Dolby or DTS priority? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 12-12-2012, 05:06 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrisinvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know the technical aspects of decode priority when multiple mixes
are available?

For content offered in both DTS and Dolby mixes, I've been wondering which of the two formats the player or receiver chooses to decode and deliver as LPCM. By default it seems to choose DTS HD-MA (the best available) with my BR discs, but in scenarios where the disc contains regular DD and DTS, it could choose either. Is this encoded onto the discs (soundtrack priority) or does the hardware make the decision?
chrisinvan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 12-13-2012, 12:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Roger Dressler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Oregon
Posts: 8,280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 184 Post(s)
Liked: 177
It does not depend on the receiver. The disc authoring defines the behavior, after the basic capabilities of the receiver are known to the player via HDMI communication.
Roger Dressler is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 12-13-2012, 01:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrisinvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So it's defined at the source - thanks Roger. Though I wish my receiver would allow me to switch - in my setup the player (the PS3) seems to only send one to the receiver - my options are limited to Dolby OR DTS, Stereo, multi-channel stereo, etc. But I can't toggle between Dolby and DTS on the receiver, even in cases where I know the disc contains both.

Any idea if it's possible?
chrisinvan is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 12-13-2012, 03:13 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
^^^

you would select which one you want from the disk menu when you start the movie...

the avr (any avr, ftm) will never be involved in this choice...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 12-13-2012, 04:08 AM
Senior Member
 
HFXguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisinvan View Post

So it's defined at the source - thanks Roger. Though I wish my receiver would allow me to switch - in my setup the player (the PS3) seems to only send one to the receiver - my options are limited to Dolby OR DTS, Stereo, multi-channel stereo, etc. But I can't toggle between Dolby and DTS on the receiver, even in cases where I know the disc contains both.
Any idea if it's possible?

Doesn't the PS3's remote have an audio button on it?
HFXguy is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 12-13-2012, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrisinvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On the PS3 it's possible to force DTS if you disable Dolby in the audio settings, but this requires stopping the program (or BluRay) - a little awkward. It would be nice to be able to switch on the fly, to make a decision about what sounds best for a particular source. PS3 software and the system software itself seems to prefer Dolby (if both Dolby and DTS are turned on in the settings, it always chooses Dolby). And if mult-channel LPCM is available it will choose that.

Some sources (movies for example) let you choose the format in the settings. Other times, both DTS and Dolby are present, but there isn't a menu option anywhere.
chrisinvan is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 12-13-2012, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 80
If pressing the triangle button and then selecting Audio Options doesn't give you the option of switching between Dolby Digital or DTS soundtracks then your only other option is to force the PlayStation 3 to use DTS in the audio settings as you described.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 12-14-2012, 08:19 AM
Senior Member
 
HFXguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Halifax, NS
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by HFXguy View Post

Doesn't the PS3's remote have an audio button on it?

I see that it does have an audio button on the remote. For my own interest does it work like every other remote,(that I have seen), and it toggles through all available audio options?
HFXguy is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 12-14-2012, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
chrisinvan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HFX, PS3 remote is sold separately but I do have one. I'll check that out today and post findings...
chrisinvan is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 12-14-2012, 01:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by HFXguy View Post

I see that it does have an audio button on the remote. For my own interest does it work like every other remote,(that I have seen), and it toggles through all available audio options?

Yes. It toggles through all available audio options encoded on the disc. while toggling, the onscreen display at the lower left corner of the screen only shows what language is used on the particular soundtrack, not the format it's recorded in. for that info you need to hit the "display" button. I've also found when toggling with the audio button that some soundtrack selections don't have anything recorded on them.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off