Denon 3312CI issue - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-09-2012, 04:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
heater8251's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When running my cable box through the receiver then to the TV it makes the picture terrible! Has anyone had this same issuer or have advice for me? Thanks. The receiver is the avr3312CI, Cisco DVR Box, Samsung 8000 series TV running all monster cables. Thanks in advance guys
heater8251 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-10-2012, 03:10 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Cable/Sat boxes often have HDMI handshake (audio and video) issues when connected to an AVR and not directly to the TV. The best configuration is to connect the box HDMI directly to your TV with an optical cable from the box to the AVR for surround sound.

For more info on your new AVR, join us in the Denon AVR-XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig, especially reviewing posts #3-6 in that thread.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-15-2013, 11:33 AM
Member
 
dta721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

Cable/Sat boxes often have HDMI handshake (audio and video) issues when connected to an AVR and not directly to the TV. The best configuration is to connect the box HDMI directly to your TV with an optical cable from the box to the AVR for surround sound.

For more info on your new AVR, join us in the Denon AVR-XX12 Owner's thread linked in my sig, especially reviewing posts #3-6 in that thread.

Do you imply that if this is the only way to work around the issue, the 3312CI in question would need a firmware update to fix the HDMI handshake, or there is no firmware update for this model, thus the work around solution?!

I tried both "lower" but newer AVR models, 1613 and 1713, they both switched STB HDMI well, no problem. In addition, I can listen to Dolby Digital audio from an OTA HDTV by pressing "TV audio" button on the remote. The 1713 then turned on and play Cinema Prologic II nicely.

My point? such HDMI handshaking if experienced earlier, regardless of price/performance level AVRs (3312) has been fixed with later, lower price/performance AVRs. But this is a guess, at any rate!
dta721 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-15-2013, 01:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 317
The problem varies depending on the model of the DVR, or cable or satellite decoder box. Some work fine. Others do not. And some that used to work stop working after an update. Note that it's generally not a problem caused by the receiver, but rather that the code in the DVR, cable or satellite decoder has problems when connected to an HDMI repeater as is provided by AVRs.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-15-2013, 04:17 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,821
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 273 Post(s)
Liked: 1302
Quote:
Originally Posted by dta721 View Post

Do you imply that if this is the only way to work around the issue, the 3312CI in question would need a firmware update to fix the HDMI handshake, or there is no firmware update for this model, thus the work around solution?!

I tried both "lower" but newer AVR models, 1613 and 1713, they both switched STB HDMI well, no problem. In addition, I can listen to Dolby Digital audio from an OTA HDTV by pressing "TV audio" button on the remote. The 1713 then turned on and play Cinema Prologic II nicely.

My point? such HDMI handshaking if experienced earlier, regardless of price/performance level AVRs (3312) has been fixed with later, lower price/performance AVRs. But this is a guess, at any rate!

This issue lies with the cable/sat boxes as they are generally not HDCP certified, so if there is any firmware update it would have to come from the cable/sat provider (which in some cases is indeed available upon request).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #6 of 6 Old 02-16-2013, 07:58 AM
Member
 
dta721's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdsmoothie View Post

This issue lies with the cable/sat boxes as they are generally not HDCP certified, so if there is any firmware update it would have to come from the cable/sat provider (which in some cases is indeed available upon request).
I understand your point. However -playing the devil advocate's role, how would one explain Denon's firmware update to resolve the issue with Pandora in Dec 2012? What changes in the AVR's firmware to fix the issue with Pandora? Is it related to HDMI, HDCP compliant? Thanks!
dta721 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Denon Avr3312ci Receiver
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off