Where does the analog input come from, then? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 01-03-2013, 03:52 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Taylor26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let me get this straight.

On the new AVRs (e.g. Denon 4520, Pioneer SC67/68), which have multizone capability, you can't output to an analog zone if input is digital (HDMI). You cannot even downscale to SD output over composite. So effectively you get one extra zone in a "high-end" AVR. Whoopy f****** doo.

As of a year ago, under FCC ruling, at the request of the industry that owns it, BR players cannot output component.

FIOS brings its TV signal in under HDMI. Presumably cable companies, once they enter the 21st century, will do likewise.

I have just one question.

Once I have ripped all my BDs and removed all the copy protection crap, what options do I have for sending content to a TV?
Taylor26 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 01-03-2013, 03:55 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,987
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 1315
Those models you listed have a dedicated Zone 4(HDMI) output which can pass the HDMI source video/audio to either a TV (to use the TV speakers for audio) or a 2nd AVR (to power an external set of speakers).

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-03-2013, 04:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Taylor26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, my post was primarily about using one of these beasts for multi-zone TV, rather than 17 different audio channels.

As I said, Zone 4 is the extra digital zone.

You have a 3rd HD zone with component, but where do you get the content from?

And if I just want to have a SD signal on a small satellite TV (ran to the kitchen to make a sandwich, for example), the industry tells me I get one chance to do that...and it's got to be HD!

I realize I can buy a HDMI switch and pray that I am not one of those complaining on Amazon that it won't work for me.

I no longer see the point of multi-zone AVRs.

It's like the industry has decided that analog is out, they just haven't got around to telling us yet.

It's too bad that the replacement for analog is such junk technology.
Taylor26 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-03-2013, 04:13 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,987
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 1315
The 4520CI will pass either a component or composite video signal to Zone 2. The audio will pass as well when connected via red/white stereo cables from the source.


---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-03-2013, 04:44 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Taylor26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BR players can no longer provide component output, so you're limited to composite.

So you rely on the BR player providing both HDMI and composite/stereo signals in parallel.

How much longer is composite going to be with us?

For a fraction of the price, I can invest in a HDMI switch, which might work depending on the phase of the moon.

Sorry, after spending a lot of time investigating the state of the art, it is disappointing to find out how FUBAR things are.

I have sympathy for those that rip their DVDs and BRs, so they can get out of the inane straitjackets in which the industry is trying to wrap its customers.
Taylor26 is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-03-2013, 06:05 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,987
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 1315
You can also add an HDMI --> component converter.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011410&p_id=8125&seq=1&format=2

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-04-2013, 02:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Taylor26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, but the problems is these AVRs produce SD-only output in Zones 2 and 3.....and the SD output cannot be downscaled from HDMI input!

So I guess the solution here is to feed HDMI output from BR player through this to produce SD output? But if I want HD output on main screen, I'll need a HDMI switch between this and the BR player. So again, why do I need a multi-zone AVR?
Taylor26 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-04-2013, 02:44 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 42,987
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 343 Post(s)
Liked: 1315
They don't "produce" SD output, but rather will simply pass through what is received by the source device over the component video input ... either SD or HD video.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - AVSForum sponsor for 15 years  
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun, leave message)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9 of 9 Old 01-04-2013, 04:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Taylor26's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks. Our last two posts are in complete agreement :-).

There is no component input any more.
Taylor26 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off