Do I REALLY need two HDMI outputs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-12-2012, 08:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
seanmcd72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Getting ready to get a new receiver (most likely Yamaha or Denon). I still have a good ole' Yamaha RX-V2500. It's great, other than being big, hot, and having no HDMI connections.

SOoo, I have convinced myself I need two HDMI outputs on the new receiver, which of course drives the price up a bit more. I have one TV, a Panasonic BD player, and an HD cable box. Presently I have the cable box and BD player video going to the TV via HDMI and I have different settings on the TV inputs for each source. I guess that's my main justification for wanting two HDMI outputs. But what do you think? Is that necessary? Are there reasons NOT to use two HDMI outputs that way?

Why did YOU want or need two HDMI outputs on your receiver?

Samsung LN46A650 TV, Denon AVR-2113ci, Polk Audio TL350 speakers, SVSOUND PB10 subwoofer

seanmcd72 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 12-12-2012, 10:41 AM
Senior Member
 
benso37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 449
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I will try to answer your question.

As you might already know, you can hook up all your HDMI devices to the receiver's IN and send one OUT to the TV. Since you only have one TV and no projector, one HDMI OUT is all you need..

I think what you're saying is that you want to send each OUT on the receiver to two different HDMI ports on the back of your TV. That should work but I don't know if it buys you anything. If anything you might run into HDMI handshake issues with that setup.
benso37 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 12-12-2012, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I think the OP's goal is to be able to have separate tv calibration for different source devices.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 12-12-2012, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
seanmcd72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
yes for example currently I have the Samsung 120hz stuff on Medium for cable TV and disabled for Bluray.

Samsung LN46A650 TV, Denon AVR-2113ci, Polk Audio TL350 speakers, SVSOUND PB10 subwoofer

seanmcd72 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 12-12-2012, 01:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
batpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 24,776
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 966 Post(s)
Liked: 1468
the answer is NO, you don't need dual HDMI outputs on the receiver. If you want to make two connections to the TV to have different video settings, you can always just connect the cable box directly to the TV with HDMI (bypassing the receiver) and run a digital audio cable to the receiver from the cable box for multich audio.

batpig's "Denon-to-English Dictionary"
Setup Guide and FAQ
http://batpigworld.com/

Become a fan "batpigworld.com" on Facebook!
batpig is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off