2013 4K Harman Kardon AVR 2700 & 3700 receivers - Page 26 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #751 of 855 Old 07-16-2014, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
akm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Spokane WA USA
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Does the logic 7 on these work on all sources or just stereo? My lexicon mc-1 can take Dolby digital or DTS 5.1 and turn it into logic 7 can the h/k do this too? I assume it can't do it to true DTS or the other full rez discrete 7.1 formats correct?

It's hard to love Martin Logans and 2.35:1 CIH at the same time...
akm3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #752 of 855 Old 07-16-2014, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I took a Harman Kardon avr20ii out of storage and couldn't believe how good it sounds. It's been over 15 years since I used it. Do modern Harman Kardon still have that full tube-like sound? I'm thinking about getting a basic model like the avr 700. I have no need the networking features and such.

I'm familiar with Pioneer 1123, Sony, and Yamaha models. They just don't have that same sound of that old receiver.
Tommy Lee 90120 is offline  
post #753 of 855 Old 07-16-2014, 11:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 27
The problem today is quality appears to not be important anymore. People want soundbars, mp3 players, downloaded movies, etc. I don't see the fun in that. I would rather sit down in front of my TV turn on my surround sound and enjoy. Crappy sound ruins the experience. Substandard picture with substandard sound is a disgrace. To watch an action movie in mono or 2 channel is a laugh. The industry is being ruined. It's all convenience over quality.
Paulo72 is offline  
post #754 of 855 Old 07-16-2014, 11:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
Does the logic 7 on these work on all sources or just stereo? My lexicon mc-1 can take Dolby digital or DTS 5.1 and turn it into logic 7 can the h/k do this too? I assume it can't do it to true DTS or the other full rez discrete 7.1 formats correct?

I own a 2700. Logic 7 only works on a PCM input. If a DD or DTS signal is received then the encoders for that format will be used. A lot of sources (cable boxes, etc) allow you to set the output to PCM. That's one way to get around it.

Last edited by Paulo72; 07-16-2014 at 11:31 AM.
Paulo72 is offline  
post #755 of 855 Old 07-16-2014, 02:19 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
Does the logic 7 on these work on all sources or just stereo? My lexicon mc-1 can take Dolby digital or DTS 5.1 and turn it into logic 7 can the h/k do this too? I assume it can't do it to true DTS or the other full rez discrete 7.1 formats correct?

HK AVRs have had (2) levels of Logic 7..
1. AVRs using the Cirrus Logic DSP can only do Logic 7 with either a 2-channel analog or digital PCM input
2. AVRs using the TI DSP can do Logic 7 with any input analog or digital, and their later AVRs with a TI DSP can actually overlay Logic 7 on an HD stream such DTS Master Audio, Dolby Digtal + or Dolby True Audio

Just my $0.03...
M Code is online now  
post #756 of 855 Old 07-16-2014, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
akm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Spokane WA USA
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
HK AVRs have had (2) levels of Logic 7..
1. AVRs using the Cirrus Logic DSP can only do Logic 7 with either a 2-channel analog or digital PCM input
2. AVRs using the TI DSP can do Logic 7 with any input analog or digital, and their later AVRs with a TI DSP can actually overlay Logic 7 on an HD stream such DTS Master Audio, Dolby Digtal + or Dolby True Audio

Just my $0.03...
That is very interesting. So logic 7 on my mc-1 is not the same logic 7 elsewhere. Maybe I should just stick with my venerable mc-1. Does the 3700 use the TI chipset?

It's hard to love Martin Logans and 2.35:1 CIH at the same time...
akm3 is offline  
post #757 of 855 Old 07-17-2014, 06:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
That is very interesting. So logic 7 on my mc-1 is not the same logic 7 elsewhere. Maybe I should just stick with my venerable mc-1. Does the 3700 use the TI chipset?
The 3700 uses the Cirrus Logic DSP
Paulo72 is offline  
post #758 of 855 Old 07-17-2014, 06:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
That is very interesting. So logic 7 on my mc-1 is not the same logic 7 elsewhere. Maybe I should just stick with my venerable mc-1. Does the 3700 use the TI chipset?
No...
The 3700 uses the Cirrus Logic chip... HK actually did quite abit of updates for their version of Logic 7 using the TI chips.. I still use a 7550HD (TI DA710 chips x 2) in a backup HT system and still amazes me, but now Harman has moved on new management, new engineering team and Logic 7 is gone...

Just my $0.05...
M Code is online now  
post #759 of 855 Old 07-17-2014, 07:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
akm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Spokane WA USA
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 22
So, a 7550hd is interesting but I need hdmi 1.4. Do any. H/K receivers have HDMI 1.4, pre-outs, and 'real' logic 7 from the TI chipset (able to process L7 from nearly any input type? (Stereo, DD 5.1, etc))

It's hard to love Martin Logans and 2.35:1 CIH at the same time...
akm3 is offline  
post #760 of 855 Old 07-17-2014, 08:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
So, a 7550hd is interesting but I need hdmi 1.4. Do any. H/K receivers have HDMI 1.4, pre-outs, and 'real' logic 7 from the TI chipset (able to process L7 from nearly any input type? (Stereo, DD 5.1, etc))
HK has several AVRs with HDMI 1.4 but few with Pre-Outs..
However these AVRs are built around the Cirrus Logic DSP, so no more full-process Logic 7..
In 2009, Dr.Sidney Harman retired and Harman International changed over their executive management.
Next the HK USA AVR design team was disbanded and all AVR product development & planning was moved to Shenzen China.... They seem to be concentrating on the AVR lower price points, SRP < $1199 typically sold through the big-box and internet sellers...

Just my $0.03...
M Code is online now  
post #761 of 855 Old 07-17-2014, 09:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
akm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Spokane WA USA
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Well then...I guess i nurse along my Lexicon Mc-1 and maybe add a Dvdo hdmi switcher or something. Thanks everyone for your help.

Sad about Harman Kardon and a formerly respected name and company being prostituted.

It's hard to love Martin Logans and 2.35:1 CIH at the same time...
akm3 is offline  
post #762 of 855 Old 07-18-2014, 04:16 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Mr M Code, since you helped design HK av receivers you should know about the ez set eq. I own the 2700. I know it has the simplified version of the EZ Set/Eq since it has the Cirrus Logic Chip. How many bands of EQ does the room correction use,and does the EZ Set/Eq equalize the bass? I am guessing yes as it does appear to smooth it out a bit.
Thank you MCode for provided all us amateurs with knowledge.




Paulo72
Paulo72 is offline  
post #763 of 855 Old 07-19-2014, 08:26 AM
Member
 
frocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Utica, NY USA
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just started getting a constant echo in my 2700. Anyway to resolve this?
frocco is offline  
post #764 of 855 Old 07-19-2014, 10:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by frocco View Post
Just started getting a constant echo in my 2700. Anyway to resolve this?

I have no idea. If you have the ez set/eq on try turning it off. I'm no expert but something could be bad. Try a different surround sound format. eg DTS Neo 6, Dolby Pro Logic. Try resetting the unit to the factory state. Hope it works for you. If it's under warranty return it.
Paulo72 is offline  
post #765 of 855 Old 07-19-2014, 07:46 PM
Member
 
frocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Utica, NY USA
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by frocco View Post
Just started getting a constant echo in my 2700. Anyway to resolve this?
Did a hard reset and this resolved the problem. Not sure why or if it will happen again.

Thanks

Frank
TC-P50-ST30
Dish HOPPER with Sling
B&W Speakers/Polk Active Sub
frocco is offline  
post #766 of 855 Old 07-20-2014, 03:11 PM
Member
 
frocco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Utica, NY USA
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still having problems. Today the unit would not turn on using remote or power button from unit.
I had to turn off back panel switch and unplug for a few seconds.

Thanks

Frank
TC-P50-ST30
Dish HOPPER with Sling
B&W Speakers/Polk Active Sub
frocco is offline  
post #767 of 855 Old 08-03-2014, 04:59 PM
Member
 
solomita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm just setting up my 2700. I have a 5-speaker setup, and I used the automatic setup options. I have a Google Chromecast connected via HDMI and am trying to play music from Google Music. The audio format is listed as PCM.

There was a horrible echo in the music that was basically unlistenable. I only eliminated it by switching the surround mode to 2-channel stereo, which is suboptimal. I'm at a loss for what could have gone wrong. Both the Logic 7 and Dolby surroundm modes produced the echo, along with 5-channel surround mode.

Any hints as to what to play with would be appreciated.

Thanks,
-- Ethan
solomita is offline  
post #768 of 855 Old 08-03-2014, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Is there an echo with the ez set/eq switched off? Also check to make sure speakers are in phase. Ez set/eq won't tell you if you switched your speaker wires. Manually check all of the ez set/eq settings. Distances will usually not be too far off, but it usually messes up the crossovers, speaker levels may be a little off. Try setting crossover for all to 80Hz as a test. Try switching off Dolby Volume. I couldn't imagine what the problem is. Also calibrate your Dolby Volume to your FL/R speakers. I don't like Dolby Volume for music, I leave it off. I set up one of the ABCD Buttons on the control as an easy one click for music on my media player with Dulby Volume and EZ Set/Eq off with Logic 7 Music as my Surround Mode.
Paulo72 is offline  
post #769 of 855 Old 08-03-2014, 10:51 PM
Member
 
solomita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo72 View Post
Is there an echo with the ez set/eq switched off? Also check to make sure speakers are in phase. Ez set/eq won't tell you if you switched your speaker wires. Manually check all of the ez set/eq settings. Distances will usually not be too far off, but it usually messes up the crossovers, speaker levels may be a little off. Try setting crossover for all to 80Hz as a test. Try switching off Dolby Volume. I couldn't imagine what the problem is. Also calibrate your Dolby Volume to your FL/R speakers. I don't like Dolby Volume for music, I leave it off. I set up one of the ABCD Buttons on the control as an easy one click for music on my media player with Dulby Volume and EZ Set/Eq off with Logic 7 Music as my Surround Mode.
Thanks Paulo. While I was waiting I tried several of the things, like ez set/eq to off, and I took each of the various manual audio settings and moved them back to neutral (or at least equal) settings, but to no avail. I then reset all the speaker settings back to default, and instantly the problem disappeared. I went and then manually set the speaker settings back to what they were before, and the problem did not return.

So the good news is that I don't seem to have a problem. The bad news is I don't know where the flaw was, and I'd probably have to repeat the ez setup to replicate the problem. I may do so, just because I'm curious, but not tonight. 8-)

Someone earlier in this thread mentioned a problem with an echo that was removed with a factory reset, FYI.

Thanks!
-- Ethan
solomita is offline  
post #770 of 855 Old 08-04-2014, 05:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by solomita View Post
Thanks Paulo. While I was waiting I tried several of the things, like ez set/eq to off, and I took each of the various manual audio settings and moved them back to neutral (or at least equal) settings, but to no avail. I then reset all the speaker settings back to default, and instantly the problem disappeared. I went and then manually set the speaker settings back to what they were before, and the problem did not return.

So the good news is that I don't seem to have a problem. The bad news is I don't know where the flaw was, and I'd probably have to repeat the ez setup to replicate the problem. I may do so, just because I'm curious, but not tonight. 8-)

Someone earlier in this thread mentioned a problem with an echo that was removed with a factory reset, FYI.

Thanks!
-- Ethan


Next I would have suggested a factory reset . An echo sounds like a delay problem between the front and rear speakers. I rarely now use the ez set/eq. I find it muffles the sound reducing the dynamics. You may find it works good for you. I only use it if I find the recording bright sounding.

Last edited by Paulo72; 08-04-2014 at 08:19 AM.
Paulo72 is offline  
post #771 of 855 Old 08-05-2014, 09:08 AM
Member
 
BiotypE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buyshop View Post
Quote:Originally Posted by Harmon Fan 

Has anyone compared the 2700 or the 3700 to the Anthem MRX300? I purchased a refurbished AVR2600 just to get me by until I could make up my mind what to purchase. After trying out higher end Marantz, Denon, Pioneer Elite ClassD3 models, I have determined that I cannot give up my 2600 for now. Before I pull the trigger on one of the HK models, I want to look and compare the Anthem. I hear great things about them. Any thoughts are appreciated.

 
If i was you keep with Marantz, Denon, Pioneer Elite, Harman.
More features , better price.
Much marketing on anthem. don't worth the price.
I currently own an MRX 500 and have demoed an H/K 3650 and 2700 in home right next to the Anthem. Both the H/K and the Anthem sound worlds better than any of the brands you
have outlined above. Not even close. I think the DACs in the H/K and Anthem are better suited for natural sound and they don't get abrasive or sound "digitized" like the brands above. There really is no comparison. You can throw all of the features you want at an AVR if it does not sound good, whats the point.

Now between Anthem and the new H/K models it is a different story. H/K does surround sound better in my opinion, just seems to envelop you in sound. The Anthem is no slouch though. For music it is a very tough one and very close, too close to call. ARC does not do much for me in my room as it is pretty well suited for audio. For someone with bad acoustics I would say the Anthem would definitely be the way to go.

I went though about every Onkyo, Yamaha and Pioneer AVR you can get and none of them sound as rich and smooth as Anthem or H/K AVRs.

Build quality of the Anthem is much better than the new H/Ks and you feel like you are getting what you are paying for. Sound-wise though, very comparable. I am right now thinking about picking up a new H/K as I like it's aesthetics and surround sound performance. I will re-evaluate my decision in keeping the Anthem over H/K when the 2700 arrives again.
BiotypE is offline  
post #772 of 855 Old 08-05-2014, 12:25 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiotypE View Post
I currently own an MRX 500 and have demoed an H/K 3650 and 2700 in home right next to the Anthem. Both the H/K and the Anthem sound worlds better than any of the brands you
have outlined above. Not even close. I think the DACs in the H/K and Anthem are better suited for natural sound and they don't get abrasive or sound "digitized" like the brands above. There really is no comparison. You can throw all of the features you want at an AVR if it does not sound good, whats the point.

Now between Anthem and the new H/K models it is a different story. H/K does surround sound better in my opinion, just seems to envelop you in sound. The Anthem is no slouch though. For music it is a very tough one and very close, too close to call. ARC does not do much for me in my room as it is pretty well suited for audio. For someone with bad acoustics I would say the Anthem would definitely be the way to go.

I went though about every Onkyo, Yamaha and Pioneer AVR you can get and none of them sound as rich and smooth as Anthem or H/K AVRs.

Build quality of the Anthem is much better than the new H/Ks and you feel like you are getting what you are paying for. Sound-wise though, very comparable. I am right now thinking about picking up a new H/K as I like it's aesthetics and surround sound performance. I will re-evaluate my decision in keeping the Anthem over H/K when the 2700 arrives again.
For your info...
The Anthem and HK AVRs are built in the same Chinese factory....
The Anthem AVRs do have a higher build quality, plus a wider range of audiophile features including Pre-Outs..
Make sense the Anthem products are positioned more through specialists, while the HK products are more main stream and big box & internet sellers..

Just my $0.03...
M Code is online now  
post #773 of 855 Old 08-05-2014, 03:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
akm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Spokane WA USA
Posts: 1,188
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
For your info...
The Anthem and HK AVRs are built in the same Chinese factory....
The Anthem AVRs do have a higher build quality, plus a wider range of audiophile features including Pre-Outs..
Make sense the Anthem products are positioned more through specialists, while the HK products are more main stream and big box & internet sellers..

Just my $0.03...
Is "Anthem Logic" rebranded Logic 7?

It's hard to love Martin Logans and 2.35:1 CIH at the same time...
akm3 is offline  
post #774 of 855 Old 08-05-2014, 05:33 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 10,135
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by akm3 View Post
Is "Anthem Logic" rebranded Logic 7?

No...


Just my $0.03...
M Code is online now  
post #775 of 855 Old 08-05-2014, 08:41 PM
Member
 
BiotypE's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 151
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
For your info...
The Anthem and HK AVRs are built in the same Chinese factory....
The Anthem AVRs do have a higher build quality, plus a wider range of audiophile features including Pre-Outs..
Make sense the Anthem products are positioned more through specialists, while the HK products are more main stream and big box & internet sellers..

Just my $0.03...

That makes sense. I have no problems at all with the Anthem for music. It is a stellar performer on that front. My gripe is movies just don't seem to envelop you like they do with the new H/K line. I don't understand why but there is a night and day difference in the surround presence between the two.

Given how well received the MRX line is, I feel stupid picking up a 2700 to possibly replace it but it is very comparable on the music front to the MRX and does better video processing and better handling of the surround sound formats. To top it all off, the H/K looks miles better than the MRX. The audiophile in me wants to like the Anthem better but my ears keep pulling me to the H/K when watching TV or movies. I feel like I will always be missing something if I hold onto the MRX and sell or return the H/K.

I guess you could call my situation with trying to decide between the MRX and H/K, AVR OCD. Don't know what to do.
BiotypE is offline  
post #776 of 855 Old 08-06-2014, 05:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by BiotypE View Post
That makes sense. I have no problems at all with the Anthem for music. It is a stellar performer on that front. My gripe is movies just don't seem to envelop you like they do with the new H/K line. I don't understand why but there is a night and day difference in the surround presence between the two.

Given how well received the MRX line is, I feel stupid picking up a 2700 to possibly replace it but it is very comparable on the music front to the MRX and does better video processing and better handling of the surround sound formats. To top it all off, the H/K looks miles better than the MRX. The audiophile in me wants to like the Anthem better but my ears keep pulling me to the H/K when watching TV or movies. I feel like I will always be missing something if I hold onto the MRX and sell or return the H/K.

I guess you could call my situation with trying to decide between the MRX and H/K, AVR OCD. Don't know what to do.

I know someone who's HK 2700 was having problems. I mentioned the Sony 1050 has received excellent reviews. He tried one and returned the Sony. he mentioned the surround sound is so much better on the Harman. I previously owned a pioneer vsx-1120 and I noticed the surround sound on my HK2700 sounds a lot better, there is more envelopment. Also I notice logic 7 widens the soundstage.
Paulo72 is offline  
post #777 of 855 Old 08-07-2014, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 27
I just sold my HK 2700. I've had problems with it shutting off after 1 hour using the optical cable. Lost confidence with the brand. For $50 extra will be picking up a Sony STR DN 1050 tomorrow. I was going to buy a sony 1040 but decided on the HK because of the HDMI problems people were having with the sony 1040 and because it didn't have on screen volume display. The reviews on the sony 1050 on what hifi and sound and vision are so good I have to have one. I think the HK is overpriced. The latest firmware update seemed to fix the shutting off problem, but I lost confidence in the brand. Bye Bye HK, hello Sony. I used to hate Sony AV receivers, the new ones are on another level compared to previous sony's. I tried to convince myself HK was good. I lost confidence in the brand....
Paulo72 is offline  
post #778 of 855 Old 08-08-2014, 03:50 PM
Member
 
atlavfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo72 View Post
I just sold my HK 2700. I've had problems with it shutting off after 1 hour using the optical cable. Lost confidence with the brand. For $50 extra will be picking up a Sony STR DN 1050 tomorrow. I was going to buy a sony 1040 but decided on the HK because of the HDMI problems people were having with the sony 1040 and because it didn't have on screen volume display. The reviews on the sony 1050 on what hifi and sound and vision are so good I have to have one. I think the HK is overpriced. The latest firmware update seemed to fix the shutting off problem, but I lost confidence in the brand. Bye Bye HK, hello Sony. I used to hate Sony AV receivers, the new ones are on another level compared to previous sony's. I tried to convince myself HK was good. I lost confidence in the brand....
sorry to see you go paulo72 but i understand. i for one am still happy with my avr 3700 which has been trouble free since i added a parasound a23 to drive the front left and right channels. made up for the 3700's weak power supply. still don't love it the way i did my avr 7550 but in stereo mode the 3700 with the amp sounds better than the 7550. miss logic 7 on digital sources. the 3700 has vastly superior hdmi switching though. if the 3700 dies out of warranty i'll go with NAD since hk is not what it used to be. also parasound halo equipment is super nice.
atlavfan is offline  
post #779 of 855 Old 08-12-2014, 07:17 PM
Member
 
Buyshop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,
i have 2 tvs connected at avr 3700.
one is at same room of receiver and speakers.
the ohter tv is at another place, and does not accept dts ou hd audio.

is there some kind of hdmi splliter that does downgrade mix to 2ch pcm ?
where can i find it?
another way to make all work?
Buyshop is offline  
post #780 of 855 Old 08-16-2014, 05:46 PM
Senior Member
 
Hspecialist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: California
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Clarification, the 2700 eq's subs? Also does it offer a manual eq and if so how many adjustable bands for the rest of the channels. Please advise

Brian in Bakersfield...
Hspecialist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Harman Kardon Avr 2700 7 1 Channel Av Receiver , Harman Kardon Avr 3700 7 2 Channel Av Receiver

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off