2013 4K Harman Kardon AVR 2700 & 3700 receivers - Page 26 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 3Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 766 Old 07-16-2014, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
akm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Spokane WA USA
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Does the logic 7 on these work on all sources or just stereo? My lexicon mc-1 can take Dolby digital or DTS 5.1 and turn it into logic 7 can the h/k do this too? I assume it can't do it to true DTS or the other full rez discrete 7.1 formats correct?

It's hard to love Martin Logans and 2.35:1 CIH at the same time...
akm3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 766 Old 07-16-2014, 10:06 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 3
I took a Harman Kardon avr20ii out of storage and couldn't believe how good it sounds. It's been over 15 years since I used it. Do modern Harman Kardon still have that full tube-like sound? I'm thinking about getting a basic model like the avr 700. I have no need the networking features and such.

I'm familiar with Pioneer 1123, Sony, and Yamaha models. They just don't have that same sound of that old receiver.
Tommy Lee 90120 is offline  
post #753 of 766 Old 07-16-2014, 11:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
The problem today is quality appears to not be important anymore. People want soundbars, mp3 players, downloaded movies, etc. I don't see the fun in that. I would rather sit down in front of my TV turn on my surround sound and enjoy. Crappy sound ruins the experience. Substandard picture with substandard sound is a disgrace. To watch an action movie in mono or 2 channel is a laugh. The industry is being ruined. It's all convenience over quality.
Paulo72 is online now  
post #754 of 766 Old 07-16-2014, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
Does the logic 7 on these work on all sources or just stereo? My lexicon mc-1 can take Dolby digital or DTS 5.1 and turn it into logic 7 can the h/k do this too? I assume it can't do it to true DTS or the other full rez discrete 7.1 formats correct?

I own a 2700. Logic 7 only works on a PCM input. If a DD or DTS signal is received then the encoders for that format will be used. A lot of sources (cable boxes, etc) allow you to set the output to PCM. That's one way to get around it.

Last edited by Paulo72; 07-16-2014 at 11:31 AM.
Paulo72 is online now  
post #755 of 766 Old 07-16-2014, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
Does the logic 7 on these work on all sources or just stereo? My lexicon mc-1 can take Dolby digital or DTS 5.1 and turn it into logic 7 can the h/k do this too? I assume it can't do it to true DTS or the other full rez discrete 7.1 formats correct?

HK AVRs have had (2) levels of Logic 7..
1. AVRs using the Cirrus Logic DSP can only do Logic 7 with either a 2-channel analog or digital PCM input
2. AVRs using the TI DSP can do Logic 7 with any input analog or digital, and their later AVRs with a TI DSP can actually overlay Logic 7 on an HD stream such DTS Master Audio, Dolby Digtal + or Dolby True Audio

Just my $0.03...
M Code is offline  
post #756 of 766 Old 07-16-2014, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
akm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Spokane WA USA
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
HK AVRs have had (2) levels of Logic 7..
1. AVRs using the Cirrus Logic DSP can only do Logic 7 with either a 2-channel analog or digital PCM input
2. AVRs using the TI DSP can do Logic 7 with any input analog or digital, and their later AVRs with a TI DSP can actually overlay Logic 7 on an HD stream such DTS Master Audio, Dolby Digtal + or Dolby True Audio

Just my $0.03...
That is very interesting. So logic 7 on my mc-1 is not the same logic 7 elsewhere. Maybe I should just stick with my venerable mc-1. Does the 3700 use the TI chipset?

It's hard to love Martin Logans and 2.35:1 CIH at the same time...
akm3 is offline  
post #757 of 766 Old 07-17-2014, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
That is very interesting. So logic 7 on my mc-1 is not the same logic 7 elsewhere. Maybe I should just stick with my venerable mc-1. Does the 3700 use the TI chipset?
The 3700 uses the Cirrus Logic DSP
Paulo72 is online now  
post #758 of 766 Old 07-17-2014, 06:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
That is very interesting. So logic 7 on my mc-1 is not the same logic 7 elsewhere. Maybe I should just stick with my venerable mc-1. Does the 3700 use the TI chipset?
No...
The 3700 uses the Cirrus Logic chip... HK actually did quite abit of updates for their version of Logic 7 using the TI chips.. I still use a 7550HD (TI DA710 chips x 2) in a backup HT system and still amazes me, but now Harman has moved on new management, new engineering team and Logic 7 is gone...

Just my $0.05...
M Code is offline  
post #759 of 766 Old 07-17-2014, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
akm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Spokane WA USA
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, a 7550hd is interesting but I need hdmi 1.4. Do any. H/K receivers have HDMI 1.4, pre-outs, and 'real' logic 7 from the TI chipset (able to process L7 from nearly any input type? (Stereo, DD 5.1, etc))

It's hard to love Martin Logans and 2.35:1 CIH at the same time...
akm3 is offline  
post #760 of 766 Old 07-17-2014, 08:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 110
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
So, a 7550hd is interesting but I need hdmi 1.4. Do any. H/K receivers have HDMI 1.4, pre-outs, and 'real' logic 7 from the TI chipset (able to process L7 from nearly any input type? (Stereo, DD 5.1, etc))
HK has several AVRs with HDMI 1.4 but few with Pre-Outs..
However these AVRs are built around the Cirrus Logic DSP, so no more full-process Logic 7..
In 2009, Dr.Sidney Harman retired and Harman International changed over their executive management.
Next the HK USA AVR design team was disbanded and all AVR product development & planning was moved to Shenzen China.... They seem to be concentrating on the AVR lower price points, SRP < $1199 typically sold through the big-box and internet sellers...

Just my $0.03...
M Code is offline  
post #761 of 766 Old 07-17-2014, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
akm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Spokane WA USA
Posts: 1,048
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well then...I guess i nurse along my Lexicon Mc-1 and maybe add a Dvdo hdmi switcher or something. Thanks everyone for your help.

Sad about Harman Kardon and a formerly respected name and company being prostituted.

It's hard to love Martin Logans and 2.35:1 CIH at the same time...
akm3 is offline  
post #762 of 766 Old 07-18-2014, 04:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Mr M Code, since you helped design HK av receivers you should know about the ez set eq. I own the 2700. I know it has the simplified version of the EZ Set/Eq since it has the Cirrus Logic Chip. How many bands of EQ does the room correction use,and does the EZ Set/Eq equalize the bass? I am guessing yes as it does appear to smooth it out a bit.
Thank you MCode for provided all us amateurs with knowledge.




Paulo72
Paulo72 is online now  
post #763 of 766 Old 07-19-2014, 08:26 AM
Member
 
frocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Utica, NY USA
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just started getting a constant echo in my 2700. Anyway to resolve this?
frocco is online now  
post #764 of 766 Old 07-19-2014, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by frocco View Post
Just started getting a constant echo in my 2700. Anyway to resolve this?

I have no idea. If you have the ez set/eq on try turning it off. I'm no expert but something could be bad. Try a different surround sound format. eg DTS Neo 6, Dolby Pro Logic. Try resetting the unit to the factory state. Hope it works for you. If it's under warranty return it.
Paulo72 is online now  
post #765 of 766 Old 07-19-2014, 07:46 PM
Member
 
frocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Utica, NY USA
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by frocco View Post
Just started getting a constant echo in my 2700. Anyway to resolve this?
Did a hard reset and this resolved the problem. Not sure why or if it will happen again.

Thanks

Frank
TC-P50-ST30
frocco is online now  
post #766 of 766 Old 07-20-2014, 03:11 PM
Member
 
frocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Utica, NY USA
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still having problems. Today the unit would not turn on using remote or power button from unit.
I had to turn off back panel switch and unplug for a few seconds.

Thanks

Frank
TC-P50-ST30
frocco is online now  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Harman Kardon Avr 2700 7 1 Channel Av Receiver , Harman Kardon Avr 3700 7 2 Channel Av Receiver

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off