denon 2807, 3806, 4306, 987 question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 05:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cowboyfromhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im looking at getting one of these receivers used. i was wondering if i got one of these units (being hdmi 1.1) if i hooked my ps3 up to one of them if my ps3 would be do the audio decoding?
cowboyfromhell is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 05:26 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,135
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
Yes, the PS3 would be set to LPCM to decode the HD audio or if set to bitstream would pass the lossy DD/DTS audio.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #3 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cowboyfromhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok i just wanted to make sure because i have a yamaha 3090 and i cant play blue ray. would i be better to invest into a 1.3 or 1.4 hdmi or would a ps3 and a hdmi 1.1 be better?
cowboyfromhell is offline  
post #4 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 123
For the purposes of getting lossless audio from Blu-ray, a PS3 decoding and sending multichannel PCM over an HDMI 1.1 connection is just fine. There's no advantage to receiver decoding on that front. But, there may be other reasons to get a more modern processor, some of which have much improved room correction and other upgraded features.
BIslander is online now  
post #5 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cowboyfromhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
im not worried about 3d tv. i have a 50" 120hz led tv
cowboyfromhell is offline  
post #6 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 08:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 123
OK. But, I was refering to audio improvements.
BIslander is online now  
post #7 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 08:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cowboyfromhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what are the improvements that id have to worry about? is their a big difference from 1.1.to 1.4 for non 3d tvs?
cowboyfromhell is offline  
post #8 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 08:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 123
Much better room correction and features such as Dolby Volume or Audyssey Dynamic Volume.
BIslander is online now  
post #9 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 08:35 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cowboyfromhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
would a denon avr 2311ci be a better upgrade?
cowboyfromhell is offline  
post #10 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 09:38 PM
Member
 
highmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The last two numbers on Denon's are the model year. Referring to Batpig's guide (http://batpigworld.com/fadq.html#general), a relatively nice GUI that overlays video is present on the 3808 (a higher, older model) and 2310 and higher from 2010 models, 2311 and higher from 2011 models. That also relates to HDMI video capabilities, although lower models will still pass through HDMI video which is probably fine. The 2011 models are the beginning of 3D capability (HDMI 1.4), which you said you don't care about.
I'm not sure about the Audyssey status of the models that you listed at the beginning of the post, but the 2310 and 2311 have Audyssey MultEQ (pretty good, and likely better than most of the models you listed). The 2310 would be HDMI 1.3 (as mentioned, no real difference in sound quality vs. 1.1 when used with the PS3 - just changes where you can do the decoding).
Another option is the 1712, which is the cheapest way to get Audyssey MultEQ XT for another step up in audio quality. It has the features of a modern AVR except for networking. You didn't really list any special requirements which might make some options better than others, such as analog inputs or extra zones.

LCR: Hsu HB-1 MK2, HC-1 MK2 ........ Subwoofers: Rhythmik D15SE, Hsu VTF-2 MK4
Receiver: Denon 2310CI .................. Networking: ATV3, WDTV Live
Blu-Ray: Oppo BDP-80 .................... TV: Panasonic TC-50PU54
highmr is offline  
post #11 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 10:17 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,135
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
^^
Just to clarify .... the last two digits in the Denon model number refer to the [model year +1], such that the XX11 models were released in 2010 and are actually the first HDMI 1.4a/3D series. Also all of the models the OP listed use the more advanced Audyssey MultEQ XT which is superior to the standard MultEQ used in both the 2310CI and 2311CI.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #12 of 26 Old 12-30-2012, 10:19 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,135
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboyfromhell View Post

would a denon avr 2311ci be a better upgrade?

Not in audio fidelity no, rather only that it can pass a 3D signal and the models you listed cannot.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #13 of 26 Old 12-31-2012, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cowboyfromhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by highmr View Post

The last two numbers on Denon's are the model year. Referring to Batpig's guide (http://batpigworld.com/fadq.html#general), a relatively nice GUI that overlays video is present on the 3808 (a higher, older model) and 2310 and higher from 2010 models, 2311 and higher from 2011 models. That also relates to HDMI video capabilities, although lower models will still pass through HDMI video which is probably fine. The 2011 models are the beginning of 3D capability (HDMI 1.4), which you said you don't care about.
I'm not sure about the Audyssey status of the models that you listed at the beginning of the post, but the 2310 and 2311 have Audyssey MultEQ (pretty good, and likely better than most of the models you listed). The 2310 would be HDMI 1.3 (as mentioned, no real difference in sound quality vs. 1.1 when used with the PS3 - just changes where you can do the decoding).
Another option is the 1712, which is the cheapest way to get Audyssey MultEQ XT for another step up in audio quality. It has the features of a modern AVR except for networking. You didn't really list any special requirements which might make some options better than others, such as analog inputs or extra zones.

i'd prefer a reciever to have atleast 2 composite (green/blue/red) because my girlfriend has a wii and i have a old xbox 360 (the white/original version). both digital coaxial and fiber optic prefer 2 or more for both. thats why im looking at some of the older denon recievers
cowboyfromhell is offline  
post #14 of 26 Old 12-31-2012, 09:13 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,135
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
That would be "component" cable (red/blue/green), however, you can also buy a Wii2HDMI and drop the requirement to only one component video cable input.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #15 of 26 Old 01-02-2013, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
cowboyfromhell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
a question about dts and blu ray. since my yamaha 3090 isnt dts and i cnat play blu ray thru it (no sound). does a receiver have to be a certain dts or can it be any kind of dts?
cowboyfromhell is offline  
post #16 of 26 Old 01-02-2013, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 123
^^ You can play DTS right now by having your player do the decoding. Use an S/PDIF digital connection, set the downmix in the player to Surround Encoding, and apply PLII in the Yamaha. You'll get sound just fine and pretty reasonable surround as well. As for DTS decoding, there are two basic types. DTS decoders handle standard lossy DTS Surround. DTS-HD decoders handle lossless Master Audio. Lossy DTS sounds great, especially at the high bitrates used on Blu-ray. So, the lack of a Master Audio decoder is not a big deal.
BIslander is online now  
post #17 of 26 Old 01-03-2013, 08:44 AM
Member
 
highmr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are correct that the component input is being phased out. The 1712 still does have two component inputs and one output. By comparison the 1713 no longer has component at all. What it doesn't do is convert component to HDMI, so you would need a separate component input to the TV. In 2012 models, you need to go to the 2112 for a model that does both XT and video conversion.
Since JDS pointed out that the older, high end models you listed have XT, they do have the best combination of sound quality, build quality, and legacy inputs for the price. You mainly lose convenience.

LCR: Hsu HB-1 MK2, HC-1 MK2 ........ Subwoofers: Rhythmik D15SE, Hsu VTF-2 MK4
Receiver: Denon 2310CI .................. Networking: ATV3, WDTV Live
Blu-Ray: Oppo BDP-80 .................... TV: Panasonic TC-50PU54
highmr is offline  
post #18 of 26 Old 04-04-2013, 02:53 PM
Newbie
 
hook it up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Denon 2807...cant get a basic hookup going with the tv...no audio or video...tried audio out with RCA's from TV to the denon but no sound... Tried cable direct to denon receiver and then HDMI to TV but no image on TV screen...can't figure it out. Scrolled through functions on denon with both hookups still nothing.
hook it up is offline  
post #19 of 26 Old 04-04-2013, 02:59 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,135
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
Unless you have a separate cable/sat box, you cannot connect the "cable" to the AVR as it has no TV tuner installed. You should however, be able to connect either the optical audio output or analog audio outputs to the AVR and get audio. Ensure the connections are "outputs" on the TV and that you have the TV audio set to "External speakers" or "Home theater" so the audio does not play through the TV speakers.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #20 of 26 Old 04-04-2013, 03:05 PM
Newbie
 
hook it up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! Tried that with red and white rca's from tv audio out port to the avr's tv audio in port. And tried switching the tv to external speakers but nothing
hook it up is offline  
post #21 of 26 Old 04-04-2013, 03:06 PM
Newbie
 
hook it up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was thinking I might be in the wrong mode on the avr??
hook it up is offline  
post #22 of 26 Old 04-04-2013, 03:17 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,135
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
If you have the RCA cable connected to an input source name on the AVR that is not used by another source (eg. HDMI) then it should work when that source name is selected. Try connecting to the "TV" analog audio jacks.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #23 of 26 Old 04-04-2013, 03:31 PM
Newbie
 
hook it up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok did what u suggested again then scrolled through the functions on the avr and finally got sound when in TV mode clicking the input button to analog. Great! The only thing now is the sound is scratchy as if the speakers are blown which I know there not as I've crossed checked with other speakers and switched polarity to see if that was it. Is the avr gone bad or...?
hook it up is offline  
post #24 of 26 Old 04-04-2013, 03:47 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,135
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
You can try resetting the AVR's microprocessor (p. 42 OM).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
post #25 of 26 Old 04-04-2013, 04:03 PM
Newbie
 
hook it up's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Reset now no sound gonna mess with this later thanks for ur insights
hook it up is offline  
post #26 of 26 Old 04-05-2013, 02:34 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,135
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 396 Post(s)
Liked: 1340
Resetting the microprocessor restored all settings to factory defaults, so you'll have to reselect the "Analog" input mode again as you did previously. What master volume level are you using? How many speakers? Does the noise come from all speakers?

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off