To my surprised, now the Staus screen shows that the video resolution becomes 1080i.

I did turn off Deep Color on PS3. It does improve. but still getting 1080i.

How can I get back to 1080p?
wadehw is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-08-2012, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wadehw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. Denon used to have this issue...

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1176040/ps3-slim-to-denon-avr-4310-hdmi-problem

When I first connected PS3 to Denon 1613, the screen had obvious blue flash lines on the tv. The ways I fixed it is...
1). turn off Deep Color on ps3
2). use a 3 feet hdmi instead of a 6-foot one

It is much better now but I can get only 1080i now.

Based on the link above, seems that I got a defect 1613. I posted a question to Denon support. Hope I do not need to return it.
wadehw is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-09-2012, 03:30 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,251
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1385 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
I also posted the question in the Denon AVR-XX13 Owner's thread linked in my sig to see if any other 1613 owners can confirm whether this issue presents on their units as well.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-09-2012, 05:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
UGAd13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 61
did you try resetting the video settings on the ps3?

w/ the ps3 off press and hold the power button until you hear the 2nd beep. that will reset the settings and you can re-select 1080p.

http://www.semperthree.com/resetVideo.html

UGAd13 is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-10-2012, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wadehw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried...

1). set deep color to off on PS3(get rid of blue flash line issue but still can only get 1080i)
2). switch to different hdmi on back of denon 1613. no help. still 1080i
3). reset the Video setting by holding PS3 power until PS3 beeps. no help. Still 1080i
4). switch to different hdmi cable(bought from RadioShake) no help

frown.gif
wadehw is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-11-2012, 02:27 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,251
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1385 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
On the remote press SETUP --> INFORMATION ---> VIDEO. If under [Signal] it says 1080i, then that is what the AVR is receiving from the PS3 and that is what the AVR would pass on to the TV. In this case, the issue would be with the PS3.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-14-2012, 10:10 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
wadehw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wadehw View Post

I have tried...
1). set deep color to off on PS3(get rid of blue flash line issue but still can only get 1080i)
2). switch to different hdmi on back of denon 1613. no help. still 1080i
3). reset the Video setting by holding PS3 power until PS3 beeps. no help. Still 1080i
4). switch to different hdmi cable(bought from RadioShake) no help
frown.gif

Finally, resolved...

5). buy two AmazonBasic HDML(with Ethernet) cables... then it just works smile.gif
wadehw is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-15-2012, 01:24 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 45,251
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1385 Post(s)
Liked: 1598
Ah, so you were apparently using a "Standard" speed HDMI cable rather than a "High Speed" cable. Thanks for posting back, although note the additional "ethernet" feature capability is not required.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 
Daily 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too if you leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer Elite, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off