How am i seeing 3d in my system? Thru Pioneer SC-05 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-10-2012, 07:58 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ffred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey folks.
My system is as follows. Pioneer elite SC-05. Sony BDP-S350 BD player. HD sat, PC, Laptop, WII, PS3 (Newer 160 gig New samsung UN60es6500 3d smart TV

I recently had my son playing a PS3 game that was 3d. It is connected to the pioneer using a hdmi, and passes to the tv. It began displaying the PS3 game in 3d.
I was uner the understanding that the SC-05 would not pass 3d content? Am i missing something here? It started in 3d automatically, i did not force a 2d image to convert to 3d using the tv. I turned on the glasses to check it out and it was working properly.

Stumped. I haven't tried a true BD in 3d. I know that my sony BDP-S350 isn't 3D, but my ps3 is.
Thought anyone?

Thanks
FFred
Ffred is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-10-2012, 07:36 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,388
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3722 Post(s)
Liked: 2182
PS3 3D games are only 720p so there's no issue as HDMI 1.3 AVRs can pass this resolution. What they cannot pass is full 1080p 3D video from a BDP.
Blue Rain likes this.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Old 12-10-2012, 08:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ffred's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cool.. thx for feed back.. ao i should also try a full 3d movie thru my ps3 and see if it will pass? if not i will look at a full HD 3D splitter to acheive what i need
Ffred is offline  
Old 12-11-2012, 03:26 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 50,388
Mentioned: 36 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3722 Post(s)
Liked: 2182
Sorry, but a splitter won't do what you want either as it will detect the HDMI 1.3 AVR and then not pass the 3D video to the TV. A couple of options would be to either connect the PS3 (HDMI) to the TV with PS3 (optical) to the AVR (as it's unlikely you will notice any difference in audio quality between the higher bitrate DD/DTS tracks on BDs vs. the HD tracks), or you can purchase a dual HDMI 1.4 BDP which will pass the 3D video to the TV and the HD audio to the HDMI 1.3 AVR.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call only for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off