Is Audyssey setup needed for all EQ settings? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 01-04-2013, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
zigzag240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had a 4306 since new and had a question about Audyssey setup the manual doesn't mention...that's been bugging me for years.

My earlier 3805 didn't have Audyssey...and when I did the mike/test tone setup it only went around the room once. Of course on the 4306 it gives you the option (suggestion) to move the mike to 6 different locations. But I never use Audessey, only the Front/Flat/and Off settings.

Q: So...if I use ONLY those basic EQ modes do I still have to let the mike sample in 6 different spots? Does it make a difference on all of them?confused.gif
zigzag240 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 01-04-2013, 04:43 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 43,613
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 1368
The distance and speaker/sub volume level settings are based on the #1 mic position, however, it's generally suggested to run the max number of mic positions offered in the particular version of Audyssey on the AVR in order to provide more data to the Audyssey filters. If you didn't use Audyssey at all then you would only need to do that #1 mic position, however, note that other than OFF, the other settings you are using are indeed Audyssey settings so the full round of 6 mic positions is recommended. Also note that the newer version of MultEQ XT (released the year after the 4306) now does 8 mic positions so that's two fewer then current XT owners. smile.gif

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AV Gear 
Mon - Fri: 8am – 8pm EST (Sat/Sun too, will return call if I don't pick up)
Call for pricing on Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Onkyo, Klipsch, Def Tech, Oppo, Parasound 
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off