Need some help, new tv not compatible with surround sound - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 01-06-2013, 02:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cradle6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey everyone, first time posting.

So I bought a Vizio M3D0KD a couple days ago, and I've been struggling to connect it to my surround sound system, a panasonic pt950. The problem is, I've been connecting this system to my old tv with the red and yellow RCA cables (not actual surround sound, I know). The Vizio I bought only has optical audio out, something that the audio receiver does not have (only RCA and HDMI).

My question is, what is my best and most inexpensive option to get this system working? If possible, I'd like to finally use actual surround sound.

Should I just buy a new audio receiver, and if so, will it be compatible with all my speakers? (the pt950 has 3 wired speakers and 2 wireless speakers; the white and blue wire ones).

Or is there a better solution that I'm not seeing?

I really appreciate the help, as I'm not very knowledgable about this subject.
Cradle6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 01-06-2013, 03:10 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,491
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1985 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?seq=1&format=2&p_id=6884&CAWELAID=1329453854&cagpspn=pla&gclid=CMDJ5tK-07QCFRRbnAodI0EAQg

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #3 of 12 Old 01-06-2013, 09:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cradle6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wouldn't that just be stereo, not 5.1?

And also, doesn't that only work with stereo signals??
Cradle6 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 01-06-2013, 10:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 23,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 294 Post(s)
Liked: 417
In all honesty I think its time to replace your Panasonic PT950 with a real A/V receiver with HDMI inputs.

This is why I never recommend All in One systems like that to anyone...they lack inputs and connectivity.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 01-06-2013, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 81
You won't be able to use the wireless receiver or the subwoofer with a new receiver, but you can reuse the other speakers with a new receiver that supports 4 ohm speakers.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 01-06-2013, 11:01 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,491
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1985 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cradle6 View Post

Wouldn't that just be stereo, not 5.1?
And also, doesn't that only work with stereo signals??

Correct, but more than likely only a stereo signal is being output from the optical audio output on the TV. Your Panasonic then simulates 5.1 from that stereo input.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #7 of 12 Old 01-06-2013, 02:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cradle6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would it be better to just get a digital to analog converter or sell this system and just buy a $200 sound bar/sub? (something like this)

I just can't afford to do much more than that. Right now I'm dealing with the TV's speakers, and they're just dreadful.
Cradle6 is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 01-06-2013, 03:00 PM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,491
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1985 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
If you're satisfied with the audio from the current setup for now, might as well just get the converter and save up for a newer AVR and better 5.1 setup in the future.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
post #9 of 12 Old 01-06-2013, 03:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cradle6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross Ridge View Post

You won't be able to use the wireless receiver or the subwoofer with a new receiver, but you can reuse the other speakers with a new receiver that supports 4 ohm speakers.

Why wouldn't the subwoofer work by the way?

It is wired.
Cradle6 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 01-06-2013, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross Ridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 81
AV receivers these days only support powered subwoofers directly. Your subwoofer is unpowered, and so you would need to buy an external amplifer to drive it and it's probably not worth it.

I think you'd be better off saving your money until you can afford a half-decent entry level system so you're not making the same mistake again.

In the meantime according to the manual for the Vizio M3D470KDE it does in fact have a stereo analogue output that you can hook up to your existing receiver. It uses a 3.5mm headphone jack instead of RCA connectors. All you need is a simple 3.5mm to RCA cable.
Cradle6 likes this.
Ross Ridge is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 01-06-2013, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Cradle6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I took your advice and hooked up the unit with an RCA/3.5 mm adapter.

Only (expected) issue is that only 2 speakers play any sound. Is there anyway to "simulate" surround sound with stereo? As in, I know my subwoofer is basically useless now, but can I play sound over all 5 speakers using stereo?

Really appreciate help.
Cradle6 is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 01-07-2013, 04:22 AM
585-645-1006
 
jdsmoothie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 46,491
Mentioned: 19 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1985 Post(s)
Liked: 1749
On the Panasonic, you can use the Pro Logic surround mode to simulate 5.1 from the 2.0 source.
Cradle6 likes this.

---------------------------------
"JD" – jd@avscience.com ; shop.avscience.com ; 585-645-1006, AVScience - Authorized dealer for AVRs, Speakers, etc. 

Daily 8am – 8pm EST (including weekends)
Call for pricing - Denon, Marantz, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Def Tech, Atlantic Tech, Oppo
** Think the AVR is defective?  Reset the microprocessor 4-5 times. 
jdsmoothie is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off