bad sound with hdmi - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 12-13-2012, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rsdavis9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The short question is that when I use hdmi to get the digital sound and based on the device and the program material I get no center speaker sound or low dialog sound(maybe the same thing).

I have 3 sources of video and sound:
1. comcast dvr dcx3400 - hdmi and optical/coax
2. logitech google tv - hdmi and optical
3. lg bd player bd 390 - hdmi and optical/coax

receiver/amplifier
sony str-k740p - 6.1 sound

Every time I direct connect the digital audio thru either optical or coax I get good sound whether 5.1 or stereo program material.

When I connect the sound from either the logitech hdmi pass thru or a hdmi switch some of the program material will get the no center sound or low dialog symptom.

The hmdi switch is:

4X1 HDMI® Switcher w/ Toslink & Digital Coaxial Port (Rev.2) w/ 3D support.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011002&p_id=5557&seq=1&format=2

So the question is:
1. Should I always just direct connect the sound and thereby add that extra step for switching sources.
2. Get a new receiver with hdmi switching because my sony is so old it is having trouble decoding.

thanks
bob
rsdavis9 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 12-13-2012, 08:55 AM
Senior Member
 
speavler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Danville, CA
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 19
my 2 cents: time for new receiver. i've never had any luck with the monoprice hdmi switches btw.
speavler is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 12-13-2012, 10:28 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rsdavis9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That seems to the conclusion I am coming to.
Except the logitech google tv exhibits the same problems.

What problems have you had with the monoprice switches?
rsdavis9 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off