Yamaha HTR 7065 or RX V673 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-27-2012, 06:22 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hotscot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking of the V673 as it's been getting good reviews.

Then I saw the 7065 in Costco.

Anyone know how they compare?


(I've also heard that some Denon's do sub HQ but I don't know how important that is.
Hotscot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-27-2012, 08:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 80
The HTR-7065 is almost certainly exactly the same as the RX-V773, so the differences would be 5W more power in the HTR-7065 and a handful more features.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-27-2012, 08:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
Newbie01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Wales, PA
Posts: 834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Why Yamaha... NOT a big fan. Room calibration blows... FX = bad. Remotes = terrible. OSD = terrible.
Newbie01 is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-27-2012, 08:35 PM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
What is Costco asking for the 7065? The RX-V773WA, which is exactly the same except that it includes the wireless adapter, has the same $850 MSRP. My guess is that Costco is discounting the 7065 though right?

At any rate, the extra features of the 7065 over the 673 are two HDMI outputs, more sophisticated room correction, and full preamp outputs.

JBWIII is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-28-2012, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hotscot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Approx $480 for the 7065 in Costco...looked like a good deal but i don't know.
Hotscot is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-28-2012, 08:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Hotscot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What Hi Fi gave the 673 Product of the Year award
Hotscot is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-28-2012, 10:55 AM
Advanced Member
 
JBWIII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York City
Posts: 875
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Sounds like a good deal to me. The thing has a ton of features, lots of power and I haven't heard many complaints about Yamaha reliability for the 2012 models.

JBWIII is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-28-2012, 11:12 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 207 Post(s)
Liked: 388
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hotscot View Post

Approx $480 for the 7065 in Costco...looked like a good deal but i don't know.

The HTR-7065/RX-V773 is a better deal at $480 than the 673 if the price is close.

I would get the 7065 for the better version of YPAO, preamp outputs, and dual HDMI outputs.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-24-2013, 06:30 AM
Newbie
 
Mayoor Singal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All,

I just bought a new Yamaha HTR-7065. I have an apple TV, PS3, a PC and a Cisco Cable Set Top box in my setup. All else works great except the cable.

I read the manual and set my AV2 option such that audio for it comes from AV6 (component audio). In other words, the R,G,B of the component cable from set top box goes into AV2 and Red and White of component cable from set top box goes into AV6. I matched the On Screen settings for AV2 to reflect the same.

The above isnt giving any audio or video although i am certain the cable set top box is switched on.

Any help that any one can provide on this will be highly appreciated

-Mayoor
Mayoor Singal is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 01-24-2013, 06:48 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 296 Post(s)
Liked: 851
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mayoor Singal View Post

Hi All,

I just bought a new Yamaha HTR-7065. I have an apple TV, PS3, a PC and a Cisco Cable Set Top box in my setup. All else works great except the cable.

I read the manual and set my AV2 option such that audio for it comes from AV6 (component audio). In other words, the R,G,B of the component cable from set top box goes into AV2 and Red and White of component cable from set top box goes into AV6. I matched the On Screen settings for AV2 to reflect the same.

The above isnt giving any audio or video although i am certain the cable set top box is switched on.

Any help that any one can provide on this will be highly appreciated

-Mayoor
Try posting that here:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1449409/yamaha-rx-v773-thread

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #11 of 11 Old 02-24-2013, 12:51 PM
Newbie
 
AudB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Purchased the HTR-7065 from Costco a couple of weeks ago. I needed to replace a 12 year old functioning Pioneer VSX-D711 AVR with no HDMI so I could install an Optoma ML500 projector. The Pioneer was an entry level 5.1 with a list price of $365 and I probably paid $180. All this is to say take my review with a grain of salt, however, I really am enjoying the sound of this new Yamaha compared to my Pioneer and feel like I should be impressed with it since it is a step up in price point. The HTR-7065 brought new life to my speakers and sounds much clearer and open especially at louder volumes. Also, dialogue in movies is much clearer and balanced. I have not explored all functions on this yet but have used the room correction and was happy with the results (although I did increase my sub woofer volume slightly from what it came up with). What is awesome is that you can go back and retrieve the original test and switch back and forth between your user settings and the auto room corrections without having to re-perform the test. The only connections I have tried so far have been the HDMI which all of my components are running straight through. Hope this helps.
AudB is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V673 Receiver , Yamaha Htr 7065
Gear in this thread - V673 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off