Can you help me figure out a way to connect my cable box to my receiver? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 12-26-2012, 10:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Pinecallado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just setted up my Yamaha YHT-497 5.1-Channel Home Theater System. It is my first home theater system. Unfortunately, it doesn't have hdmi pass through so all my devices that can only connect through composite (My wii) and component (My cable box) will not work when I connect my TV to my Receiver via hdmi.

This image has a picture of all the connections on the back of my cable box. Unfortunately, when I got hdtv a few years ago my cable company gave me an ancient cable box from around 2005 (at least that's what the discussion results say when I google search my cable box) that doesn't even have hdmi.

I think dvi is suppose to be as good as hdmi right? If I use a DVI to hdmi converter will the picture quality be the same?


Pinecallado is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 12-27-2012, 03:54 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,809
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
For the Wii you can purchase a Wii2HDMI.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0065BB7M8/ref=pd_lpo_k2_dp_sr_3?pf_rd_p=486539851&pf_rd_s=lpo-top-stripe-1&pf_rd_t=201&pf_rd_i=B007MHWPMA&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_r=1V2ED7DJ6A1SMNS2FH4W

If the cable box is that old it's likely not even capable of passing HD channels (ie. 720p, 1080i) and in that case the video resolution you're getting now is likely only 480p. If this is true, then using the DVI isn't going to do anything for you. Rather simply connect the current component video cable from the cable box directly to the TV (or you can connect it to the Yamaha and then another component video cable from the Yamaha to the TV).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 12-27-2012, 12:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 80
The Explorer 4200HD support HDTV formats like 1080i. You should be able to use a DVI to HDMI adapter without problem and without any loss of video quality. HDMI is essentially just an extended version of DVI, the adapter is a passive device that just connects the HDMI pins to the equivilent DVI pins.

You might also be able to convince your cable company to replace your box with something more modern.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 12-28-2012, 07:28 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Pinecallado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help everyone! I finally figured it out. I'm using the digital coaxial wire that came with my htib to connect my cablebox to my receiver so I can use all five speakers. I could only use 2 speakers with the red and white RCA cables.

The bad thing is now I need a new coaxial cable for my subwoofer!
Pinecallado is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 12-28-2012, 07:53 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,716
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 348
why don't you use one of the red/white cables for your digital coaxial and put the subwoofer cable back? You can either use red or white, it doesn't matter just be consistent on both ends.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 12-29-2012, 05:27 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,809
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 1300
You can use the "yellow" composite video RCA cable as a suitable substitute for a digital coax cable as they are both 75-ohm cables.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off