adding speakers - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 01-03-2013, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dep378's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently hooked up my stereo in my new home & now want to add more speakers. I have a Yamaha RX-V650(several years old) & a center, R, L, Surrounds, & sub hooked up. I want to add a couple more speakers in the kitchen & someday outdoors. I would like to be able to turn them on only when cooking or w/ guests. What is the best way to do this? Zone 2, Speaker B, another receiver(I have a HTIB), amp, preamp? I am somewhat new to all this. I tried hooking to Zone 2, but didn't work. Maybe I did it wrong. Any advice will help. Thanks.
dep378 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-03-2013, 12:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
K Shep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
I quickly read the owners manual for your receiver page 63, you need too pull up the "set menu" on the front display and turn "zone 2" on. This will allow the internal amplifier to power the speakers you have plugged in to zone 2 on the back of the unit.
K Shep is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-04-2013, 07:37 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dep378's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is what I thought, but I tried it & it didn't work. I'll try it again. It's in a closet & hard to get to. I'll take it out & try it again. Thanks
dep378 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-08-2013, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
dep378's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried again last night on the zone 2 & nothing. Anyone know a trick to this? I read somewhere that I need to be on 5.1, not 6.1 or 7.1. I changed the settings to what I thought was surround 5.1, but still noihing. If I want to hook up 4 more speakers, can I use an external amp?
dep378 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 01-08-2013, 05:46 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 60,549
Mentioned: 160 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8777 Post(s)
Liked: 3983
Keep in mind that only analog connected sources will pass to Zone 2 so add a RCA (red/white) cable in addition to HDMI for the main zone and you should be good to go. smile.gif

------------
"JD" - Call 585-645-1006 or email jd@avscience.com for AVR selection and pricing discussion 8am - 8pm EST daily (incl Sat/Sun)
AV Science - Dealer for Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atl Tech, SVS, Oppo

Think you have a defective AVR? Owner's manual - Factory reset 4-5 times in a row.
jdsmoothie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

taboola here
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off