Onkyo tx-nr515 default selection when turned on - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-07-2013, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mbesspiata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the above receiver and it is connected to my samsung smart tv, blu ray player, and Verizon Fios cable box. I can turn the cable box, tv and tuner on with at tone time with the cable remote (set that up on the receiver). The only problem I have is that the setting that defaults on the receiver is TV/CD and I have to then select CBL/SAT on the receiver remote to get the picture to come through.
I have the bluray and tv run through the receiver with HDMI cables.
How can I get the receiver to default to the CBL/SAT setting instead of the TV/CD setting?
thanks

Mike
mbesspiata is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 02-19-2013, 08:46 AM
Senior Member
 
djtoodles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 314
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
did you ever figure this out? I have been trying to do the same thing.
djtoodles is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 02-19-2013, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mbesspiata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No. I have had no replies and cannot find a way to make this go to CBL/SAT. I have to wait until the receiver comes on, goes to the TV setting and then use the receiver remote to change it to the cable setting..

Can't believe someone on this forum has not been able to supply an answer.

:mad:Mike
mbesspiata is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 02-19-2013, 09:55 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
afrogt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 22,756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 351
Maybe you have HDMI control enabled on the receiver and it is automatically turning to the TV input because it senses your TV is connected.

I don't have this receiver so I can't give you a specific answer. Have you tried posting in the Onkyo forum?

I know a Harmony universal remote would do the trick though.

Afro GT
afrogt is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 02-19-2013, 10:05 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mbesspiata's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have HDMI enabled because I want the receiver to come on when I turn on the cable and tv.
mbesspiata is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 04-10-2013, 02:34 PM
Newbie
 
hobblerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mbesspiata, I have the same problem. Onkyo 515, Sky STB, Samsung TV plus Blu Ray. All connected through the AVR by HDMI and AVR connected to Samsung Tv through main HDMI out. Switch on by TV or by AVR and defaults first to Sky STB then to TV/CD. Result, have to invoke CBL/Sat on Onkyo AVR to get back to the Sky STB. Have looked around other posts and found a solution here:
http://forums.logitech.com/t5/Harmony-Remotes/ARC-Anynet-on-Samsung-TV-Switches-Inputs-Automatically/td-p/643198/page/3
hobblerman is offline  
Reply Receivers, Amps, and Processors

Tags
Onkyo Tx Nr515
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off