Onkyo HT-RC460 owners chime in on what you think of the new receiver purchse you made please. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 71 Old 01-04-2013, 11:12 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Manshoon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I just purchased this new receiver tonight, Onkyo HT-RC460, and I am wondering how others are getting along with their new purchases. Is there anything I need to watch out for as far as reliability goes ?

I thought about buying up a Refurbished Onkyo HT-S9400 THX 7.1 Ch Network Home Theater Receiver from accessories4less.com, but after reading some of the reviews from the company, I thought I had best call them on Monday and see what the deal is with dead on arrivals units, in case I was to get one that wasn't so refurbished as repackaged or over looked.

I have yet to buy a speaker package for the new receiver I got tonight, and after it is all said and done, with extras, warranties and mounts ect.. I will be over 1k into a new set up, or go refurbished for about 800. or so with Banana plugs ect..

Any input would be greatly appreciated regarding Accessories4less and thoughts of a refurbish purchase, or keep my new Onkyo HT-RC460 and add speakers. I just want a setup that plays well with the new TV, Sharp 70" LCD, that sounds great with BD Movies in surround modes and can keep up with future technologies 4k pass up ect..

Thanks

Manshoon smile.gif
Manshoon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 71 Old 01-05-2013, 06:06 PM
Newbie
 
mrb186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just picked up one myself from BB, but haven't gotten it yet. However it looks like the first thing that needs to happen is a firmware update. Onkyo's instructions are kinda ambiguous. Their 4 page PDF that explains the USB and Network update choices, doesn't explain what files really need to be placed onto the thumbdrive (seems like that might be a key piece of info???). If you go to the 140 page PDF user manual, it does specify that there are only 3 files and they must be the only files copied to the thumbdrive. BUT, if you un-zip their firmware update file, there is a group of 3 files AND another folder that contains 4 newer files??? Are there any RC460 owners out there that have encountered this issue? Thanks[/SIZE][/SIZE][/SIZE][/SIZE]
mrb186 is offline  
post #3 of 71 Old 01-06-2013, 05:37 AM
Newbie
 
mapadot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just started installing this receiver yesterday. The USB upgrade requires you to use a USB with only the Onkyo firmware unzipped files on it. Turn off RIHD and use the home button on remote to go to Firmware update. Use USB button to select front or back usb. Takes about one hour to update.
mapadot is offline  
post #4 of 71 Old 01-06-2013, 07:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
raymondeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: toronto canada
Posts: 567
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What does the firmware update?
Does it fix the remote will not turn on the receiver??
After you install the firmware if you have problems can you downgrade the firmware to the original firmware?
Thanks.
raymondeast is offline  
post #5 of 71 Old 01-06-2013, 03:15 PM
Newbie
 
mrb186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, but did you use the 3 update files on your thumbdrive or the group of 4 files. If you check the properties of these files, the group of 4 are more current.
mrb186 is offline  
post #6 of 71 Old 01-08-2013, 03:44 PM
Member
 
iodeac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having a really difficult time with my Wii. I have Component 1 set to TV/CD and I can hear the music fine, but I can't seem to get the video to show on my TV. I thought with this receiver that I only needed 1 HDMI cable to carry the component signal. My Xbox 360 and Cable box work fine. Thanks!
iodeac is offline  
post #7 of 71 Old 01-09-2013, 04:49 AM
Newbie
 
alex0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had purchased the Denon 1913 for xmas. Almost $600. As soon i saw the Ht-RC460 on sale at best buy for $222.00. i purchased it instantly with a 4-year geek squad protection for $40. I returned the Denon the next day, and couldnt be happier.

Im still learning all the features, will let ya know if i have any problems.

Also from what i read the HT-RC460 is really the NR515
alex0404 is offline  
post #8 of 71 Old 01-09-2013, 06:50 AM
Newbie
 
jlawson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Where have you guys been finding this receiver for $220? I've been eyeballing this thing online for a week now, and the lowest I've seen it is $274.99 on the BB website. Any info would be awesome...thanks!
jlawson is offline  
post #9 of 71 Old 01-09-2013, 08:06 PM
Member
 
iodeac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I figured out the Wii problem on another thread, but I have a couple of questions. If I use USB for the firmware, how much space do I need. I think my biggest USB drive is only 4GB and I don't feel like buying a bigger drive just for this update, so I might have to connect my router to the receiver with an ethernet cable.

Also, I can't get the receiver to pickup the code for my Scientific Atlanta cable box so I can control it with the Onkyo remote. I was able to control it fine using my older onkyo that I bought in 2007. I wonder if there is a way to manually input a code instead of using the ones that populate once you pick the brand name?

Another thing I'm noticing is that if I'm looking at a 480p source like the Wii and change to Cable, my cable box isn't recognizing that I'm going to an HD station, so the resolution stays at 480p. I have to change to a different channel, and the cable box will then recognize that it's an HD station, and it'll look fine. Then I hit Last Channel and I can see the first channel in HD. I didn't notice it until I bought my new Vizio TV, but I'm not sure it's the cable box, receiver, or TV.
iodeac is offline  
post #10 of 71 Old 01-10-2013, 09:39 AM
Newbie
 
alex0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlawson View Post

Where have you guys been finding this receiver for $220? I've been eyeballing this thing online for a week now, and the lowest I've seen it is $274.99 on the BB website. Any info would be awesome...thanks!

I checked bestbuy a couple of weeks ago and it was on sale for $222, i quickly hit the Buy Button. The next day i checked again, best buy had raised the price to $300.
alex0404 is offline  
post #11 of 71 Old 01-10-2013, 09:43 AM
Newbie
 
alex0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iodeac View Post

I figured out the Wii problem on another thread, but I have a couple of questions. If I use USB for the firmware, how much space do I need. I think my biggest USB drive is only 4GB and I don't feel like buying a bigger drive just for this update, so I might have to connect my router to the receiver with an ethernet cable.

Download the instructions here

http://www.onkyousa.com/download/software.cfm
alex0404 is offline  
post #12 of 71 Old 01-11-2013, 05:52 AM
Newbie
 
hoverboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too was eyeing this receiver when it went on sale on Sunday of this week at BB....but, on Wednesday I put it in my cart, started to check out, and right before I submitted the order, it refreshed and said 'items in your cart have changed' or something like that. And this receiver has now shown 'sold out' since then.

I called BB dot com and complained and they couldn't tell me if they would get more eventually or if it was sold out for good. They said they would work with me to get a similar receiver. They first offered a Sony, which I quickly said NO to...then they offered up the Pioneer 1122k for the same price the Onkyo 460 was on sale for ($274), so I jumped on that.

Would still like to try out the Onkyo at some point, though...
hoverboard is offline  
post #13 of 71 Old 01-11-2013, 11:26 AM
Newbie
 
alex0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All sold out at best buy. Page doesn't even exist anymore.
alex0404 is offline  
post #14 of 71 Old 01-11-2013, 01:46 PM
Newbie
 
alex0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Instead of getting onkyo's wifi adapter. You can get the TP-Link TL-WN722N. The internals Is the same one as onkyo but you get a lot more range with the TP-link, and you can also upgrade the antenna to a bigger one to get even more range. Remember This is plug and play no installation required. I have it and its working flawlessly.

Newegg

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833704045
alex0404 is offline  
post #15 of 71 Old 01-11-2013, 03:15 PM
Member
 
iodeac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! I actually ordered that from Amazon a few hours ago, looking forward to setting up my network and streaming video once it gets here.

Also, I resolved my problem with upgrading the firmware. I just put all 7 files (including the sub-folder) on the USB drive. After realizing that I had a day-long brainfart where I thought all files would take up 72 "GB" instead of MB (and stressing all day about not wanting to put up the money for a 100GB USB drive), I realized my error, slapped myself on the forehead, copied all the files to USB, then completed the firmware update on USB. Now the firmware version is 1141-0108-0400, which is the current version, and there is no longer any option to upgrade/update firmware.

Mrb186, just throw all 7 files onto a USB drive, it takes about 72MB, plug into the receiver and in about an hour your firmware will be current.

Thanks!
iodeac is offline  
post #16 of 71 Old 01-11-2013, 03:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,146
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 212

I had Fry's match the $222 price a while back and so far so good. With upscaling, two subwoofer outputs, network streaming and whatnot feature wise it's hard to beat (for the price). Being a virtual clone of the NR series I have the same complaints... display can't be turned off, setup menus are rather childish, etc but once again how much did it cost? :) Sound wise it does the job and in my 2.0 installation I enjoy the Theater-dimensional sound mode.

Charles R is offline  
post #17 of 71 Old 01-12-2013, 07:40 AM
Newbie
 
beenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree with Charles, not being able to turn off the ugly green display and the terrible quality of the menu system is a huge turn off. I purchased the Denon AVR-1613 ($270 on black Friday), but one of the HDMI inputs didn't work, so I returned it for this receiver. The Denon had a better looking display (both on the receiver and the menu system) that you were able to turn off. Also, you were able to display the volume as -XXdb, which I prefer. The 7.2 is nice, even though I only have a 5.1 setup, in case I move and get a larger room where 7 channels would actually benefit me. After reading the manual I learned that I could bi-amp my front speakers, which I was all excited for. I figured 2 channels per speaker would double the power, so I did it. Then I kept finding that bi-amping speakers with an amp that uses the same power source (like all AVR's) is essentially a waste of time. Oh well, already did it.

Right now, I'm having an issue getting my Xbox (component video and optical audio) to show. I assigned Game to component but all I get is a blue screen.

After looking at the graph in post 13 of this thread, it appears that component inputs can't ouput past 480i, if I'm reading it correctly. Which really sucks since the Xbox is 1080i. I really don't want to have to connect the component directly to the tv, if i don't have to.
beenz is offline  
post #18 of 71 Old 01-12-2013, 01:43 PM
Newbie
 
alex0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My opinion is, all avr have ugly looking menus. This onkyo is not bad. The denon 1913 looked cheap to me. Even the remote looked like a toy.

Lately I've been using the onkyo remote 2 app to control the ht-rc460, and it makes it a lot easier to navigate the avr.
alex0404 is offline  
post #19 of 71 Old 01-12-2013, 02:24 PM
Member
 
iodeac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is this the Android app? Looking forward to using it once I get my Wireless USB adapter.
iodeac is offline  
post #20 of 71 Old 01-12-2013, 03:20 PM
Newbie
 
mrb186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, just got mine from Bestbuy ($275 & free shipping) and the firmware was at "1130-9107-0300". I'll put the 7 files on the thumbdrive and let it go at it. Still trying to interpret the manual for assigning analog inputs to the various buttons??? But the speaker calibration was very easy. As far as the green display, I would imagine that black electrical tape would do the trick.
mrb186 is offline  
post #21 of 71 Old 01-12-2013, 03:30 PM
Newbie
 
mrb186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh yeah, instead of wireless, I'm using the powerline ethernet adapters. They are pretty slick. Here's the Netgear version that I have but there are a bunch of other one out there.
http://www.amazon.com/NETGEAR-XEB1004-100NAS-Xeb1004-85Mpbs-Switch/dp/B0015U0FE0/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pdT1_nS_nC?ie=UTF8&colid=24OG2H0A4T5GO&coliid=IC3TAOBOXEURG
mrb186 is offline  
post #22 of 71 Old 01-14-2013, 05:10 AM
Newbie
 
mrb186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another possible option concerning the display: Use the dimmer settings and set it to the lowest brightness.
mrb186 is offline  
post #23 of 71 Old 01-14-2013, 10:15 AM
Newbie
 
alex0404's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is the green color display really that bad?
alex0404 is offline  
post #24 of 71 Old 01-14-2013, 10:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,146
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by alex0404 View Post

is the green color display really that bad?

 

It's a matter of preference but for me the green looks rather low-end. Also, I have a pet-peeve regarding devices that can't have their display turned off. Using electrical tape or these guys is fine. I wouldn't put up with the light in my dedicated room and it's still iffy if I will in the den. I know... it doesn't matter to most of the world one bit... :)

Charles R is offline  
post #25 of 71 Old 01-14-2013, 03:15 PM
Newbie
 
beenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrb186 View Post

Another possible option concerning the display: Use the dimmer settings and set it to the lowest brightness.

While the lowest brightness is rather dim, it's not off.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles R View Post

It's a matter of preference but for me the green looks rather low-end. Also, I have a pet-peeve regarding devices that can't have their display turned off. Using electrical tape or these guys is fine. I wouldn't put up with the light in my dedicated room and it's still iffy if I will in the den. I know... it doesn't matter to most of the world one bit... smile.gif

I agree, both that green looks bad (white is my preference) and devices whose display can't be turned off. Those light dim things are genius though. I'll have to get some for the uber bright DirecTV lights. Thanks for linking those.
beenz is offline  
post #26 of 71 Old 01-16-2013, 05:16 AM
Newbie
 
mrb186's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I tried the USB update with 3 different thumbdrives and the Onkyo kept reporting "no items" so I'm not sure what it was looking for. I used the subgroup of 3 files and then tried the subgroup of 4. Even placed them into a folder at one point. If I put my fully populated thurmbdrve in, it had no problem finding music and picture files??? It just didn't seem to recognize the update files.
mrb186 is offline  
post #27 of 71 Old 01-16-2013, 05:29 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Charles R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10,146
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 212
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrb186 View Post

Well, I tried the USB update with 3 different thumbdrives and the Onkyo kept reporting "no items" so I'm not sure what it was looking for. I used the subgroup of 3 files and then tried the subgroup of 4.

 

I believe you need the one set of files in the top (root) directory and the other in their sub-directory. That worked for me... formatted as FAT if I remember.

Charles R is offline  
post #28 of 71 Old 01-16-2013, 06:51 AM
Newbie
 
leckdog34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Iowa City, IA
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the Onkyo HT-RC460 from BB for $222 when it was on sale for one day. At the same time I was looking at some other Onkyo models on Amazon and the price was changing multiple times per day and going out of stock.

I have the receiver setup with my Acer H5360 PJ and 110" DIY BOC screen (carlofet.com) with Panny Blu-ray and xbox 360. I am using the powered Zone2 for my whole house audio and this feature works amazing with the Onkyo Remote App for Android (my wife is happy we finally have whole house audio working.....and easy with remote app and spotify smile.gif ).

I LOVE this receiver and did not have any problems with the firmware update over network. The only problem I had initially was getting the Xbox 360 to work but that was more an issue with my PJ since it is only 720p, once I set the xbox and receiver to output 720p only, it worked fine.
leckdog34 is offline  
post #29 of 71 Old 01-16-2013, 12:02 PM
Newbie
 
beenz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrb186 View Post

Well, I tried the USB update with 3 different thumbdrives and the Onkyo kept reporting "no items" so I'm not sure what it was looking for. I used the subgroup of 3 files and then tried the subgroup of 4. Even placed them into a folder at one point. If I put my fully populated thurmbdrve in, it had no problem finding music and picture files??? It just didn't seem to recognize the update files.

The files have t be on the root directory and those can be the only files on the drive, I believe.
beenz is offline  
post #30 of 71 Old 01-18-2013, 09:13 AM
Newbie
 
Chuckiechan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found to do the update on my RC 460, I used a flash drive with the files only - unzip them in a folder on your desk top and put the unzipped files only on a blank flash drive - no .pdf's or .zip's, just the raw update files.

Now to my beef. The unit is fine, but I had to print the manual and have it bound at Staples. Cost me like $12.00 to be "green" and all that. Huh? For me to be "green" I used twice as much paper because I printed single sided. It probably would cost Onkyo a dollar to print a manual.

Cheap can go too far.

Aside from that, it works fine. I paid $238 at Fry's in exchange for a Yahama that was on sale that I had to return. It borked out due to some electrical problem caused by poor design according to the guy at Fry's. I guess a tripped internal breaker requires a service center to fix. That was a bad omen and it was still returnable at Fry's.
Chuckiechan is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Ht Rc460 7 2 Channel Network A V Receiver Black
Gear in this thread - Rc460 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off