Help decide on receivers (Yamaha RX-V473 vs Denon AVR-1613) for an entry to mid-level home theater system... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 12-28-2012, 09:18 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My current setup:

Sony HX800 3D 240 Hz TV
PlayStation 3
Comcast Cable Receiver/DVR

My living room (where I have the TV) size is 22'x12' and the viewing distance from TV is 14'.
I work as a consultant so there is always a possibility of me relocating.
So not looking to spend a lot (around $600 for receiver and speakers) and on heavy stuff right now.
I can spend more a few months later.

Receiver:

I'm looking for a decent receiver with Networks treaming and 3D. I don't necessarily need 7.2 but it would be nice if it fits in the price range. Currently looking at Yamaha RX-V473 ($350 now) (seems no Graphical User Interface) or Denon AVR-1613 (no video upconversion and upscaling but I don't need I guess. Only play blu-ray and HD channels and PS3 has upconversion).

Network radio streaming is important (either Wi-Fi or Ethernet port) especially Pandora and Spotify. Currently I steam music, video, phot libraries from my PC to PS3 (or access them from these devices) or my Sony TV through Wifi connection and the media server option available in those devices. But I am not able to stream live radio from the PC to these devices. Is receivers with Spotify only work for Premium subscribers or can we play using the free spotify account as well? Are there other ways to stream music?

Here is a comparsion of the receiver using Crutchfield website.

http://www.crutchfield.com/App/Product/CompareTo.aspx?g=10420&cc=01&compareItems=01|033AV1613&compareItems=01|022RXV473

Speakers:

If I get one of the above receivers, I am looking at either thus Jamo S 426 ($130) or Enery Take Classic 5.0 speaker package ($160) with Polk Audio PSW-10 subwoofer is pretty much decided ($80).