"The Official Yamaha RX-V773 Thread" - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 910 Old 02-12-2014, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 77
The Yamaha 1020/30 series and above have a 490 watt power supply. The 675/775/830 models all
use a 400 watt power supply. The 575/475 drop down to 270 watts. This all becomes noticeable when
benchtested in multichannel.

The pioneer 1121 has a 570 watt power supply. The next year after was a major downgrade. Quit
watching pioneer after that. I was mainly doing a maximum volume under extreme load (5.0 large)
test to verify the Yamaha going into protection before maximum volume. It did. Still plays decent loud.
Especially as 5.1 small. I don't have a golden ear and only listened for a few minutes so no more
comparison about sound quality. Yamaha has a manual 7 band parametric eq for each speaker and
more eq curve choices than just flat. I prefer the natural curve, especially for music.

The 1121 did have a lot more test tones during the mic setup. I don't have room eq wizard to expertly
analyze the eq results. And I bought it for $50 less than the 773 in a closeout sale. At s&v the sony 1040
tests out with more power than either with only a 240 watt power supply. It must have class d amps or
something. It has a few problems that make it not worth buying to me.
kikkenit2 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 910 Old 02-12-2014, 02:31 PM
Advanced Member
 
jontyrees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThinkRationally View Post

I don't think that music or movie material comes close to fully driving all channels at once, so it shouldn't put the same load on it as the benchmark testing does. That said, if power is a big concern for you, an amp might be a consideration. The difference between 40w and 80w is only 3 dB, although the headroom is nice to have.
rational me hears you and agrees, and listens to all the positive reviews of this box. Kneejerk me says "1/3 the power, what's up with that?" Researching products on the internet is always the same - "this, but that"
jontyrees is offline  
post #723 of 910 Old 02-12-2014, 02:37 PM
Senior Member
 
ThinkRationally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jontyrees View Post

rational me hears you and agrees, and listens to all the positive reviews of this box. Kneejerk me says "1/3 the power, what's up with that?" Researching products on the internet is always the same - "this, but that"

Yeah, I'm not trying to sway you this way or that, just commenting on the benchmarking. I run my 773 in 5.1 with small speakers now, and it gets loud enough to be uncomfortable (the sub helps here). I don't even come close to full volume (I don't want clipping). It goes to +16.5, and I generally listen between -15 and -30dB. I've gone to 0, but not for long (different sources have different input levels, so 0 isn't the same for all of them). I like the 773, and it's got pre-outs if I ever decide I "need" an amp biggrin.gif
ThinkRationally is offline  
post #724 of 910 Old 02-12-2014, 02:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
jontyrees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkenit2 View Post

The Yamaha 1020/30 series and above have a 490 watt power supply. The 675/775/830 models all
use a 400 watt power supply. The 575/475 drop down to 270 watts. This all becomes noticeable when
benchtested in multichannel.

The pioneer 1121 has a 570 watt power supply. The next year after was a major downgrade. Quit
watching pioneer after that. I was mainly doing a maximum volume under extreme load (5.0 large)
test to verify the Yamaha going into protection before maximum volume. It did. Still plays decent loud.
Especially as 5.1 small. I don't have a golden ear and only listened for a few minutes so no more
comparison about sound quality. Yamaha has a manual 7 band parametric eq for each speaker and
more eq curve choices than just flat. I prefer the natural curve, especially for music.

The 1121 did have a lot more test tones during the mic setup. I don't have room eq wizard to expertly
analyze the eq results. And I bought it for $50 less than the 773 in a closeout sale. At s&v the sony 1040
tests out with more power than either with only a 240 watt power supply. It must have class d amps or
something. It has a few problems that make it not worth buying to me.
I noticed that about the Sony too - but haven't researched it. I think the 1121 was kind of a sweetspot deal - Pioneer just rebadged a pretty nice Elite model to head up their Pioneer line, and I got a screaming deal on it at $399 on Black Friday at amazon a couple of years ago. Unfortunately it took a lightning hit that blew out the entire chain of HDMI ports from the cable box out, receiver in, receiver out to TV in. I looked into repair, but the service place wanted $100 just to tell me how much it would be to repair it (the authorized Pioneer service shop in town, no less). The subsequent 1122, 1123, etc weren't as nice imo. Decisions, decisions.....
jontyrees is offline  
post #725 of 910 Old 02-12-2014, 03:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThinkRationally View Post

Yeah, I'm not trying to sway you this way or that, just commenting on the benchmarking. I run my 773 in 5.1 with small speakers now, and it gets loud enough to be uncomfortable (the sub helps here). I don't even come close to full volume (I don't want clipping). It goes to +16.5, and I generally listen between -15 and -30dB. I've gone to 0, but not for long (different sources have different input levels, so 0 isn't the same for all of them). I like the 773, and it's got pre-outs if I ever decide I "need" an amp biggrin.gif
I pretty much agree with everything you say here, however the 773 does act weird. Even when I hooked up an external amp the receiver still went into protection. Disconnect every speaker and it still goes into protection. The biggest difference in volume was when I switched to small from large. All external amps used in a 5.1 small configuration played twice as loud before it shut down at basically max volume. The 1121 went just as loud using all internal amps, except subwoofer. The 773 never did get hot or distort or clip. And my speakers didn't get damaged at all like clipping would do.
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #726 of 910 Old 02-12-2014, 04:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by jontyrees View Post

The 1121 also allowed me to set 9-band eq curves and levels for each speaker individually, which I did after being completely underwhelmed by the setup the MCACC auto-calibration software gave me. Does the Yamaha allow this?
Yes. It has a 7 band parametric eq. that lets you eq each speaker individually. Except the sub.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #727 of 910 Old 02-12-2014, 08:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
jontyrees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Thanks all - doesn't sound like the 773 is going to have the stones for my liking. Such a shame when everything but the amp section appears to be excellent. Unfortunately that's by far the most important part for me - I really don't care about Airplay, networking, auto correct, etc. I wonder why Yamaha would skimp in that area?
jontyrees is offline  
post #728 of 910 Old 02-12-2014, 08:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Although Im sure some have I dont recall anyone complaining that the 773 was underpowered. Its certainly not common.
Good luck.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #729 of 910 Old 02-12-2014, 09:07 PM
Newbie
 
619liquid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, fellas! Got a question about hooking up 2 more speakers for party mode. I currently have a pair of speakers out in my patio (ZONE 2) I would like to add another pair, I was wondering if speaker switchers will do the trick? http://www.amazon.com/Speaker-Selector-Switch-Switcher-Splitter/dp/B0043JBLC0/ref=sr_1_3?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1392267496&sr=1-3&keywords=speaker+switcher

From what I gather, I take the zone 2 wires into the switcher and I can now run 2 pairs of speakers? Will this be ok for my receiver? thx in advance!
619liquid is offline  
post #730 of 910 Old 02-13-2014, 10:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
jontyrees's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by mattg3 View Post

Plenty of space since the receiver will be on top of bookcase like structure that can be easily moved away from the wall.Thanks
Just get a sheet of wood, or plastic, maybe a chopping board from a kitchen store, 14" wide, and set that on the table top, with the receiver on top.
jontyrees is offline  
post #731 of 910 Old 02-14-2014, 12:20 PM
Member
 
Sancho101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I received a Yamaha 7065 from Newegg yesterday. It only took one day to ship to Nor Cal with free shipping. Although it's a refurbished unit, the way it was packaged makes it appear to be new. The only thing I noticed is a small sticker on the bottom of the unit that says "Refurbished Unit". It comes with a 1 year manufacturer warranty and I can return it to Newegg within 30 days. Some people got this same unit from Costco for $380 or so about a year ago. I got mine for $360. No complaints so far. I haven't had a chance to hook up the speakers yet. I needed the 2 hdmi outputs since I need to switch between a Panasonic TV and a projector. Before this, I was using a 4X2 matrix switch to connect all of my devices to the TV and projector. I started to program my Harmony Remote last night and I can really see that this unit combined with the Harmony remote greatly simplifies switching from one display to another. Plus I can now use my WII on the projector.
Sancho101 is offline  
post #732 of 910 Old 02-15-2014, 06:35 AM
Member
 
Boomassiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by ThinkRationally View Post

I don't think that music or movie material comes close to fully driving all channels at once, so it shouldn't put the same load on it as the benchmark testing does. That said, if power is a big concern for you, an amp might be a consideration. The difference between 40w and 80w is only 3 dB, although the headroom is nice to have.


This was my thoughts when I purchased the 773. If I have any issue with the power which I'm sure I won't coming from a lesser receiver I will add an amp on front channels.
Boomassiv is online now  
post #733 of 910 Old 02-15-2014, 09:14 AM
Member
 
Sako7STW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13

So I have been playing with the settings on my 773 this morning and I have a few questions:

 

For those with Direct TV, which audio settings do you use?  I selected suround decoder and it says straight and it isn't giving the options I seen before like the various DTS's, NEO, ext..

 

Now what about your settings for those using a PS3?

 

Thanks


My setup:

Yamaha RX-V773 with WIFI & Bluetooth

Bic Acoustech PL-28 II center

Bic Acoustech PL-76 Newversion tower fronts

Bose 601 Series IV towers rear

Cerwin-Vega ATS-SAT4 front presence

Advent ASW-1200 sub

Sako7STW is offline  
post #734 of 910 Old 02-15-2014, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
ThinkRationally's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 301
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sako7STW View Post

So I have been playing with the settings on my 773 this morning and I have a few questions:

For those with Direct TV, which audio settings do you use?  I selected suround decoder and it says straight and it isn't giving the options I seen before like the various DTS's, NEO, ext..

Now what about your settings for those using a PS3?

Thanks

Is the TV signal in 5.1, and do you also have a 5.1 speaker setup? If so, you don't need Dolby PLII or NEO decoders--they would take a signal like 2 channel stereo and convert it to 5.1.
Sako7STW likes this.
ThinkRationally is offline  
post #735 of 910 Old 02-15-2014, 10:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sako7STW View Post

So I have been playing with the settings on my 773 this morning and I have a few questions:

For those with Direct TV, which audio settings do you use?  I selected suround decoder and it says straight and it isn't giving the options I seen before like the various DTS's, NEO, ext..

Now what about your settings for those using a PS3?

Thanks
If you select surr decode with a 5.1 signal it wont offer PLII and NEO as options. Those are only necessary for 2.0 signals that need to be processed into a "fake" 5.1 signal. So by displaying Straight it is letting you know the signal is 5.1.
Sako7STW likes this.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #736 of 910 Old 02-16-2014, 03:00 PM
Member
 
Local399's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was hoping one of you could help me out. I am looking for the best settings for my PS4 through this receiver. I have a 5.1 setup. My fronts and sub are from a company called "The Speaker Company" . The sub is powered and I set the volume at half and the xover all the way up (per instructions). The rears are an older Polk, sorta triangular shaped.

All the speakers (minus the sub) are what I would consider "small" bookshelf size however when I run the auto set up the receiver sets them to "large". Also, I seem to lose some "surround" effects. I notice mostly when gaming (which is primary use for this receiver). Also the sub feels like it could be a little louder, but I am trying to train myself to get used to that.

What settings on the PS4 and receiver should I use to get the most accurate signal from the PS4? Should I use any processing from the receiver after I get the cleanest signal?

Thanks in advance.
Local399 is offline  
post #737 of 910 Old 02-16-2014, 03:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Run YPAO until the 773 sets the sub volume to 0.
Set all speakers to small. Crossover to 80.
If you want to increase the sub volume tweak it at the sub.
I use the "Standard" DSP for most 5.1 material.

I dont own a PS4. You might want to ask about that in the PS4 thread.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #738 of 910 Old 02-16-2014, 03:44 PM
Member
 
gonzonator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

As far as the settings on the PS4 its pretty simple, just leave the audio on linear PCM and let your receiver decode it.

gonzonator is offline  
post #739 of 910 Old 02-16-2014, 04:58 PM
Member
 
Cro-man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Just purchased a refurbished HTR-7065 from New Egg. Replacing my Onkyo TX-NR807 which had no sound problem. Hopefully I don't have problems with this receiver. Thanks to Bond 007 to steer me with this decision.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
Cro-man is offline  
post #740 of 910 Old 02-16-2014, 05:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cro-man View Post

Just purchased a refurbished HTR-7065 from New Egg. Replacing my Onkyo TX-NR807 which had no sound problem. Hopefully I don't have problems with this receiver. Thanks to Bond 007 to steer me with this decision.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
YW. Hope it works out for you.

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #741 of 910 Old 02-18-2014, 08:01 PM
Member
 
Boomassiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 19

Man the YPAO is nice.  What an upgrade from my old Sony receiver from the mid 90s lol.  Think I found a sweet location for the sub because at half volume on the sub it set it to -6.5 in YPAO.  Adjusted it down until I got to -1.5 then manually turned it up to 0 on receiver which was perfect for me.  It is setting my PL-89II 5.1 set to all small.  I am going to read back through this thread and see if that is normal/preferred.

Boomassiv is online now  
post #742 of 910 Old 02-18-2014, 09:32 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bond 007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 12,063
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 838
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomassiv View Post

Man the YPAO is nice.  What an upgrade from my old Sony receiver from the mid 90s lol.  Think I found a sweet location for the sub because at half volume on the sub it set it to -6.5 in YPAO.  Adjusted it down until I got to -1.5 then manually turned it up to 0 on receiver which was perfect for me.  It is setting my PL-89II 5.1 set to all small.  I am going to read back through this thread and see if that is normal/preferred.
That all sounds good. YPAO set the 89s to small?

No, Mr. Bond. I expect you to die!
Bond 007 is online now  
post #743 of 910 Old 02-19-2014, 03:10 AM
Member
 
Boomassiv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Yes. I am going to run it again at another position. As it was they were only 5 ft from listening position because right now they are stuck in a small room. Also they are brand new with very little play time if that makes a difference.
Boomassiv is online now  
post #744 of 910 Old 02-19-2014, 02:27 PM
Newbie
 
kojohns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm considering the RX-V773 and am wanting to run 7.1 (5.1 + Front Height/Presence)... BUT, I want to only use the AVR as a preamp to external amplifiers. Can anyone tell me if the Front Presence can be output via Zone 2 Pre Out? I can't tell if that's the case in the manual or not?

I see that the internal amplifiers can be assigned to output speaker level to the Zone 2 / Presence binding posts, but I'm not sure if the same assigned signal goes to the Zone 2 Out ?

I guess one could say the same for wanting to use external amps on bi-amp preouts.
kojohns is offline  
post #745 of 910 Old 02-19-2014, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by kojohns View Post

I'm considering the RX-V773 and am wanting to run 7.1 (5.1 + Front Height/Presence)... BUT, I want to only use the AVR as a preamp to external amplifiers. Can anyone tell me if the Front Presence can be output via Zone 2 Pre Out? I can't tell if that's the case in the manual or not?

I see that the internal amplifiers can be assigned to output speaker level to the Zone 2 / Presence binding posts, but I'm not sure if the same assigned signal goes to the Zone 2 Out ?

I guess one could say the same for wanting to use external amps on bi-amp preouts.
Zone 2 (either internal or external amps) outputs can send any input (even digital) to both zones at the same time using
party mode or any analog, usb or network input by itself. The next model down doesn't have party mode.

And the intelligent amp feature allows both 7.1 and zone 2 to be connected at the same time.
It will switch back and forth depending on whether zone 2 is active. Most brands don't have this feature.
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #746 of 910 Old 02-19-2014, 05:46 PM
Newbie
 
kojohns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkenit2 View Post

Zone 2 (either internal or external amps) outputs can send any input (even digital) to both zones at the same time using
party mode or any analog, usb or network input by itself. The next model down doesn't have party mode.

And the intelligent amp feature allows both 7.1 and zone 2 to be connected at the same time.
It will switch back and forth depending on whether zone 2 is active. Most brands don't have this feature.

Party mode is like All Channel Stereo where the same source is sent to all outputs. I'm trying to figure out if a very specific subset of a source that's generated by Dolby Pro IIz DSP can be sent out a specific set of RCA Pre Outs... So Front Presence out of Zone 2 Pre Outs?
kojohns is offline  
post #747 of 910 Old 02-19-2014, 09:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kikkenit2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Redondo Beach, CA
Posts: 1,375
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I misread your post. Page 73 right side. Zone 2 out jacks analog stereo only.
Presence is internal amp only. Only the 2020 and above has presence preout jacks.
kikkenit2 is online now  
post #748 of 910 Old 02-19-2014, 10:05 PM
Member
 
Sancho101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question maybe someone can help with. I have my computer connected to my receiver with an HDMI cable. I want to send music from my computer to my receiver via HDMI. The receiver won't play the music unless I have my TV on. Is there a way to send audio to the receiver via HDMI and have the audio play on the receiver without turning on the TV?
Sancho101 is offline  
post #749 of 910 Old 02-20-2014, 07:05 AM
Newbie
 
kojohns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kikkenit2 View Post

I misread your post. Page 73 right side. Zone 2 out jacks analog stereo only.
Presence is internal amp only. Only the 2020 and above has presence preout jacks.

Thank you, I see it now... Maybe I'll just power the presence speakers with the AVR internal amp... or just leave it as 5.2... so many decisions :-)
kojohns is offline  
post #750 of 910 Old 02-20-2014, 08:13 AM
Senior Member
 
Goes to 11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 263
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sancho101 View Post

I have a question maybe someone can help with. I have my computer connected to my receiver with an HDMI cable. I want to send music from my computer to my receiver via HDMI. The receiver won't play the music unless I have my TV on. Is there a way to send audio to the receiver via HDMI and have the audio play on the receiver without turning on the TV?

Start with page 126 of the manual. Try turning off HDMI control in either the AVR, the TV, or both, I think that might do it.
Sancho101 likes this.
Goes to 11 is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Yamaha Rx V773wa Receiver
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off