2013 4K Harman Kardon AVR 2700 & 3700 receivers - Page 27 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2014, 08:21 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
I have a question about my 2700. Is it possible to have it play music without having the TV on?

For example, I want to listen to music via the radio, my computer, or the network, and I don't really need or want the TV on. I can't get it to play without the TV on if I try and turn the TV off once it is playing all audio ceases.

Is there a setting that I am missing? Seems strange that the TV being on is a necessity.

Thanks
kristjan s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-24-2014, 04:22 PM
Member
 
atlavfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by kristjan s View Post
I have a question about my 2700. Is it possible to have it play music without having the TV on?

For example, I want to listen to music via the radio, my computer, or the network, and I don't really need or want the TV on. I can't get it to play without the TV on if I try and turn the TV off once it is playing all audio ceases.

Is there a setting that I am missing? Seems strange that the TV being on is a necessity.

Thanks
you should not need to have the tv on unless you are using the tv as a source. you must have a setting turned on that i don't know about.
atlavfan is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 07:11 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I am back to a 3700, my 7550 lasted a month before it was back to shutting down. The 3700 came yesterday, I am getting an Emotiva amp to make up for the lack of power in the 3700

I have been using the new 3700 & it is 100% different than the last one I had. It sounds fine & is not going into protection at high volumes.
e30cabrio is offline  
Old 09-10-2014, 08:41 PM
Member
 
cdoublejj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man harmon kardon is CRAP. almost non existent customer support, poor build quality, poor software, lack of basic features (my 1710 lacks HDMI pass through). I can't bleive they charge as much money as they do for their units.

Every look it's failed units or lacking basic features.
cdoublejj is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Emotiva is here, set up & watching 1990 special ed Aliens at st00pid loud levels.

Sounds great!

wheeeeee!!



e30cabrio is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
akm3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Spokane WA USA
Posts: 1,186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by cdoublejj View Post
Man harmon kardon is CRAP. almost non existent customer support, poor build quality, poor software, lack of basic features (my 1710 lacks HDMI pass through). I can't bleive they charge as much money as they do for their units.

Every look it's failed units or lacking basic features.
Mine is still young but my $500 7550 HD has been solid so far (Except when I had shorted a speaker wire) and I love it.

It's hard to love Martin Logans and 2.35:1 CIH at the same time...
akm3 is offline  
Old 09-11-2014, 03:23 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I loved my 7550. Three returns for repair unfortunately is my limit. On the 4th I gave up, took the 3700 (which is great as far as networking, connectivity & HDMI inputs) And now running through the Emotiva sounds like the 7550.
e30cabrio is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 02:08 PM
Member
 
atlavfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by e30cabrio View Post
I loved my 7550. Three returns for repair unfortunately is my limit. On the 4th I gave up, took the 3700 (which is great as far as networking, connectivity & HDMI inputs) And now running through the Emotiva sounds like the 7550.
e30cabrio
you and i have been following the same journey with our avr 7550. i loved mine but it just was not reliable. i've been with my avr 3700 with the parasound amp driving the left and right mains a while now and it sounds great...actually possibly better than the 7550 in stereo mode. the better hdmi switching and other modern features such as airplay are also improvements. my 3700 has been trouble free and i no longer regret having to take the 3700 instead of hk repairing my 7550. i also started fresh with a new 2 year warranty which i hope never to have to use.
atlavfan is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 02:57 PM
Member
 
cdoublejj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
check out the reviews of the AVR1710 on amazon. Those things have been dropping like flies. Heck look on the Harmon Kardon AVR1710 page and scroll down to the reviews. 1 Review i read somewhere it took 5 tries and many hours to get a hold of them on the phone.
cdoublejj is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
M Code's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Joshua Tree, CA
Posts: 9,989
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 166 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Ever since HK terminated their USA AVR team and moved product development/quality assurance to China, and technical support to India...
Things have gone downhill...
@ one time they were a superb AVR brand, with great sounding high-current amplifiers, realistic specifications and innovative features..
I hope they pull things out...

Just my $0.02...
M Code is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 04:17 PM
Member
 
cdoublejj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Code View Post
Ever since HK terminated their USA AVR team and moved product development/quality assurance to China, and technical support to India...
Things have gone downhill...
@ one time they were a superb AVR brand, with great sounding high-current amplifiers, realistic specifications and innovative features..
I hope they pull things out...

Just my $0.02...

That explains ALOT I almost posted comment of it seeming like an over seas operation. Also is that Homer wearing a Mopar Racing shirt?
cdoublejj is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 04:42 PM
Senior Member
 
e30cabrio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by atlavfan View Post
e30cabrio
you and i have been following the same journey with our avr 7550. i loved mine but it just was not reliable. i've been with my avr 3700 with the parasound amp driving the left and right mains a while now and it sounds great...actually possibly better than the 7550 in stereo mode. the better hdmi switching and other modern features such as airplay are also improvements. my 3700 has been trouble free and i no longer regret having to take the 3700 instead of hk repairing my 7550. i also started fresh with a new 2 year warranty which i hope never to have to use.
The 7550 was great when it worked but as you say the 3700 is great form the standpoint of modernity. I like that it has more HDMis than I need, that I can run everything through it & see the AVR menus without switching input & that it passes 3D properly.

Now, with the Emotiva's real 80WPC x 5 it sounds great. I have watched several movies since I got it (Stalingrad 2013, Aliens & now iRobot (3D) and it is great. Hopefully it will be reliable. I was told they will not give the replacement warranty so only have a year but was told if I have an issue after the year they will not turn their back on me.

Hopefully it will last beyond the warranty like the HK's I have had going back to 1980.
e30cabrio is offline  
Old 09-12-2014, 04:54 PM
Member
 
cdoublejj's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
on my AVR1710 i don't see any on screen menus. : /

Well if gets warm at all you could add a fan after the warranty goes if it last that long. a really quiet fan. I used SilenX fan once (on a PC) an 80mm one it was dead silent or close to dead silent. maybe something like that would help extend the life.

EDIT: I think it was maybe this fan, http://www.silenx.com/quiet.fans.asp?sku=ixp-52-11
cdoublejj is offline  
Old 10-11-2014, 04:20 PM
Member
 
bigscreenbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New firmware/software released.
This software upgrade, version V06.18, improves the following:


  • Fixed software bug of SUB Speaker Level adjustment setting not working properly.
bigscreenbob is offline  
Old 10-14-2014, 08:23 PM
Member
 
bigscreenbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 2700 died- turned it on and it shut off-turned it back on and awful noise, flash of light inside and burnt plastic smell. 1-1/2 years old. Last Harman Kardon amp I ever buy.
bigscreenbob is offline  
Old 10-24-2014, 09:26 AM
Member
 
Zax89swe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulo72 View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by e30cabrio

My info is don't hold your breath.


I remember reading November 2014
Anyone heard more of a new avr receiver? Im interested to go for surround and abandon my hk3770 stereo receiver Im quite happy with so a fresh strong amp would be nice
Zax89swe is offline  
Old 11-19-2014, 11:45 AM
Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I bought a used HK BluRay player BDP1 to somewhat match my 3700, when playing a bluray the 3700 displays Multichannel PCM, instead of the standard Dolby digital etc. Which is better? There are three settings on the BDP1 audio, I think they are multi PCM, bitstream, and something else. Just wondering which is the best setting

Harman Kardon 3700
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RB-51 II
Klipsch RC-52 II
Klipsch SS-1's
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is offline  
Old 11-19-2014, 01:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Kini62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,434
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 372 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
I bought a used HK BluRay player BDP1 to somewhat match my 3700, when playing a bluray the 3700 displays Multichannel PCM, instead of the standard Dolby digital etc. Which is better? There are three settings on the BDP1 audio, I think they are multi PCM, bitstream, and something else. Just wondering which is the best setting
I believe the Blu ray player should be set to bitstream and your AVR to auto format decode. It should then decode the audio in the appropriate format and should display what it is, such as Dobly True HD or DTS Master HD etc...

Klipsch RF-62II, RC-500, RS-400, SVS PC12+,
Def Tech SC8000
Harman Kardon AVR 1600
PS3, Apple TV, Sharp 70" Qattron
Kini62 is offline  
Old 11-20-2014, 08:27 AM
Member
 
dmb12679's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kini62 View Post
I believe the Blu ray player should be set to bitstream and your AVR to auto format decode. It should then decode the audio in the appropriate format and should display what it is, such as Dobly True HD or DTS Master HD etc...

So when the DTHD or DTSMasterHD is displayed on my AVR, it is a better setting than when it reads multichannel PCM, correct? Thanks

Harman Kardon 3700
Klipsch RF-82 II
Klipsch RB-51 II
Klipsch RC-52 II
Klipsch SS-1's
Klipsch R-112SW
dmb12679 is offline  
Old 11-20-2014, 11:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kini62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 3,434
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 372 Post(s)
Liked: 451
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmb12679 View Post
So when the DTHD or DTSMasterHD is displayed on my AVR, it is a better setting than when it reads multichannel PCM, correct? Thanks
Yes

Klipsch RF-62II, RC-500, RS-400, SVS PC12+,
Def Tech SC8000
Harman Kardon AVR 1600
PS3, Apple TV, Sharp 70" Qattron
Kini62 is offline  
Old 11-24-2014, 07:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi,

I briefly looked through this thread and didn't see many details about a problem I've seen with a brand new 3700. I have the 7 speakers connected to the speaker connectors on the back, including the 5 satellite HKTS30 surround speakers and 2 klipsch front standing speakers, then I have the HKTS30 sub connected to the pre-amp out along with a klipsch sub.

OK, with that said, here's my problem: I was watching a movie with the volume "decently" loud, and once any kind of overly loud sound came on, the AVR would enter some kind of limp mode where no highs were transmitted and every speaker gave out a really muted muddy low sound. I'm assuming this is "protection" mode? The only fix to the problem was to restart the AVR, and obviously watch the movie at a lower volume. It would enter limp mode if I left the volume up.

So my question is whether this is normal, or should I look into returning it for a replacement? Is this just a problem I would see in any replacement unit? Do I really need to play my movies at a reduced volume? This wasn't too loud, certainly nothing I would expect to overload this receiver. And the speakers are made by HK for home theater use, the Klipsch speakers are really high quality...maybe is there an impedance setting I need to fix? I didn't do any setup other than change the levels in the setup menu.

Thanks in advance!
drob23 is offline  
Old 11-25-2014, 11:39 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Anyone have an idea? Thanks.
drob23 is offline  
Old 12-18-2014, 07:54 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian4274 View Post
<p><span style="background:#FFFFFF;color:rgb(34,34,34);">I have a similar question that I’m sure you guys could answer. I too have the 3700. This is my problem. When I turn the receiver off it is on HDMI 2 CAB/SAT. When I will Turn it back on to watch TV which is provided by DIRECTV hence the sat. It will say CAB/Sat for a second then switch to TV? I have to use the remote to switch it back to cab/sat. It’s kind of aggravating. I have an optical out going to the TV in on the 3700 for my Netflix on the TV (It’s a Samsung 7100) but I have tried with it hooked up and not and I get the same results. I only have the optical cable hooked up because I can’t get the Darn thing to work with ARC. So I have the use the optical for Netflix. I do use HDMI out to the TV and have my blue ray player hooked up to HDMI 5 I think it is. IF someone could help with the ARC not working or the receiver switching to TV when I’m trying to watch SAT that would be awesome!</span>   I do have all the ECO stuff disabled on the TV.</p>
ever figure out a solution to the HK switching to TV mode when you turn on the Cab/Sat?

Thanks

maddog1762
Marty Taormina is offline  
Old 12-18-2014, 10:03 PM
Member
 
brian4274's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty Taormina View Post
ever figure out a solution to the HK switching to TV mode when you turn on the Cab/Sat?

Thanks
No sorry I havn't; and to this day that is my only complaint with the reciever! I have contiplated getting an emotiva for my studio 590's but honestly I cant hardly turn the thing past -10db before it is to loud for my liking. This in on 2 channel stereo of course.
brian4274 is offline  
Old 12-19-2014, 05:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by brian4274 View Post
No sorry I havn't; and to this day that is my only complaint with the reciever! I have contiplated getting an emotiva for my studio 590's but honestly I cant hardly turn the thing past -10db before it is to loud for my liking. This in on 2 channel stereo of course.
My 3700 goes into energy save every night and locks down. Cant use the remote or the front panel switch. I have to unplug it. Once the orange light goes out I can plug it back and it will respond.

maddog1762
Marty Taormina is offline  
Old 12-20-2014, 05:45 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Have a HK2700 and am trying to update the firmware. Problem is that when I insert a USB with the unzipped HK file...the AVR does not recognize the USB.


Have tried a couple of USB sticks to no avail. Any ideas
Freddypop is offline  
Old 12-21-2014, 12:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Freddypop View Post
Have a HK2700 and am trying to update the firmware. Problem is that when I insert a USB with the unzipped HK file...the AVR does not recognize the USB.


Have tried a couple of USB sticks to no avail. Any ideas
Do not unzip the file. Copy it to the USB as downloaded. Do not unzip.
Paulo72 is offline  
Old 12-21-2014, 01:01 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks Paulo72...but still no luck. I can see that current is running through the USB as the light on the stick is on but AVR says cannot detect USB. This should be a rather simple exercise so am somewhat frustrated


I also note that the firmware upgrade instructions say to unzip the file onto the root directory of the USB stick..which I have done as well
Freddypop is offline  
Old 12-21-2014, 06:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Paulo72's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 249
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I used to have the 2700. Sold it and purchased a Sony STR DN1050. on't miss the 2700. I love the sony, so much better. I had the same problem with my 2700 when updating the software. Make sure there is no other files/folders on the USB Flash Drive. Only place the zipped firmware update on the stick. Good Luck.
Paulo72 is offline  
Old Yesterday, 08:10 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks....Will continue to give this a try
Freddypop is offline  
 

Tags
Harman Kardon Avr 2700 7 1 Channel Av Receiver , Harman Kardon Avr 3700 7 2 Channel Av Receiver
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off