Connecting computer to Denon AVR-590 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-01-2013, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bigfoot1794's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently bought a Denon AVR-590 receiver with Boston speakers to play movies from my computer and play games on my xbox 360 on my Samsung SyncMaster monitor.
I've been able to hook up the xbox by running both an hdmi cable and composite audio cables from the xbox to the receiver then a hdmi cable from the receiver to a hdmi to DVI converter plugged into the monitor. With that the xbox worked perfectly, however when I take the hdmi cable from the xbox and plug it into my video card in my computer I can't get anything to show up but a black screen.

The computer is running Windows 7 Professional 64-bit with service pack 1 and 8 gb of RAM. The video card is an AMD Radeon HD 6670.

If I go to Control Panel - Hardware and Sounds - Sound I get this.



I've looked at this post but it didn't seem to help.
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1226539/trouble-connecting-computer-to-av-receiver-via-hdmi
Setting the resolution doesn't change it and the DVI connection isn't analog correct?

I've tried playing with different settings and inputs on the receiver but I have yet to have any luck.

Sorry for the long post I just want to make sure I'm thorough. Can anyone give me some ideas on what to do to get this working?
bigfoot1794 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-02-2013, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bigfoot1794's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bump.
Any help would be appreciated.
bigfoot1794 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-04-2013, 04:39 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
bigfoot1794's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright so I was messing around with settings and stuff on the Samsung monitor while I had my computer (opened to the Catalyst Control Center detect displays page) connected by a VGA cable to another monitor and the receiver by HDMI. The receiver was connected to the Samsung monitor by the HDMI - DVI cable. There was a button on the monitor that I assume changes the input between digital and analog. If I switch the monitor to Analog the computer shows this on the other monitor.

That shows me that my computer and monitor are communicating but only when the monitor won't show it.
What's going on???
bigfoot1794 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off