Onkyo with sub - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 01-04-2013, 04:07 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rav1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi everyone,

I have just upgraded my Yamaha to receiver to a new onkyo 515. I have an Eltax powered sub which worked fine with my old Yamaha receiver. However I can not get my new one to detect it and use it. I believe it to be plugged into the correct input and the power is on as well as the volume is turned it.

When I run the auto set up (with the mic) it does not play any sound and then the pic of the on screen sub is removed.

I can go into the settings and manually add but no sound comes out sill. All of the bass is delivered through my main speakers.

I would appreciate anyone's help with this.

Thanks

Adam
rav1979 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 01-04-2013, 04:18 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 52,153
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4541 Post(s)
Liked: 2411
First visually confirm the sub cable is plugged into one of the two sub pre-outs and not the Zone 2 pre-out next to them .. and if you've done it, do it again. You'd be surprised how many guys just reached around and "thought" they got the sub pre-out only to find they missed. eek.gif Once plugged in to the correct input, then ensure the sub is set to "ON" and not "AUTO" while running the Auto setup routine. With the sub powered on, remove the cable from the sub pre-out and rub your finger over it .... do you hear static from the sub? If no, either the sub or the cable is defective. If yes, unplug the AVR for about 10 minutes and try the Auto Setup again. If still no joy, do the microprocessor reset procedure listed at the beginning of the Troubleshooting section in the Owner's manual.

------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; http://shop.avscience.com/ Call for sales info --> 585-645-1006 

Daily - 8am to 8pm EST
AVScience sells Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Oppo, and more
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 3 Old 01-05-2013, 11:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
rav1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Jdsmothie, thanks for the quick reply, followed all of these steps and now works perfectly, not sure which bit fixed it but all is good. Thanks for your help smile.gif
rav1979 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off