2013 4K Harman Kardon AVR 2700 & 3700 receivers - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 766 Old 03-30-2014, 12:33 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
That is what I was afraid of.



gaaaaaa
e30cabrio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 766 Old 03-30-2014, 05:15 PM
Newbie
 
keefer649's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey there...just read your post now, and have recently purchased an avr 2700.........I have it attached to a 25 ft HDMI cable to my Epson projector, and it works just fine. No errors or any issues!!!!!
keefer649 is offline  
post #633 of 766 Old 03-31-2014, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I emailed my contact regarding the 3700 going into protection, here is his abridged response. (it does not include where he offers to (and I accepted) returning the fixed 7550.

The AVR3700 is the modern equivalent to the AVR345 (or 347) from the 645 era. The power amplifier and power supply of the 645 is quite a bit beefier and the protocol for how power output figures are attained has also changed. It’s true that the 3700 is our highest offering in our current lineup, but that is because we discontinued our top 3 tiers. There was no successor to the AVR445 and AVR645 (those tiers were dropped). AVR7550HD was the successor of AVR745, but as of now there has been no successor to the AVR7550HD (seems this tier was dropped too).

You are probably just hitting the limit of the AVR3700’s output. Possible solutions:
1) You could use the 645 as a power amp (connect 3700 pre outs to 645 direct in and wire speakers to 645)
2) Listen at slightly lower levels
3) If you have your speakers set to large, you could probably get more headroom out of the amp by raising the crossover frequency instead of running them full range.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #634 of 766 Old 04-02-2014, 10:19 AM
Member
 
RedLefty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post

I emailed my contact regarding the 3700 going into protection, here is his abridged response. (it does not include where he offers to (and I accepted) returning the fixed 7550.

The AVR3700 is the modern equivalent to the AVR345 (or 347) from the 645 era. The power amplifier and power supply of the 645 is quite a bit beefier and the protocol for how power output figures are attained has also changed. It’s true that the 3700 is our highest offering in our current lineup, but that is because we discontinued our top 3 tiers. There was no successor to the AVR445 and AVR645 (those tiers were dropped). AVR7550HD was the successor of AVR745, but as of now there has been no successor to the AVR7550HD (seems this tier was dropped too).

Wow. I know we've all been discussing the dip in quality/power, but to see it explicitly in those terms is shocking. I mean, "we discontinued our top 3 tiers"... holy crap.

My old 435 is still going but has some hiccups now and then, and I'd sure love to get HDMI capability and move from 5.1 to 7.1. But to spend almost a grand and have a decrease in true power output over my ancient receiver that was cheaper? No thanks.

Maybe it's time I start researching Anthem, Emotiva or some other players. I'll be starting from scratch since I was an HK loyalist for a long time.

RedLefty is offline  
post #635 of 766 Old 04-02-2014, 11:46 AM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
It is scary seeing as the 645 does not have as much rated power as the 3700 yet kicks it's aZZ.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #636 of 766 Old 04-02-2014, 11:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post

I emailed my contact regarding the 3700 going into protection, here is his abridged response. 

It’s true that the 3700 is our highest offering in our current lineup, but that is because we discontinued our top 3 tiers. 
 

 

 

Quote:
Originally Posted by RedLefty View Post


Wow. I know we've all been discussing the dip in quality/power, but to see it explicitly in those terms is shocking. I mean, "we discontinued our top 3 tiers"... holy crap.
 

 

Yup, there you have it...

 

Harman Kardon has officially gone out of the high-end audio/video business...

 

And is now concentrating on cheap, lightweight, plastic for the masses...

 

There will be no more AVR 7000s...

HDTVAV is offline  
post #637 of 766 Old 04-02-2014, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dollars, Taxes
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The Revolution will not be televised.
Bob7145 is offline  
post #638 of 766 Old 04-02-2014, 02:17 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob7145 View Post

The Revolution will not be televised.

And if it is it will be insufficiently amplified by current gen HK AVRs.

Can't wait to .get my 7550 back.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #639 of 766 Old 04-02-2014, 03:50 PM
Senior Member
 
Radio81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedLefty View Post

Wow. I know we've all been discussing the dip in quality/power, but to see it explicitly in those terms is shocking. I mean, "we discontinued our top 3 tiers"... holy crap.

My old 435 is still going but has some hiccups now and then, and I'd sure love to get HDMI capability and move from 5.1 to 7.1. But to spend almost a grand and have a decrease in true power output over my ancient receiver that was cheaper? No thanks.

Maybe it's time I start researching Anthem, Emotiva or some other players. I'll be starting from scratch since I was an HK loyalist for a long time.

IMO, if I had to pick an AVR today at $1000 or under, it would most likely be the Emotiva Fusion 8100. I know it won’t fit the bill for everyone since it has no legacy video connections, but for $699 it looks pretty solid.
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post

It is scary seeing as the 645 does not have as much rated power as the 3700 yet kicks it's aZZ.

That's because the rating system nowadays is crap. Specs like "100wpc with 2 channels driven at 8 ohms @ 1KHz" is meaningless. The old were rated wpc with all channels driven at 8 ohms 20Hz-20KHz.
Radio81 is offline  
post #640 of 766 Old 04-02-2014, 04:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
HDTVAV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: WI
Posts: 1,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio81 View Post


That's because the rating system nowadays is crap. Specs like "100wpc with 2 channels driven at 8 ohms @ 1KHz" is meaningless. The old were rated wpc with all channels driven at 8 ohms 20Hz-20KHz.

 

Exactly...

 

Back when they were still making the 7550 and before...

 

The HK ratings were actually BELOW that they could do...

 

What a shame that this once beloved company has gone to crap...

 

Seems like it's happening to more and more companies today...

HDTVAV is offline  
post #641 of 766 Old 04-02-2014, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bob7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Dollars, Taxes
Posts: 2,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 30
When I bought my HK 125, 325, 525 & S412Ps I bought the service manuals for them also in order to repair them if necessary. They will live as long as parts are available. Discrete components don't have to come from HK. smile.gif
Bob7145 is offline  
post #642 of 766 Old 04-02-2014, 08:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Radio81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
There
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob7145 View Post

When I bought my HK 125, 325, 525 & S412Ps I bought the service manuals for them also in order to repair them if necessary. They will live as long as parts are available. Discrete components don't have to come from HK. smile.gif

Yeah, that's the rub. There are still 2600s, 3600s, and 7550HDs to be found, but if you keep up with those threads here, most people ARE in fact having to service them. Or they're losing HDMI inputs left and right.
Radio81 is offline  
post #643 of 766 Old 04-02-2014, 08:34 PM
Member
 
RedLefty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Olathe, KS
Posts: 172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Radio81 View Post

IMO, if I had to pick an AVR today at $1000 or under, it would most likely be the Emotiva Fusion 8100. I know it won’t fit the bill for everyone since it has no legacy video connections, but for $699 it looks pretty solid.
.

Ha, in my poking around today looking at brands, specs and designs that's exactly what I came away with as my first choice. Great minds...

RedLefty is offline  
post #644 of 766 Old 04-02-2014, 09:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Radio81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedLefty View Post

Ha, in my poking around today looking at brands, specs and designs that's exactly what I came away with as my first choice. Great minds...

You bet man. I've read on here that the Emotiva Fusion 8100 is for sale now but not shipping until next week. I'm really tempted to try it out.

Aesthetically it's not as appealing to me as an HK, but I can look past that if it delivers on performance.
Radio81 is offline  
post #645 of 766 Old 04-04-2014, 08:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
I am confused. Sound and Vision magazine give the HK 3700 5 out of 5 stars, What Hifi in the UK gives it 3 out of 5 stars. Why?
Paulo72 is offline  
post #646 of 766 Old 04-04-2014, 12:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 50 Post(s)
Liked: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo72 View Post

I am confused. Sound and Vision magazine give the HK 3700 5 out of 5 stars, What Hifi in the UK gives it 3 out of 5 stars. Why?

Maybe..
Sound & Vision was looking for an advertising commitment from Harman... 😊

Just my $0.05... 👍😉
M Code is online now  
post #647 of 766 Old 04-04-2014, 01:13 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post

I emailed my contact regarding the 3700 going into protection, here is his abridged response. (it does not include where he offers to (and I accepted) returning the fixed 7550.

The AVR3700 is the modern equivalent to the AVR345 (or 347) from the 645 era. The power amplifier and power supply of the 645 is quite a bit beefier and the protocol for how power output figures are attained has also changed. It’s true that the 3700 is our highest offering in our current lineup, but that is because we discontinued our top 3 tiers. There was no successor to the AVR445 and AVR645 (those tiers were dropped). AVR7550HD was the successor of AVR745, but as of now there has been no successor to the AVR7550HD (seems this tier was dropped too).

You are probably just hitting the limit of the AVR3700’s output. Possible solutions:
1) You could use the 645 as a power amp (connect 3700 pre outs to 645 direct in and wire speakers to 645)
2) Listen at slightly lower levels
3) If you have your speakers set to large, you could probably get more headroom out of the amp by raising the crossover frequency instead of running them full range.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo72 View Post

I am confused. Sound and Vision magazine give the HK 3700 5 out of 5 stars, What Hifi in the UK gives it 3 out of 5 stars. Why?

Sorry to quote myself but between that & my experience where the 3700 sh!ts the bed at near loud in 5.2 (with the .2 running from their own amps) when my 645 & 7550 did not break a sweat indicates HK has left the building.

I am waiting to get my 7550 back.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #648 of 766 Old 04-04-2014, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 213
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post

Maybe..
Sound & Vision was looking for an advertising commitment from Harman... 😊

Just my $0.05... 👍😉

What do you think about the 3700, compared to a Denon X-2000, or sony str dn-1040? But What Hifi gave 4 out of 5 stars for the HK 1710.
Amazon rates the 2700 highly http://www.amazon.com/Harman-Kardon-AVR-2700-Network-Connected/dp/B00ARN3PSE/ref=cm_cr_pr_product_top/187-1563435-3808653

Top 10 also says the sound quality is outstanding http://av-receiver-review.toptenreviews.com/harman-kardon-avr-review.html

Also found a positive review on jr.com http://www.jr.com/harman-kardon/pe/HK_AVR3700/#productTabReviews

It appears that in the real world users love them. I love mine, maybe my speakers add to that (JBL Studio 5). I had the same speakers connected to a pioneer vsx-1120 and I do find the sound better on the HK 2700. Dolby Volume must add to my approval rating. I liked the sony str dn-1040, but not having an on screen volume display turned me away.
Paulo72 is offline  
post #649 of 766 Old 04-04-2014, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I am a real user, using it with the same system as I ran my AVR645 and AVR7550 with. The sound is ok. It is a bit flat and needs to be over 25% to be really audible. At 70% it is nearing 1/2 volume (loud but not crazy) on the 7550 and at home theater levels it is (80% 3700, 70% on the 7550) it is pretty loud but shuts down on peaks where as the 7550 keeps on trucking. That is the deal breaker for me.

I like that set up properly it turns on and goes to the live input & the air play is cool but sonic performance is first in my book and the 3700 can't compete in that arena.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #650 of 766 Old 04-04-2014, 07:43 PM
Member
 
atlavfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post

I am a real user, using it with the same system as I ran my AVR645 and AVR7550 with. The sound is ok. It is a bit flat and needs to be over 25% to be really audible. At 70% it is nearing 1/2 volume (loud but not crazy) on the 7550 and at home theater levels it is (80% 3700, 70% on the 7550) it is pretty loud but shuts down on peaks where as the 7550 keeps on trucking. That is the deal breaker for me.

I like that set up properly it turns on and goes to the live input & the air play is cool but sonic performance is first in my book and the 3700 can't compete in that arena.

all are valid comments. if given the chance to trade my 3700 for a working 7550 i would do so in a heartbeat. i have been pleased with the functionality of the 3700 to date. and it has been less buggy than my prior two 7550's. that may be the other point since i had two 7550's die on me. at least my 3700 works. even playing very loud my 3700 has not gone into protection mode. it might be because i play loud music in 2 ch not 5ch. at 2 ch the 3700 is rated a respectable 125+ watts per channel. according to the test bench results only when multiple channels are driven does the power drop and the sound go flat. the 7550 never seemed to run out of steam no matter how hard i drove it. better power supply and amp. maybe adding a seperate stereo power amp to the 3700 for the front channels would give the best of both worlds. has anyone tried it?
atlavfan is offline  
post #651 of 766 Old 04-05-2014, 07:46 AM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a 2 channel Carver amp I use as my .2 sub driver, I was thinking of trying it but the concept bugs me. I just tried to turn on my system and the 3700 is stuck in standby. The amber light is on and nothing happens from remote, on off switch or after pulling the plug or turning off the hard switch in back. (Thanks for moving it there HK)

Anyone had this and know how to revive the damn thing?
e30cabrio is offline  
post #652 of 766 Old 04-05-2014, 12:42 PM
Member
 
atlavfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
try a full reset. you put in standby mode with amber light lit then hold down the surround modes button on front panel until it reads reset. you will lose all your setting though.

but if you ever get your 3700 to start up, i'd be curious how it works to drive the front channels with the carver. my def tech sub has 1200 watts so no need for an auxilary amp there. i'm having pretty bug free luck with the pre-amp portion of the 3700, especially the hdmi switching and handshake which is superior to the 7550. the 3700 just does not have enough amp power for music at reference levels. not really a problem for home theatre though. i've been thinking a peachtree 220 or nad power amp driving the front channels might fix the issue. that would leave the 3700 only powering 3 channels which could give me something closer to the 100 watts each, i'd like. i think the weak link is the power supply which is not stout enough for 5 channels but can handle 2 or 3 ok.



m code
if you are reading this please chime in. i'd appreciate you insight.
atlavfan is offline  
post #653 of 766 Old 04-05-2014, 04:18 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Installed Carver amp to front left & right, ran Elysium scene where it shut down, no change. It was driving only the center & rear speakers.

I might have considered keeping it if it worked but this sucks.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #654 of 766 Old 04-05-2014, 04:53 PM
Member
 
atlavfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
that does suck. time to dump it.
atlavfan is offline  
post #655 of 766 Old 04-05-2014, 05:52 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
4-6 weeks to fix the 7550.

Even my Wife who usually does not care said it sounds flat.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #656 of 766 Old 04-07-2014, 12:04 AM
Newbie
 
Jalso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Dear All,

 

I have recently purchased an HK AVR 370 and I am quite happy with it, but coming from an AVR 265, a few things seem to be weird to me:

 

1.: I have an 5.1 speaker system right now (Acoustic Energy Neo 4 fronts, JBL Studio 120c center, JBL Studio 180 surrounds, JBL ES250W subwoofer). If I set the crossover for the Front speakers to Large and want to have the subwoofer get LFE signal only, it turns "ON" both subwoofers in the "Number of speakers" menu, and if I switch the Sub 2 to "Off" there manually, then the "Sub Mode" goes L/R + LFE. This is not good, as in this case, all the bass goes to the subwoofer which kills the fun of having Large speakers. If I switch back the Sub mode from "L/R + LFE" to "LFE", it switches the "Sub 2" On. So it seems that I can only get the AVR to throw LFE signals to the subwoofer, if I run 2 subwoofers. I have now tried to decrease the Level of Sub 2 to -10db at the "Level adjust menu, but I don't feel comfortable to know that the AVR tries to run a 2nd subwoofer anyway.

 

2.: Maybe the amplifier is new and that is the reason of some anomalies in the sound, but I really hear some kind of noise (like a distortion) from the center and the fronts when there is a High frequency signal (or speech in a movie). Is this going to smooth out?

 

3.: When I try to turn the receiver off, and hit the "Off" button on the remote, it goes to "Device Sleep", which is fine, but when I hold down the "Off" button which turns the amp totally off, it says "BYE" on the AVR's display, and then a not too loud but absolutely audible "popping" sound and some kind of high frequency interference sound can be heard from my speakers for a moment.

 

I am not sure if the 2nd and 3rd points are related to each other, but I haven't experienced anything like this with the AVR 265. I have upgraded to the latest Firmware, but it didn't change anything.

All the services and fuctions seem to work properly otherwise (IOS App control, video modes, etc...) and I really hear some additional detail from my speakers when I watch movies, so I really don't want to take this AVR back to the shop, but if it is a faulty one, I have to know.

 

May I kindly ask you to check these on your AVR 370 receivers and advise if yours are doing the same?

 

Many thanks in advance!

 

Kind Regards,

 

Jalso

Jalso is offline  
post #657 of 766 Old 04-07-2014, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Radio81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 291
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Can anyone point me in the right direction of where to find the Harman Media Manager or Harman Music Manager (I’ve seen it called two different things)? My owner’s manual provides a link but the link is dead/not found when I try to open it. I’ve tried the links that were also posted earlier in this thread, but those no longer work, either. I’ve searched the HK website and I’ve found nothing. Same results with a Google search as well.
Radio81 is offline  
post #658 of 766 Old 04-07-2014, 08:17 AM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jalso View Post

Dear All,

I have recently purchased an HK AVR 370 and I am quite happy with it, but coming from an AVR 265, a few things seem to be weird to me:

1.: I have an 5.1 speaker system right now (Acoustic Energy Neo 4 fronts, JBL Studio 120c center, JBL Studio 180 surrounds, JBL ES250W subwoofer). If I set the crossover for the Front speakers to Large and want to have the subwoofer get LFE signal only, it turns "ON" both subwoofers in the "Number of speakers" menu, and if I switch the Sub 2 to "Off" there manually, then the "Sub Mode" goes L/R + LFE. This is not good, as in this case, all the bass goes to the subwoofer which kills the fun of having Large speakers. If I switch back the Sub mode from "L/R + LFE" to "LFE", it switches the "Sub 2" On. So it seems that I can only get the AVR to throw LFE signals to the subwoofer, if I run 2 subwoofers. I have now tried to decrease the Level of Sub 2 to -10db at the "Level adjust menu, but I don't feel comfortable to know that the AVR tries to run a 2nd subwoofer anyway.

2.: Maybe the amplifier is new and that is the reason of some anomalies in the sound, but I really hear some kind of noise (like a distortion) from the center and the fronts when there is a High frequency signal (or speech in a movie). Is this going to smooth out?

3.: When I try to turn the receiver off, and hit the "Off" button on the remote, it goes to "Device Sleep", which is fine, but when I hold down the "Off" button which turns the amp totally off, it says "BYE" on the AVR's display, and then a not too loud but absolutely audible "popping" sound and some kind of high frequency interference sound can be heard from my speakers for a moment.

I am not sure if the 2nd and 3rd points are related to each other, but I haven't experienced anything like this with the AVR 265. I have upgraded to the latest Firmware, but it didn't change anything.
All the services and fuctions seem to work properly otherwise (IOS App control, video modes, etc...) and I really hear some additional detail from my speakers when I watch movies, so I really don't want to take this AVR back to the shop, but if it is a faulty one, I have to know.

May I kindly ask you to check these on your AVR 370 receivers and advise if yours are doing the same?

Many thanks in advance!

Kind Regards,

Jalso

When I first got mine it whined. That is gone. It did not make noise when I shut it down for the first time just now the way you describe. I have been turning off my TV & source and that sent the AVR to sleep (which I like)

It sounds flat to me, like it has no soul and to get any volume from it I have to turn it up way higher than is reasonable.

I really can't wait to get my 7550 back.
e30cabrio is offline  
post #659 of 766 Old 04-07-2014, 09:03 AM
Newbie
 
Jalso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

So your device is also making that popping sound when you switch it off?

What speakers do you have and what are your level, crossover and sub settings? Which firmware do you have? I also feel that it is a bit flat. Sound from the Avr 265 had more soul. Maybe this will change as the amp runs in, but if your device is also popping when you switch it off and it also goes into protection mode easily, then mine is about to die soon aswell.

Funny thing is that after reading your earlier posts, I had mine running for at least 12 hours with music and movie, and I tried to hit the -10 db volume aswell (with Dolby volume on and off), just to try out if mine goes into protection mode like yours, but it didn't. It was running normally all the time, but the cover was very hot.

Jalso is offline  
post #660 of 766 Old 04-07-2014, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I had no popping. My speakers are large and LFE+LR with 2 subs.
e30cabrio is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Harman Kardon Avr 2700 7 1 Channel Av Receiver , Harman Kardon Avr 3700 7 2 Channel Av Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off